MozillaZine

IP Ban

Talk about stuff specific to the site -- bugs, suggestions, and of course praise welcome.
LoudNoise
New Member

User avatar
 
Posts: 40048
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:45 pm
Location: Next door to the west

Post Posted March 30th, 2013, 12:48 am

If you have gotten here your IP has not been banned. You are a victim of our local forum gremlin. His name is George.

Say hi to George....

Image

Anyway, just ignore it.

If he is being unusually grumpy put the word anything in the Search Boards text box and click on GO. Click on any result and then click on Board Index. The problem should go away.
Post wrangler
"Choose between the Food Select Feature or other Functions. If no food or function is chosen, Toast is the default."

darkrats
 
Posts: 40
Joined: September 29th, 2011, 3:22 pm

Post Posted April 17th, 2013, 7:29 am

I got the ban notice today! Didn't know about George.
Clicked the Main Index link a couple of times and got to the board.

MarkRH

User avatar
 
Posts: 1259
Joined: September 12th, 2007, 2:30 am
Location: Oklahoma City, OK

Post Posted June 26th, 2013, 4:35 pm

Hmm I just got the ban by IP message (I just cleared all my cache, cookies, etc.) Anyway, I just clicked the login link on the side and logged in fine. First time I've ever seen it LOL.

willarson
 
Posts: 222
Joined: June 30th, 2013, 8:46 am

Post Posted July 2nd, 2013, 1:12 pm

got the same thing. immediately tried it again and, well, here I be. shame on you George. if that is all you do, then I'd be disappointed if you didn't if you didn't show up again in the future. cheers runt.

LoudNoise
New Member

User avatar
 
Posts: 40048
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:45 pm
Location: Next door to the west

Post Posted August 7th, 2013, 8:58 pm

George decided to notice me yesterday (and I was logged in). Clicked on "My Posts" and he decided to forgive my sins.
Post wrangler
"Choose between the Food Select Feature or other Functions. If no food or function is chosen, Toast is the default."

PatMob
 
Posts: 7
Joined: August 6th, 2013, 6:53 pm

Post Posted September 2nd, 2013, 2:52 am

oh so George is the reason. I got my IP banned and after a few days i got in here.

John Liebson
 
Posts: 6491
Joined: July 29th, 2003, 1:09 pm

Post Posted September 11th, 2013, 10:48 am

George must be having a bad day: Not overly unusual for me to see the "Go away, you've been banned" message, but a few minutes ago things were a bit different. This is the first time that I had to log on to get around the ban; usually, a single click on 'Board Index," or whatever the ban message shows, will bypass George, but several clicks a short while ago did not placate him. I was able to log on, and after logging off, was able to see the forums without having to log on again.

Would someone please pet George, give him a "Meanie Treat," have his soothsayer placate him, or perhaps just make him a moderator?

krzysiektbg
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: September 20th, 2013, 2:40 pm

Post Posted September 20th, 2013, 2:42 pm

I got IP ban too

Dave Kimble
 
Posts: 13
Joined: February 7th, 2013, 5:56 pm

Post Posted October 4th, 2013, 7:05 pm

I got the ban when using a VPN server, and not when I'm using my own IP. Understandable, I suppose, but does anyone here tell the VPN server ops, so they can track down the real culprit, or does everybody using that server have to suffer till December 30?

The clear cookies and "anything" workaround didn't work for me - and surely if it can be so easily worked around, how does it protect you from the banned ones?

LoudNoise
New Member

User avatar
 
Posts: 40048
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:45 pm
Location: Next door to the west

Post Posted October 4th, 2013, 7:22 pm

Because if the IP number is actually banned (i.e., the IP is listed on the forum's banned IP list), you cannot get around it.

As far as we can tell, George has a problem with specific computers rather then the actual IPs. The last time I got the ban message I left it up on the computer at work that I was using and went to another computer. I was able to log on from the second computer (same IP) without a problem. Odd enough, I could then log on the site from the first computer without a problem.

Can you PM me the ISPN for the VPN? In the old days (200x) entire IP blocks were banned on occassion. This was a dumb idea but some of these bans might still exist.
Post wrangler
"Choose between the Food Select Feature or other Functions. If no food or function is chosen, Toast is the default."

VanillaMozilla
 
Posts: 13808
Joined: November 7th, 2005, 11:26 am

Post Posted October 28th, 2013, 9:24 am

MarkRH wrote:Hmm I just got the ban by IP message (I just cleared all my cache, cookies, etc.) Anyway, I just clicked the login link on the side and logged in fine. First time I've ever seen it LOL.

Yep.

Login fails about half the time. My Firefox always starts with cleared cookies and cache, so the login error message is not only useless, but incorrect. Just tell people to try again with the login button on the upper right. I've never seen that fail.

Ideation_at_M
 
Posts: 24
Joined: October 25th, 2013, 12:29 am

Post Posted October 29th, 2013, 6:59 pm

In case it might be useful for troubleshooting I have two screenshots of the "You have been banned from this board until December 30th, 2013, 7:00 am." page/notice. I can't really remember activity before the notices that might have been a trigger.

First time I did clear the cache and no problem after; second time I tried just closing the window and returned and no problem.

So it seems there's something glitchy and it might be a problem for a new person to the Net, if they sort of panic.

I am active on a lot of forums and run a couple and this is the only one that I recall I've had this "You are banned." problem. At least, I don't have a recent memory of the problem. Lets see, forum platforms I have or am active on are ASP, phpBB, and some corporate proprietary coded types, so it is a broad range of platforms.

Anyway, just in case the information might be useful, there it is.

LoudNoise
New Member

User avatar
 
Posts: 40048
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:45 pm
Location: Next door to the west

Post Posted October 29th, 2013, 8:18 pm

Apparently it has something to do with load balancer at OSU. This is way you can often get in simply by clicking on search or board index. Folks are trying to get to the bottom of it.
Post wrangler
"Choose between the Food Select Feature or other Functions. If no food or function is chosen, Toast is the default."

patrickjdempsey

User avatar
 
Posts: 23734
Joined: October 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am
Location: Asheville NC

Post Posted October 29th, 2013, 8:19 pm

It's been going on for at least 3 years now, as far as I can recall. There's also a weird bug where sometimes it forces you to type in the Captcha 3 times after correctly entering your login and password. I've learned to just not even try on the first two Captchas because the 3rd always works.
Tip of the day: If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.
What my avatar is about: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/sea-fox/

MarkRH

User avatar
 
Posts: 1259
Joined: September 12th, 2007, 2:30 am
Location: Oklahoma City, OK

Post Posted October 29th, 2013, 8:31 pm

Yeah, I just got it again after clearing all my history, cache, and cookies after upgrading to FF25. All I did was click the Login link and back in business.

Return to MozillaZine Site Discussion


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests