MozillaZine

Login problem

Talk about stuff specific to the site -- bugs, suggestions, and of course praise welcome.
poincare
Guest
 

Post Posted July 15th, 2015, 7:17 pm

I had difficulty logging in yesterday. I had to send for a new password. Which I then changed in my profile.
The same thing happened again tonight but the password sent to me tonight doesn't work!
What can I do now?
(I couldn't use my own user name on this message.)

LoudNoise
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 40048
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:45 pm
Location: Next door to the west

Post Posted July 15th, 2015, 7:21 pm

What is your username and what is the message you got?
Post wrangler
"Choose between the Food Select Feature or other Functions. If no food or function is chosen, Toast is the default."

poincare
Guest
 

Post Posted July 15th, 2015, 7:44 pm

LoudNoise wrote:What is your username and what is the message you got?


username: actuary

message: I don't remember a message except that I kept getting the Login page with the Confirmation code (as in groundhog day).

LoudNoise
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 40048
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:45 pm
Location: Next door to the west

Post Posted July 15th, 2015, 8:25 pm

Give me a couple of minutes.
Post wrangler
"Choose between the Food Select Feature or other Functions. If no food or function is chosen, Toast is the default."

LoudNoise
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 40048
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:45 pm
Location: Next door to the west

Post Posted July 15th, 2015, 8:28 pm

Looks ok. Can you try to log on again and give me the message. Also, is your comcast address still valid?
Post wrangler
"Choose between the Food Select Feature or other Functions. If no food or function is chosen, Toast is the default."

poincare
Guest
 

Post Posted July 15th, 2015, 8:40 pm

This the only message I get:
You exceeded the maximum allowed number of login attempts. In addition to your username and password you now also have to solve the CAPTCHA below.

poincare
Guest
 

Post Posted July 15th, 2015, 8:43 pm

And yes, the .... address is fine

LoudNoise
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 40048
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:45 pm
Location: Next door to the west

Post Posted July 15th, 2015, 8:49 pm

That would be George, our resident gremlin. Watch your email :).
Post wrangler
"Choose between the Food Select Feature or other Functions. If no food or function is chosen, Toast is the default."

actuary
 
Posts: 57
Joined: January 20th, 2005, 3:43 pm
Location: Maryland

Post Posted July 15th, 2015, 9:26 pm

Thank you very much for your help solving my problem by George!

But no good turn goes unpunished. So here is another (less important) problem for you. Why are the posted times off by an hour? I live on the east coast of the USA. In my profile, I set the time zone to Atlantic with DST. Did I do something wrong?

LoudNoise
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 40048
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:45 pm
Location: Next door to the west

Post Posted July 15th, 2015, 10:03 pm

Go to "User Control Panel" (upper right). Click on "Board Preferences" and see what you have as "My Time Zone" phpbbs uses UTC so it likely has something to due with this. If George is messing with this we are all in trouble :).
Post wrangler
"Choose between the Food Select Feature or other Functions. If no food or function is chosen, Toast is the default."

actuary
 
Posts: 57
Joined: January 20th, 2005, 3:43 pm
Location: Maryland

Post Posted July 16th, 2015, 3:02 pm

[quote="LoudNoise"] [S]ee what you have as "My Time Zone" [/quote]

[UTC-4] Atlantic Standard Time

DST is on.

At 5:48 the time showed 6:48 pm which is the time somewhere in the ocean. :-?
It looks like the BB shows local time for message posted (or are all posted times translated to my time zone.

LoudNoise
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 40048
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:45 pm
Location: Next door to the west

Post Posted July 16th, 2015, 6:28 pm

Testing

Hmm, I don't know. It is working for me. You might want to start a new thread using that as your topic.
Post wrangler
"Choose between the Food Select Feature or other Functions. If no food or function is chosen, Toast is the default."

JayhawksRock

User avatar
 
Posts: 10433
Joined: October 24th, 2010, 8:51 am

Post Posted July 16th, 2015, 9:44 pm

Same happens for me in central time zone... In the Mozillazine settings I simply set my location to mountain time to correct the error... FWIW, its been like that (for me) since I first got on this board
"The trouble with quotes on the internet is you never know if they are genuine" ...Abraham Lincoln

actuary
 
Posts: 57
Joined: January 20th, 2005, 3:43 pm
Location: Maryland

Post Posted July 16th, 2015, 10:36 pm

After my last post I guessed that I may have entered the wrong zone, that it should be Eastern Standard Time. I just changed that and the time seems to be working right!

actuary
 
Posts: 57
Joined: January 20th, 2005, 3:43 pm
Location: Maryland

Post Posted July 16th, 2015, 10:40 pm

By the way, what is all that stuff that appears at the bottom message of most messages.

Return to MozillaZine Site Discussion


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests