MozillaZine

Archived Moderation Requests (Vol 56)

Talk about stuff specific to the site -- bugs, suggestions, and of course praise welcome.
LoudNoise
New Member

User avatar
 
Posts: 40048
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:45 pm
Location: Next door to the west

Post Posted June 24th, 2014, 4:31 pm

Gone. thank ye
Post wrangler
"Choose between the Food Select Feature or other Functions. If no food or function is chosen, Toast is the default."

smsmith
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 19882
Joined: December 7th, 2004, 8:51 pm
Location: Indiana

Post Posted June 25th, 2014, 8:19 am

Got me a new fancy pants 1920 x 1080 monitor at work, so I can't tell if these images are "too large". Anybody have a problem with the images in this thread?
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=2848061
Give a man a fish, and he eats for a day. Teach a man to fish, and he eats for a lifetime.
I like poetry, long walks on the beach and poking dead things with a stick.
Please do not PM me for personal support. Keep posts here in the Forums instead and we all learn.

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39300
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted June 25th, 2014, 8:25 am

No. Not here.
They are fine on my 19" wide screen @ 1440 x 900.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-62.0-70.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.
W.M.Y.C.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 123853
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted June 25th, 2014, 11:55 am

Looks fine here at 1600x900 on a Dell 20" monitor.

amrad
 
Posts: 2311
Joined: May 29th, 2004, 9:01 pm
Location: UK

Post Posted June 25th, 2014, 12:02 pm

They're too large in 1024 x 768.

Regards,

Dave.

smsmith
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 19882
Joined: December 7th, 2004, 8:51 pm
Location: Indiana

Post Posted June 25th, 2014, 12:04 pm

Is there a simple way of adding a size restriction with a bbcode tag? Something like [img size=80%]address.of.image[/img]? That would be neat.
Give a man a fish, and he eats for a day. Teach a man to fish, and he eats for a lifetime.
I like poetry, long walks on the beach and poking dead things with a stick.
Please do not PM me for personal support. Keep posts here in the Forums instead and we all learn.

patrickjdempsey

User avatar
 
Posts: 23734
Joined: October 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am
Location: Asheville NC

Post Posted June 25th, 2014, 3:52 pm

Apparently it's not difficult to update phpbb to resize automatically by adding one line to the common.css file:
https://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtop ... &t=2114962

The example given is:

Code: Select all
img { max-width: 100%; }


But when I tried that it still breaks the forum... it also impacts EVERY image in the document, including the banner, avatars, etc. I would argue for something that only targets comment images and sets it to a fixed width. The people who love posting huge images for their huge widescreen monitors would hate it, but it's better than all of the crazy scrolling for the rest of the world:

Code: Select all
.post_body img {
  max-width:600px;
}


Bonus points for click-to-zoom:

Code: Select all
.post_body img:active {
  position:fixed;
  top: 0px; left: 0px;
  margin: 10px!important;
  max-width:100%!important;
  box-shadow: 0 0 4px black;
}
Tip of the day: If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.
What my avatar is about: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/sea-fox/

patrickjdempsey

User avatar
 
Posts: 23734
Joined: October 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am
Location: Asheville NC

Post Posted June 25th, 2014, 3:57 pm

Apparently some phpbb sites support a CSS command, but I don't think it works here.
Tip of the day: If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.
What my avatar is about: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/sea-fox/

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 44179
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted June 26th, 2014, 3:40 am

What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 123853
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted June 26th, 2014, 4:41 am

Trollied.

imklaber4u
 
Posts: 2
Joined: June 27th, 2014, 9:40 am

Post Posted June 27th, 2014, 9:50 am

Hi,
It seems I have registered in the past (my email-address is in use....) but none of the usernames I normally use goes with this email-address.
Can someone tell me how to receive the username to that goes with my old email address which is still in use by me?

Thnx!

trolly
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39909
Joined: August 22nd, 2005, 7:25 am

Post Posted June 27th, 2014, 10:18 am

There is no (other) user with the registered mail because otherwise you could not have used it.
If it is another mail you need to tell us.
Think for yourself. Otherwise you have to believe what other people tell you.
A society based on individualism is an oxymoron. || Freedom is at first the freedom to starve.
Constitution says: One man, one vote. Supreme court says: One dollar, one vote.

imklaber4u
 
Posts: 2
Joined: June 27th, 2014, 9:40 am

Post Posted June 27th, 2014, 10:31 pm

trolly wrote:There is no (other) user with the registered mail because otherwise you could not have used it.
If it is another mail you need to tell us.

I registered with a new email address because the one I used before is not available. :roll:
I don't want to post here that email address, so if I can sent it via a PM I would appreciate that.

LoudNoise
New Member

User avatar
 
Posts: 40048
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:45 pm
Location: Next door to the west

Post Posted June 27th, 2014, 10:35 pm

Post it as Name AT example DOT com, The post will be ediited once we find it.
Post wrangler
"Choose between the Food Select Feature or other Functions. If no food or function is chosen, Toast is the default."

patrickjdempsey

User avatar
 
Posts: 23734
Joined: October 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am
Location: Asheville NC

Post Posted June 28th, 2014, 8:28 am

Weird, just had Firefox 28 (which I was keeping around for comparison purposes, as I do with all major UI change versions) automatically update even with all updates disabled and no services services installed. So users complaining about this happening aren't going crazy, Mozilla appears to really be forcing updates. Very strange.
Tip of the day: If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.
What my avatar is about: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/sea-fox/

Return to MozillaZine Site Discussion


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests