MozillaZine

Strange behavior of Camino at TechHive website

Talk about the native Mac OS X browser.

Moderator: Camino Developers

dryeburn
 
Posts: 83
Joined: September 17th, 2005, 1:53 pm

Post Posted December 21st, 2012, 11:36 pm

While reading <http://www.macworld.com/news/> today, I clicked the link
<http://www.techhive.com/article/2020571/the-hottest-dslrs-and-interchangeable-lens-cameras-you-can-buy-now.html>
and noticed the strange code visible in the screen shot
<https://dl.dropbox.com/u/5565238/CaminoScreenShot.png>. This was taken while using the December 13, 2012 version of Camino 2.1.3pre.

I then went to the same web page using Firefox 17.0.1 and here's what I saw:
<https://dl.dropbox.com/u/5565238/FirefoxScreenShot.png>

To check using something quite different, I then went there using iCab 5.0 (a version from last June):
<https://dl.dropbox.com/u/5565238/iCabScreenShot.png>

Any explanation?
David

cflawson

User avatar
 
Posts: 4721
Joined: December 26th, 2004, 2:54 pm
Location: Flying over your house in a red, white, and blue jet

Post Posted December 22nd, 2012, 7:35 am

Looks like the site's script doesn't know how to handle either Camino itself or older Gecko browsers in general, or it's exhibiting a bug that only exists in Gecko 1.9.x and earlier. (The syntax coloring in the page source is all jacked up, too, probably because there's an HTML comment way up near the top that has "--" inside it. ISTR there was/is an old Gecko bug about that.) Does Firefox 3.6.x exhibit the same problem?

cl

dryeburn
 
Posts: 83
Joined: September 17th, 2005, 1:53 pm

Post Posted December 24th, 2012, 6:06 pm

cflawson wrote:Does Firefox 3.6.x exhibit the same problem?

cl


Sorry for the slow response. Firefox 3.6.28 behaves the same way.
<https://dl.dropbox.com/u/5565238/Firefox3.6.28ScreenShot.png>

Firefox 4.0 renders the page correctly.
<https://dl.dropbox.com/u/5565238/Firefox4.0ScreenShot.png>

So you've got it; the page doesn't like older Gecko browsers.
David

peterer
 
Posts: 4
Joined: April 19th, 2013, 6:24 am

Post Posted April 19th, 2013, 6:31 am

dryeburn wrote:
cflawson wrote:Does Firefox 3.6.x exhibit the same problem?

cl


Sorry for the slow response. Firefox 3.6.28 behaves the same way.
<https://dl.dropbox.com/u/5565238/Firefox3.6.28ScreenShot.png>

Firefox 4.0 renders the page correctly.
<https://dl.dropbox.com/u/5565238/Firefox4.0ScreenShot.png>

So you've got it; the page doesn't like older Gecko browsers.


Hey dryeburn, I was seeing this on some sites and didn't know what was causing it, I searched on the net and couldn't find a solution. Anyway since I updated to 4.o I haven't seen any issues so glad the Gecko bug has been sorted finally! =D>

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 37443
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted April 19th, 2013, 6:40 am

Locking due to old age.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/IntelĀ® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-50.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. Conficker Test. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

Return to Camino


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests