MozillaZine

General Error SQL ERROR [ mysql4 ]

Talk about stuff specific to the site -- bugs, suggestions, and of course praise welcome.
Uncle Spellbinder

User avatar
 
Posts: 3519
Joined: May 28th, 2004, 4:52 pm
Location: Highland, IN - U.S.A.

Post Posted March 31st, 2011, 6:56 am

Gingerbread Man wrote:...all parties are aware of the problems and will diligently fix them very very soon.

:lol:

As many times as I've seen that quote over the past several months, perhaps it should be at the top of each sub-forum. May as well have the mods add it as their signatures. :mrgreen:
My Firefox Add-Ons Collection: Firefox Essentials

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 121092
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted March 31st, 2011, 7:36 am

I'm sure that posting pointless complaints about the issue is helping to resolve the matter.

L.A.R. Grizzly

User avatar
 
Posts: 5349
Joined: March 15th, 2005, 5:32 pm
Location: Akron, Ohio, USA

Post Posted March 31st, 2011, 10:06 am

Gingerbread Man wrote:The knowledge base is also often kaput.
The following error was encountered:

Connection Failed
The system returned:
(110) Connection timed out

The remote host or network may be down. Please try the request again.

But I guess I don't need to mention that, because all parties are aware of the problems and will diligently fix them very very soon.


Are the AMO forums affected as well? I've not been able to log on all day.
Win7 Pro SP1 64 Bit
Comodo Internet Security
Pale Moon 28.4.0, Interlink Mail 52.9.6990, Firefox 52.9.0esr, Thunderbird 52.9.1 and SeaMonkey 2.48

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 121092
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted March 31st, 2011, 12:12 pm

No, that's an entirely different system. And it seems to be accessible now.

Uncle Spellbinder

User avatar
 
Posts: 3519
Joined: May 28th, 2004, 4:52 pm
Location: Highland, IN - U.S.A.

Post Posted March 31st, 2011, 2:00 pm

DanRaisch wrote:I'm sure that posting pointless complaints about the issue is helping to resolve the matter.

I'm sure it's not helping. But frustration over the last several months has settled in and become the norm rather than the exception. When these error messages happen at least once a day and I'm unable to access the forum for more than an hour at a time, I perhaps overreact a bit once I get in.

But mod, or not - you must admit that this has been going on for far to long. It's bordering on inexcusable.
My Firefox Add-Ons Collection: Firefox Essentials

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 121092
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted March 31st, 2011, 2:05 pm

I didn't say it wasn't annoying but unless you are interesting in hosting the forums yourself I would suggest you have no right to call it inexcusable. It's not like the people involved in trying to resolve it are full time employees of the forums.

James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 27498
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted March 31st, 2011, 3:02 pm

L.A.R. Grizzly wrote:
Gingerbread Man wrote:The knowledge base is also often kaput.
The following error was encountered:

Connection Failed
The system returned:
(110) Connection timed out

The remote host or network may be down. Please try the request again.

But I guess I don't need to mention that, because all parties are aware of the problems and will diligently fix them very very soon.


Are the AMO forums affected as well? I've not been able to log on all day.

The two servers for forums.mozillazine.org and everything else mozillazine.org are hosted at http://osuosl.org/ while the https://forums.mozilla.org/addons/ is hosted by one of Mozilla's many server(s) someplace elswhere. So in other words there is no relation.

The https://forums.mozilla.org/addons/ is not listed at http://status.mozilla.com/ however none listed have had any issues recently.

L.A.R. Grizzly

User avatar
 
Posts: 5349
Joined: March 15th, 2005, 5:32 pm
Location: Akron, Ohio, USA

Post Posted March 31st, 2011, 3:42 pm

James wrote:The https://forums.mozilla.org/addons/ is not listed at http://status.mozilla.com/ however none listed have had any issues recently.


Not true.

I was just wondering, because https://forums.mozilla.org/addons/ has been down all day and I would like to register.

Aargh! Now this forum is down!!! ](*,)
Win7 Pro SP1 64 Bit
Comodo Internet Security
Pale Moon 28.4.0, Interlink Mail 52.9.6990, Firefox 52.9.0esr, Thunderbird 52.9.1 and SeaMonkey 2.48

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 121092
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted March 31st, 2011, 3:50 pm

That link to the AOM forums is working now for me.

L.A.R. Grizzly

User avatar
 
Posts: 5349
Joined: March 15th, 2005, 5:32 pm
Location: Akron, Ohio, USA

Post Posted March 31st, 2011, 5:51 pm

DanRaisch wrote:That link to the AOM forums is working now for me.


Well, I did manage to login for about 5 minutes before it went down again. It seems that it's hit or miss today. I'll have to try again another day.
Win7 Pro SP1 64 Bit
Comodo Internet Security
Pale Moon 28.4.0, Interlink Mail 52.9.6990, Firefox 52.9.0esr, Thunderbird 52.9.1 and SeaMonkey 2.48

James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 27498
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted March 31st, 2011, 7:41 pm

L.A.R. Grizzly wrote:
James wrote:The https://forums.mozilla.org/addons/ is not listed at http://status.mozilla.com/ however none listed have had any issues recently.


Not true.

I think you misunderstood me. I suppose I should have said "however none of the listed there have had any issues recently".

walkerpbus

User avatar
 
Posts: 1111
Joined: August 15th, 2004, 2:11 pm
Location: Duncanville, TX, USA

Post Posted April 2nd, 2011, 11:01 am

I'm just a newbie but how does one get out of this error---just wait until another time? I've had 1 tab showing the master index, but when I try to middle-click & get another tab in a specific forum then I get the mysql4 error, yet I seem to remember that someone told me that a multi-tab really only required 1 connection to the forum, which is contradictory, is it not?
Win 10 Pro on my new Dell Optiplex System 10 desktop, but now 64-bit latest Windows 10. Usually latest or latest-1 Thunderbird on all machines. Would like soon to buy a new laptop if my finances permit.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 121092
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted April 2nd, 2011, 11:05 am

If you try to refresh the master index in that first tab at the point where the second tab gives the mysql4 error, I think you will find the error then appears in both tabs.

Grumpus

User avatar
 
Posts: 12107
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 4:23 am
Location: ... Da' Swamp

Post Posted April 6th, 2011, 8:14 am

I had a wild idea when I logged on and without so much as a password request was logged in as the "Google Adsense" robot.
What would happen if when you are logged in as a bot, any bot, you log out as the bot?
Does it temporarily take the bot out of the system?
Probably wishful thinking. :-k

DavidOE
 
Posts: 140
Joined: May 9th, 2006, 3:38 am

Post Posted April 13th, 2011, 8:15 am

It's phpBB. It's notoriously fragile. Always has been. But the last few weeks have been silly - almost every day this forum is down.

Perhaps management should consider migrating to better software? http://www.simplemachines.org/ is highly rated.

Return to MozillaZine Site Discussion


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests