Which hack do you use to display the User Agent in posts? • mozillaZine Forums

MozillaZine

Which hack do you use to display the User Agent in posts?

Talk about stuff specific to the site -- bugs, suggestions, and of course praise welcome.
Dingler

User avatar
 
Posts: 1245
Joined: November 14th, 2011, 4:41 am

Post Posted May 22nd, 2015, 6:15 am

Hello!

How do you display the UA in user's messages?
I saw this topic: https://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtop ... &t=2073975

Could you post the modifications (or mod) you added to phpBB to do that?

Ty in advance.

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 20035
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted May 22nd, 2015, 10:35 am

Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

barbaz
 
Posts: 1680
Joined: October 1st, 2014, 3:25 pm

Post Posted May 22nd, 2015, 10:41 am

I also am interested in this.

Frank Lion wrote:https://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopic.php?f=71&t=586216

Thanks, but unfortunately that link doesn't say where to insert that code, how to actually display the user-agent, or how to restrict who gets to see user-agents...
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!

LoudNoise
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 40048
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:45 pm
Location: Next door to the west

Post Posted May 26th, 2015, 7:12 am

For showing the UA, I think you just add that to message template. I would assume that it would need to be added the message database.
Post wrangler
"Choose between the Food Select Feature or other Functions. If no food or function is chosen, Toast is the default."

barbaz
 
Posts: 1680
Joined: October 1st, 2014, 3:25 pm

Post Posted May 26th, 2015, 3:00 pm

@LoudNoise: with that hint, it appears the code from that phpBB thread should go in includes/functions_posting.php, and the display template to modify is buried in styles/ . I think I'm on my own from there. Thanks :)
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!

LoudNoise
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 40048
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:45 pm
Location: Next door to the west

Post Posted May 26th, 2015, 6:26 pm

That came from a post here. I don't remember the search but you might be able to find it again.
Post wrangler
"Choose between the Food Select Feature or other Functions. If no food or function is chosen, Toast is the default."

barbaz
 
Posts: 1680
Joined: October 1st, 2014, 3:25 pm

Post Posted May 26th, 2015, 6:46 pm

LoudNoise wrote:That came from a post here. I don't remember the search but you might be able to find it again.

Not finding it, all I found is this post by Dartman...
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!

LoudNoise
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 40048
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:45 pm
Location: Next door to the west

Post Posted May 26th, 2015, 8:29 pm

It was an idle search out of vague curiosity. That said, I think it was from around 2005 and linked back to the solution found at the PHPbb forum.

Kerz discovered the secret on Oct 20, 2007, there is a very good chance that a better method has come along. Since this is simply Site discussion it might be a better idea to go to the source. If noting else, they have a good deal more of information about the subject than we have.
Post wrangler
"Choose between the Food Select Feature or other Functions. If no food or function is chosen, Toast is the default."

Return to MozillaZine Site Discussion


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests