Problems with blocking ads and pop-ups

Talk about the native Mac OS X browser.

Moderator: Camino Developers

Gena-Left

Problems with blocking ads and pop-ups

Post by Gena-Left »

I just switched over to Camino 2.1.2 from Firefox and am very pleased with the browser. However, the ad and pop-up blocker doesn't seem to be working properly as I still get a number of both once in a while and amendments to user_ad_blocking.css or ad_blocking.css seem to have no effect.

As far as I can tell I should be able to block an add on the site http://hbl.fi/ by adding the line

Code: Select all

img[src*="adform.net],

I'm new to editing CSS rules, so I hope someone can help me get rid of these nuisances and get started on further customizing my browsing preferences.
cflawson
Location: Flying over your house in a red, white, and blue jet

Re: Problems with blocking ads and pop-ups

Post by cflawson »

If that's the last line you're adding, you need to lose that trailing comma. :)

cl
Gena-Left

Post by Gena-Left »

Thanks, but no, I added it above other img rules.
Uncle Asad
Camino Developer

Post by Uncle Asad »

You've toggled "Block web advertising" off and back on after adding the rule to user_ad_blocking.css, and your block of rules ends with { display: none !important } ?
Mac OS X 10.3.9 • PowerBook G4 17" 1.33 GHz | Mac OS X 10.5.x • MacBook Pro 15" 2.2 GHz
Snow7's Camino Forum FAQSearch the Forum  Camino. HelpTroubleshoot Camino
cflawson
Location: Flying over your house in a red, white, and blue jet

Post by cflawson »

My Finnish is terrible :-p but what I see as obvious ads on that page would be better blocked by:

div[id^="adswrapper"]

and

div[class="ads"]

It's entirely possible that the site is serving up different ads to different people, though. No matter what browser I load it in, I don't see anything coming from adform.net at all. You do have the syntax correct, assuming that you've gone through the steps mentioned by Uncle Asad above.

cl
Gena-Left