MozillaZine

"version of SQLite is too old" problem with camino 2.1

Talk about the native Mac OS X browser.

Moderator: Camino Developers

vancauwo
 
Posts: 2
Joined: December 5th, 2011, 4:24 am

Post Posted December 5th, 2011, 4:33 am

Camino 2.1 won't start due to the error "version of SQLite is too old"
If I reinstall camino 2.0.9, no problem to start.

I run under mac os 10.5.8

I also got this problem of "version of SQLite is too old"
with new versions of firefox and thunderbird

When the pop-up with the error message appears, I click ok,
Then i have the pop up to submit report/ ignore or relaunch
By choosing "relaunch", the app opens ok.

Any clue how to get rid of this error "version of SQLite is too old"

Thanks

cflawson

User avatar
 
Posts: 4721
Joined: December 26th, 2004, 2:54 pm
Location: Flying over your house in a red, white, and blue jet

Post Posted December 5th, 2011, 11:08 am

Have you ever installed a version of SQLite *other* than the one that ships as part of OS X?

If so, you probably need to remove it.

cl

vancauwo
 
Posts: 2
Joined: December 5th, 2011, 4:24 am

Post Posted December 9th, 2011, 6:45 am

I installed at some point versions of Python, with sqlite apparently (?).
How can i remove other "sqlite" versions ? Where would "sqlite" files be?

cflawson

User avatar
 
Posts: 4721
Joined: December 26th, 2004, 2:54 pm
Location: Flying over your house in a red, white, and blue jet

Post Posted December 9th, 2011, 6:55 am

I'd suggest checking out the site where you downloaded the Python installer to see if it has a list of what it installs and where, or if it has an uninstall option. Frankly, it could be just about anywhere, but I'd start by looking in /usr/local/bin/ . Terminal's "which sqlite3" command may also help. (If you use this, make sure you do NOT delete the one in /usr/bin/sqlite3/ , as I'm pretty sure that's the one OS X installed for you, or at least it is on my system.)

cl

phiw13
 
Posts: 2777
Joined: November 7th, 2002, 1:00 am
Location: Japan

Post Posted December 9th, 2011, 5:30 pm

cflawson wrote:Terminal's "which sqlite3" command may also help. (If you use this, make sure you do NOT delete the one in /usr/bin/sqlite3/ , as I'm pretty sure that's the one OS X installed for you, or at least it is on my system.)

That is the default location for sqlite3 on 10.5 and 10.6 (and I suppose 10.7).

Uncle Asad
Camino Developer

User avatar
 
Posts: 3957
Joined: July 24th, 2004, 1:38 pm
Location: بين العالمين

Post Posted December 9th, 2011, 11:54 pm

Note that Camino won't be trying to use the "sqlite3" command in/usr/bin, but instead the shared library /usr/lib/sqlite3.dylib (and several other libs that are related by symlinks).
Mac OS X 10.3.9 • PowerBook G4 17" 1.33 GHz | Mac OS X 10.5.x • MacBook Pro 15" 2.2 GHz
Snow7's Camino Forum FAQSearch the Forum  Camino. HelpTroubleshoot Camino

Return to Camino


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests