MozillaZine

Moderation / Spam / Login Activation Requests

Talk about stuff specific to the site -- bugs, suggestions, and of course praise welcome.
DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 123536
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted November 25th, 2016, 2:30 pm

Trolly got it.

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 22575
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted November 28th, 2016, 5:44 pm

Dan didn't reduce the screen shot posted by the OP... or is that size OK... :lol: [-X :-"

viewtopic.php?f=38&t=3025606
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 123536
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted November 28th, 2016, 6:03 pm

It's a bit wide but not excessive on my screen.

trolly
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39908
Joined: August 22nd, 2005, 7:25 am

Post Posted November 29th, 2016, 1:28 am

On my screen it is too large.
Think for yourself. Otherwise you have to believe what other people tell you.
A society based on individualism is an oxymoron. || Freedom is at first the freedom to starve.
Constitution says: One man, one vote. Supreme court says: One dollar, one vote.

Grumpus

User avatar
 
Posts: 12523
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 4:23 am
Location: ... Da' Swamp

Post Posted November 29th, 2016, 12:20 pm

Somebody want to lock the "where's wiredo" page in Tech.
It's solved and probably not worth much in the way of help
Doesn't matter what you say, it's wrong for a toaster to walk around the house and talk to you

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 22575
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted November 29th, 2016, 1:13 pm

Needs to be moved to the T.B. section...
viewtopic.php?f=38&t=3025616
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39237
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted November 30th, 2016, 4:16 am

Dan did the deed.
Ta df.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-62.0-70.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.
W.M.Y.C.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

barbaz
 
Posts: 1686
Joined: October 1st, 2014, 3:25 pm

Post Posted November 30th, 2016, 11:08 am


trolly
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39908
Joined: August 22nd, 2005, 7:25 am

Post Posted November 30th, 2016, 11:43 am

Not sure.
Cleaned.
Think for yourself. Otherwise you have to believe what other people tell you.
A society based on individualism is an oxymoron. || Freedom is at first the freedom to starve.
Constitution says: One man, one vote. Supreme court says: One dollar, one vote.

Daledoc1
 
Posts: 423
Joined: January 2nd, 2009, 4:51 am

Post Posted December 4th, 2016, 9:37 am

Got hit just now by the IP BAN gremlin for the first time in ages.
I guess my ISP just gave me a new IP.
>>>None of the usual workarounds has worked in any browser.

I'm logged in now via my mobile phone network, as I cannot log in any other way.

What do I need to do, please?

Thanks!
DT1: Win10 Pro/64 1511; Fx 50.0.2; TB 45.5.1; KIS; Cable HSI w/router. DT2: Win7 Ult/64; Fx 50.0.2; TB 45.5.1; KIS; Cable HSI w/router.
LT: Win7 Pro/64 SP1; Fx 50.0.2; TB 45.5.1; Sophos; Juniper VPN; WLAN. All rigs: MBAM Premium & MBAE Premium & Mailwasher Pro.

trolly
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39908
Joined: August 22nd, 2005, 7:25 am

Post Posted December 4th, 2016, 11:10 am

There are no IP addresses of your range in the ban list.
What is the exact error message?
Is this forum the only page which does not work?
Think for yourself. Otherwise you have to believe what other people tell you.
A society based on individualism is an oxymoron. || Freedom is at first the freedom to starve.
Constitution says: One man, one vote. Supreme court says: One dollar, one vote.

Daledoc1
 
Posts: 423
Joined: January 2nd, 2009, 4:51 am

Post Posted December 4th, 2016, 11:46 am

trolly wrote:There are no IP addresses of your range in the ban list.
What is the exact error message?
Is this forum the only page which does not work?


Error message is the typical one:
You have been banned until...
...A ban has been issued on your IP address.

Yes, this is the only problem site/web page.
It just started a few hours ago, as I was posting here successfully just a bit earlier.

I already tried several times each: the "search anything"/ Board Index workaround, as well as clearing browser cache, different browsers & fresh browser sessions.

I can PM you my IP if you want, but it sounds as if you already have it?

Next step, please?

Thanks
DT1: Win10 Pro/64 1511; Fx 50.0.2; TB 45.5.1; KIS; Cable HSI w/router. DT2: Win7 Ult/64; Fx 50.0.2; TB 45.5.1; KIS; Cable HSI w/router.
LT: Win7 Pro/64 SP1; Fx 50.0.2; TB 45.5.1; Sophos; Juniper VPN; WLAN. All rigs: MBAM Premium & MBAE Premium & Mailwasher Pro.

trolly
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39908
Joined: August 22nd, 2005, 7:25 am

Post Posted December 4th, 2016, 12:16 pm

There is no next step, at least for me.
Usually you can log in again after a few minutes.

I have no idea what to do next.
You may try to reset your router to get another ip address.
Think for yourself. Otherwise you have to believe what other people tell you.
A society based on individualism is an oxymoron. || Freedom is at first the freedom to starve.
Constitution says: One man, one vote. Supreme court says: One dollar, one vote.

Daledoc1
 
Posts: 423
Joined: January 2nd, 2009, 4:51 am

Post Posted December 4th, 2016, 2:34 pm

trolly wrote:There is no next step, at least for me.
Usually you can log in again after a few minutes.

I have no idea what to do next.
You may try to reset your router to get another ip address.


If you mean power cycle the modem & router, I can try that later.
It will not give me a new IP, however, as my ISP does not assign new dynamic IPs in that manner.
The only way I can force a new IP would be to turn off my modem & router for at least 72 hours.
Likewise, I don't think I can afford to "reset" the router just to fix something on this one forum.
Sorry, but that is a "long run for a short slide".

Everything was working here minutes before the ban.
My IP did not change in that time.
So that seems to point to something at the forum side, especially since everything works fine at every other site.

I'll power cycle the router & modem later.
If that doesn't do the trick, then I'll need to wait out the ban or hope that perhaps someone else can suggest something else.

Thanks for trying. I really appreciate it.

Daledoc1
DT1: Win10 Pro/64 1511; Fx 50.0.2; TB 45.5.1; KIS; Cable HSI w/router. DT2: Win7 Ult/64; Fx 50.0.2; TB 45.5.1; KIS; Cable HSI w/router.
LT: Win7 Pro/64 SP1; Fx 50.0.2; TB 45.5.1; Sophos; Juniper VPN; WLAN. All rigs: MBAM Premium & MBAE Premium & Mailwasher Pro.

Daledoc1
 
Posts: 423
Joined: January 2nd, 2009, 4:51 am

Post Posted December 5th, 2016, 6:04 am

I can confirm that the issue is IP-related, not computer-generated or browser-specific.

I just cold-blooded another computer that had been powered off for 4 days.
Same issue, same error in all browsers.

I have not yet had a chance to power off all computers in order to power cycle the modem & router.
But if that does not fix it, then I am locked out from the forum on my home network.
I cannot even get past the main page.

The fact that this happened suddenly yesterday with no changes at my end suggests to my inexpert eye that the issue is somewhere at the forum/server side.
I successfully log in & post at multiple other fora.
No other "IP BAN" messages anywhere.

I would appreciate any further help.
Thanks,
daledoc1
DT1: Win10 Pro/64 1511; Fx 50.0.2; TB 45.5.1; KIS; Cable HSI w/router. DT2: Win7 Ult/64; Fx 50.0.2; TB 45.5.1; KIS; Cable HSI w/router.
LT: Win7 Pro/64 SP1; Fx 50.0.2; TB 45.5.1; Sophos; Juniper VPN; WLAN. All rigs: MBAM Premium & MBAE Premium & Mailwasher Pro.

Return to MozillaZine Site Discussion


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests