MozillaZine

Flash 10 released

Talk about the native Mac OS X browser.

Moderator: Camino Developers

phiw13
 
Posts: 2777
Joined: November 7th, 2002, 1:00 am
Location: Japan

Post Posted October 14th, 2008, 10:14 pm

Flash 10 is not now officially out. For those of us who've been suffering 'just a little' from perf issues, this release is a significant improvement (s*cks less… 8-) ).

Bad news for those on 10.3.x and older: minimum requirement is OS 10.4.x.

Hmm, and what's wrong at Adobe, they use a real OS X installer (Installer.app) instead of their custom one ?

8-bit

User avatar
 
Posts: 789
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 5:19 pm

Post Posted October 14th, 2008, 10:21 pm

On my way over to get it....

Using a real, live, OS X installer? Are you sure you didn't download a trojan? :P Hopefully, this will help with permissions problems, but I'll still be checking...

phiw13
 
Posts: 2777
Joined: November 7th, 2002, 1:00 am
Location: Japan

Post Posted October 14th, 2008, 10:49 pm

8-bit wrote:Using a real, live, OS X installer? Are you sure you didn't download a trojan? :P

Now that you mention it: the 'where from' in the Get Info says fpdownload.macromedia... What should I do, call my goldfish ?

8-bit wrote:Hopefully, this will help with permissions problems, but I'll still be checking...

Did I mention permissions ? :shock:
Let's not get overboard here, those are still honest-to-$deity-wrong. One step at the time !

8-bit

User avatar
 
Posts: 789
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 5:19 pm

Post Posted October 15th, 2008, 1:38 am

I have Console set to bounce in the dock and come to the fore whenever something is written to it. After installing 10r12 every site that has flash on it causes Debugger() was called! to be written to it. What is that about? Me don't like Console messages with ! at the end. Anyone else seeing this? I dunno, possibly it's nothing to worry about?

Oh, the installer should make CL a little bit happier about Flash now. =D>

davedit

User avatar
 
Posts: 390
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 7:56 pm
Location: San Diego, CA

Post Posted October 15th, 2008, 2:35 am

Could anyone tell me if Flash 10 will play videos from nfl.com properly? Like for example here. The betas never worked properly... Not sure whose fault that is. :/
Camino Themes and Stuff (If that doesn't work, try the mirror)
Pimp My Camino

8-bit

User avatar
 
Posts: 789
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 5:19 pm

Post Posted October 15th, 2008, 2:41 am

davedit wrote:Could anyone tell me if Flash 10 will play videos from nfl.com properly? Like for example here. The betas never worked properly... Not sure whose fault that is. :/

Worked fine. let me know if you get the "Debugger() was called!" written in Console...

phiw13
 
Posts: 2777
Joined: November 7th, 2002, 1:00 am
Location: Japan

Post Posted October 15th, 2008, 3:55 am

8-bit wrote:I have Console set to bounce in the dock and come to the fore whenever something is written to it. After installing 10r12 every site that has flash on it causes Debugger() was called! to be written to it. What is that about? Me don't like Console messages with ! at the end. Anyone else seeing this? I dunno, possibly it's nothing to worry about?

Has been spamming my console ever since I started installing the beta versions. I think somebody at Adobe forgot to turn off a debugging flag. It does the same in any browser.

But that's nothing. Try loading a page with Silverlight content in Safari/WebKit (if you have the latest version of the Silverlight plugin). I got 4 pages in Console.

8-bit

User avatar
 
Posts: 789
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 5:19 pm

Post Posted October 15th, 2008, 4:12 am

phiw13 wrote:Has been spamming my console ever since I started installing the beta versions. I think somebody at Adobe forgot to turn off a debugging flag. It does the same in any browser.

Adobe spam in the console - for shame :cry: Thanks for letting me know.

phiw13 wrote:But that's nothing. Try loading a page with Silverlight content in Safari/WebKit (if you have the latest version of the Silverlight plugin). I got 4 pages in Console.

Uh..........I'll just take your word for it :shock:

davedit

User avatar
 
Posts: 390
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 7:56 pm
Location: San Diego, CA

Post Posted October 15th, 2008, 4:13 am

8-bit wrote:
davedit wrote:Could anyone tell me if Flash 10 will play videos from nfl.com properly? Like for example here. The betas never worked properly... Not sure whose fault that is. :/

Worked fine. let me know if you get the "Debugger() was called!" written in Console...

Thanks, glad that it works now! And yeah I see that in Console whenever I load a site with Flash.
Camino Themes and Stuff (If that doesn't work, try the mirror)
Pimp My Camino

cflawson

User avatar
 
Posts: 4721
Joined: December 26th, 2004, 2:54 pm
Location: Flying over your house in a red, white, and blue jet

Post Posted October 15th, 2008, 7:33 am

Not only did these idiots leave a Debugger() call in the release version, it (predictably) crashes Camino (well, sends it to the debugger) whenever it's hit while you're running a debug build. I can't believe this made it all the way to release with that call in it.

cl

Uncle Asad
Camino Developer

User avatar
 
Posts: 3957
Joined: July 24th, 2004, 1:38 pm
Location: بين العالمين

Post Posted October 15th, 2008, 9:07 am

cflawson wrote:Not only did these idiots leave a Debugger() call in the release version, it (predictably) crashes Camino (well, sends it to the debugger) whenever it's hit while you're running a debug build. I can't believe this made it all the way to release with that call in it.

Someone (at least on person) has reported this debugger thing to Adobe, right?
Mac OS X 10.3.9 • PowerBook G4 17" 1.33 GHz | Mac OS X 10.5.x • MacBook Pro 15" 2.2 GHz
Snow7's Camino Forum FAQSearch the Forum  Camino. HelpTroubleshoot Camino

cflawson

User avatar
 
Posts: 4721
Joined: December 26th, 2004, 2:54 pm
Location: Flying over your house in a red, white, and blue jet

Post Posted October 15th, 2008, 10:32 am

Yeah, I'm talking with one of their devs now.

8-bit

User avatar
 
Posts: 789
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 5:19 pm

Post Posted October 15th, 2008, 6:21 pm

cflawson wrote:Not only did these idiots leave a Debugger() call in the release version, it (predictably) crashes Camino (well, sends it to the debugger) whenever it's hit while you're running a debug build. I can't believe this made it all the way to release with that call in it.

but.....but... you should be so happy with the new installer package that surely this is inconsequential. :wink:

phiw13
 
Posts: 2777
Joined: November 7th, 2002, 1:00 am
Location: Japan

Post Posted October 15th, 2008, 7:16 pm

Uncle Asad wrote:Someone (at least on person) has reported this debugger thing to Adobe, right?

It was mentioned in their beta forums once, iirc. Not sure if there have been follow up posts.

paulc
 
Posts: 206
Joined: January 5th, 2003, 10:34 pm

Post Posted October 17th, 2008, 11:11 am

At least it's only a very small amount of text that is written in console calling the debugger.... I'm sure it will get changed in the next point release.

FAR more significant is that fact the beta didn't play videos at several major sites, SI, CNN, and NFL to name 3. CNN and NFL now work with this release version, so I'm a happy camper.

Return to Camino


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests