MozillaZine

[ANN] Troubleshoot Camino 1.2.1.1

Talk about the native Mac OS X browser.

Moderator: Camino Developers

Uncle Asad
Camino Developer

User avatar
 
Posts: 3957
Joined: July 24th, 2004, 1:38 pm
Location: بين العالمين

Post Posted October 17th, 2006, 11:22 pm

Hi all,

With the imminent release of Camino 1.1a1 (soon—we finally got access to the tinderboxen again!), I'm happy to announce a new QA/troubleshooting tool that takes advantage of the "custom profile location" feature of Camino 1.1 and above.

Basically, Troubleshoot Camino is a quick and simple way to launch Camino with fresh profile while leaving your existing profile alone and requiring no command-line knowledge ;)

Drag your Camino app to the Troubleshoot Camino icon, and Camino starts up with a temporary fresh profile. Test your bug, quit Camino, and next time you launch Camino, it's your regular profile back again.

Current release: Troubleshoot Camino 1.2.1.1

Disabling Third-Party Add-ons
Beginning in version 1.1, Troubleshoot Camino provides the ability for add-on authors to detect Camino is running in "Troubleshoot Camino mode" and to disable their add-ons for even cleaner "fresh profile" operation.

The following add-ons are known to honor this setting:
  • ChimericalConsole, from v0.7
  • AsceticBar, from v0.5
  • 1passwd, from 2.4(?)
  • GrowlCamino, from 1.1
  • UnifyCamino, from 1.0
  • CaminoSpace, from 0.4
  • CaminoZoom, from 0.2
  • ShapeShifter, from 2.5
Any other add-ons that exist wholly or in part outside the Camino profile folder (e.g., those with elements in (~)/Library/InputManagers) will still have to be disabled manually.

I'll update this list as I'm aware of more Troubleshoot Camino-compliant add-ons
Last edited by Uncle Asad on December 5th, 2007, 4:03 pm, edited 10 times in total.
Mac OS X 10.3.9 • PowerBook G4 17" 1.33 GHz | Mac OS X 10.5.x • MacBook Pro 15" 2.2 GHz
Snow7's Camino Forum FAQSearch the Forum  Camino. HelpTroubleshoot Camino

herbs
 
Posts: 568
Joined: November 22nd, 2003, 8:39 pm

Post Posted October 18th, 2006, 6:12 am

Howdy,

Ummm... the link is linked to... this message!? :-)

Good Luck,
Herb Schulz
Good Luck,
Herb Schulz

phiw13
 
Posts: 2777
Joined: November 7th, 2002, 1:00 am
Location: Japan

Post Posted October 18th, 2006, 6:34 am

The link works fine: downloads a little app. Click and you will see :-)

@ Uncle Asad, that sounds pretty sweet.
I haven't had the opportunity to test yet.

Kurtbw
 
Posts: 69
Joined: February 26th, 2005, 9:35 am

Post Posted October 18th, 2006, 9:46 am

Uncle Asad, your little app deletes the temporary profile on exit, right?

Wouldn't want to have Camino temporary profiles scattered all over a hard drive...

froodiantherapy
Camino Developer

User avatar
 
Posts: 732
Joined: June 11th, 2005, 8:44 am
Location: Massachusetts, Connecticut

Post Posted October 18th, 2006, 9:58 am

As I understand it, it makes the profile in /tmp/SOMERANDOMNUMBER/, which since it's in /tmp/ gets cleaned up automatically by the operating system periodically.
"Also, I can kill you with my brain."
10.4.x iBook G4 1.33 GHz
<a href="http://www.jonagold.org/~froodian/MoreCamino/">MoreCamino - More preferences for Camino</a>

Uncle Asad
Camino Developer

User avatar
 
Posts: 3957
Joined: July 24th, 2004, 1:38 pm
Location: بين العالمين

Post Posted October 18th, 2006, 10:39 am

Yeah, the app launches Camino and goes away (so I can launch a trunk build and a branch build with fresh profiles at the same time ;)), but the profiles are stored in /tmp, so the OS takes care of them (weekly, I think, but I haven't done an detailed study; I don't have any older than Sunday, and I've been using the app regularly for more than a month...).
Mac OS X 10.3.9 • PowerBook G4 17" 1.33 GHz | Mac OS X 10.5.x • MacBook Pro 15" 2.2 GHz
Snow7's Camino Forum FAQSearch the Forum  Camino. HelpTroubleshoot Camino

herbs
 
Posts: 568
Joined: November 22nd, 2003, 8:39 pm

Post Posted October 18th, 2006, 1:48 pm

Howdy,

Now that I look in my download directory I see I downloaded the program twice! The download went so quickly I couldn't tell anything actually happened! (I have the prefs set to hide the download window when the download completes.) :-)

Good Luck,
Herb Schulz
Good Luck,
Herb Schulz

BDog

User avatar
 
Posts: 805
Joined: March 6th, 2004, 9:01 am
Location: Roseville, MN

Post Posted October 18th, 2006, 6:54 pm

The system deletes the contents of /tmp on restart, (maybe a periodic script does it to?)
John Bailey (BDog)
MacBook | 2GHz Core 2 Duo | 2GB RAM | Mac OS X.4.10
Camino 1.5 | Intel Optimized By wrc_fan

froodiantherapy
Camino Developer

User avatar
 
Posts: 732
Joined: June 11th, 2005, 8:44 am
Location: Massachusetts, Connecticut

Post Posted October 18th, 2006, 7:40 pm

I'm sure it's in one of the periodic /etc housecleaning scripts, since the Unix part was designed to never be restarted.
"Also, I can kill you with my brain."
10.4.x iBook G4 1.33 GHz
<a href="http://www.jonagold.org/~froodian/MoreCamino/">MoreCamino - More preferences for Camino</a>

Uncle Asad
Camino Developer

User avatar
 
Posts: 3957
Joined: July 24th, 2004, 1:38 pm
Location: بين العالمين

Post Posted October 18th, 2006, 7:46 pm

Since my uptime is 8 days going on 9, I'd bet on periodic weekly ;)
Mac OS X 10.3.9 • PowerBook G4 17" 1.33 GHz | Mac OS X 10.5.x • MacBook Pro 15" 2.2 GHz
Snow7's Camino Forum FAQSearch the Forum  Camino. HelpTroubleshoot Camino

Uncle Asad
Camino Developer

User avatar
 
Posts: 3957
Joined: July 24th, 2004, 1:38 pm
Location: بين العالمين

Post Posted October 19th, 2006, 2:59 pm

Got my first bug report: it won't work on Camino apps whose path contains spaces because I was an idiot and forgot a bit of code. Expect 1.0.1 soon-ish ;)

Also, there may be issues where the path to Camino.app contains non-ASCII characters. AppleScript is picky about that, although I am led to believe that that bug was fixed in 10.4.
Mac OS X 10.3.9 • PowerBook G4 17" 1.33 GHz | Mac OS X 10.5.x • MacBook Pro 15" 2.2 GHz
Snow7's Camino Forum FAQSearch the Forum  Camino. HelpTroubleshoot Camino

phiw13
 
Posts: 2777
Joined: November 7th, 2002, 1:00 am
Location: Japan

Post Posted October 19th, 2006, 8:28 pm

Uncle Asad wrote:Got my first bug report: it won't work on Camino apps whose path contains spaces because I was an idiot and forgot a bit of code. Expect 1.0.1 soon-ish ;)


I was going to complain, guess I'm to slow :(. Looking forward to an upgrade.

Uncle Asad
Camino Developer

User avatar
 
Posts: 3957
Joined: July 24th, 2004, 1:38 pm
Location: بين العالمين

Post Posted October 20th, 2006, 6:08 pm

phiw13 wrote:I was going to complain, guess I'm to slow :(.

;)

phiw13 wrote:Looking forward to an upgrade.

1.0.1 is now available with that fix (package filename is unchanged).
Mac OS X 10.3.9 • PowerBook G4 17" 1.33 GHz | Mac OS X 10.5.x • MacBook Pro 15" 2.2 GHz
Snow7's Camino Forum FAQSearch the Forum  Camino. HelpTroubleshoot Camino

Uncle Asad
Camino Developer

User avatar
 
Posts: 3957
Joined: July 24th, 2004, 1:38 pm
Location: بين العالمين

Post Posted March 20th, 2007, 10:36 pm

1.1 is now available (package filename is unchanged).

This version is all about third-party add-ons; I've implemented a mechanism authors can use to check and see if Camino is running in "troubleshooting fresh profile" mode and disable their add-ons if that's the case. This should help in cases of InputManager-type add-ons gone awry.

Of course it all depends on add-on authors adding this checking to their add-ons, but I hope that they'll all be willing to do this. It will make all of our lives (Camino QA, users, add-on authors) easier in the long run ;)

Edit: "devised" was the wrong word there ;)
Mac OS X 10.3.9 • PowerBook G4 17" 1.33 GHz | Mac OS X 10.5.x • MacBook Pro 15" 2.2 GHz
Snow7's Camino Forum FAQSearch the Forum  Camino. HelpTroubleshoot Camino

jedik
 
Posts: 1313
Joined: November 7th, 2003, 12:02 pm

Post Posted March 21st, 2007, 2:20 pm

Nice. Thanks. =)

Cheers
Powered by Camino

Return to Camino


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests