MozillaZine

you can't hide this element

Talk about stuff specific to the site -- bugs, suggestions, and of course praise welcome.
KRC4E2
Guest
 

Post Posted May 4th, 2007, 3:16 pm

.
Image
.

steviex
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 28902
Joined: August 12th, 2006, 8:27 am
Location: Middle England

Post Posted May 4th, 2007, 3:39 pm

Moving to Site Discussion.....

Unlikely as it is not an ad... it is a part of the workings of the site, containing links to the knowledge base, and various other mozillazine items.
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. -Albert Einstein

Please DO NOT PM me for support... Lets keep it on the board, so we can all learn.

BenoitRen

User avatar
 
Posts: 5926
Joined: April 11th, 2004, 10:20 am
Location: Belgium

Post Posted May 4th, 2007, 3:45 pm

This is best hidden using userContent.css. That particular part doesn't have an ID, though, so I guess it'd take some advanced CSS to select it to hide.

Daifne
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 122957
Joined: July 31st, 2005, 9:17 pm
Location: Where the Waters Meet, Wisconsin

Post Posted May 4th, 2007, 3:54 pm

I think I saw a GreaseMonkey script that will hide it...

old np
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted May 4th, 2007, 5:10 pm

Code: Select all
#sidebar > A:first-child + DIV + DIV + DIV { display: none !important; }

steviex
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 28902
Joined: August 12th, 2006, 8:27 am
Location: Middle England

Post Posted May 4th, 2007, 5:28 pm

Unlikely until np finds a snippet of code that does the job.... Hehe (corrected as usual)
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. -Albert Einstein

Please DO NOT PM me for support... Lets keep it on the board, so we can all learn.

James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 26723
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted May 5th, 2007, 1:27 am

I use to have the useful links from the sidebar (pretty much what is in top box) in a thin line at top using userContent.css tweaks, but once I got a 20.1 widescreen at 1680x1050 I put most of the side bar back on right to make it so the forum is not as wide. I also do userContent.css tweaks to give the forum a black/grey background rather than the bright white and green look.

Gree Smunky
Guest
 

Post Posted May 8th, 2007, 4:57 am

with GreaseMonkey, YES you can toggle the sidebar on/off.

http://userscripts.org/scripts/show/1262

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 19086
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted May 8th, 2007, 5:20 am

<a href="javascript:var disp=%22table-cell%22,node=document.getElementById(%22sidebar%22);style=node.style.display; if (style==%22table-cell%22)disp=%22none%22;void(node.style.display=disp);">Toggle Sidebar</a>

The above is a bookmarklet - just drag that link to your Bookmark Toolbar Folder. Yes, the whole "column" disappears, but I ain't jumping through no hoops on this one.

That one came from dickvl, and there are many other useful bookmarklets listed in, er, the bookmarklet thread in the Tech Forum.
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

Anonymosity
 
Posts: 8404
Joined: May 7th, 2007, 12:07 pm

Post Posted May 22nd, 2007, 12:55 pm

You could probably use Remove It Permanently to remove that.

c4e2
Guest
 

Post Posted September 12th, 2007, 8:38 pm

.
not all, but pretty close

. . . . . . . . . .Image
.
_________________________________________
just Element Hiding Helper

Return to MozillaZine Site Discussion


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests