MozillaZine

How do I put tabs in title bar when not maximized?

Discuss application theming and theme development.
patrickjdempsey

User avatar
 
Posts: 23734
Joined: October 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am
Location: Asheville NC

Post Posted April 20th, 2011, 2:14 pm

Which is probably why they aren't nearly as popular as they should be. That trick of using the xbl inherits binding to swap one property for another is extremely powerful though and could be used as part of a custom element you added via XUL. Some of that stuff can really streamline an extension and remove lines and lines of JavaScript.
Tip of the day: If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.
What my avatar is about: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/sea-fox/

lilsting10
 
Posts: 126
Joined: January 29th, 2008, 3:34 pm

Post Posted October 16th, 2012, 8:53 pm

Thread is a little confusing, has a solution been found yet?

patrickjdempsey

User avatar
 
Posts: 23734
Joined: October 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am
Location: Asheville NC

Post Posted October 16th, 2012, 9:19 pm

It's confusing because this is a thread in Theme Development about the Classic Compact Options extension, which now ships with Classic Compact. You would need to use that theme and set the appropriate settings in it's Options panel to get the result. I have no idea if there are other extensions out there that do it.
Tip of the day: If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.
What my avatar is about: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/sea-fox/

David.Vincent

User avatar
 
Posts: 213
Joined: June 17th, 2011, 10:11 pm

Post Posted October 16th, 2012, 9:49 pm


HotKbk-fwHistory
 
Posts: 4
Joined: December 27th, 2015, 10:21 pm

Post Posted December 27th, 2015, 10:29 pm

@David.Vincent : addons.mozilla.org/tabs-always-in-titlebar not currently working on Firefox 43.

smsmith
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 19195
Joined: December 7th, 2004, 8:51 pm
Location: Illinois

Post Posted December 28th, 2015, 3:57 pm

Here's what I use in Stylish and Windows 10. Note that if you apply a persona (blech) the persona doesn't work right.

Code: Select all
@namespace url(http://www.mozilla.org/keymaster/gatekeeper/there.is.only.xul);

#TabsToolbar {
    background: transparent !important;
    margin-bottom: 0 !important;
    margin-top: 0px !important;
}

#TabsToolbar .arrowscrollbox-scrollbox {
    padding: 0 !important;
}

#TabsToolbar .tabbrowser-tabs {
    min-height: 40px !important;
    margin-top: -1px !important;
    margin-left: -1px !important;
}

#TabsToolbar .tabbrowser-tab {
    -moz-border-top-colors: none !important;
    -moz-border-left-colors: none !important;
    -moz-border-right-colors: none !important;
    -moz-border-bottom-colors: none !important;
    border-style: solid !important;
    border-color: rgba(0,0,0,.2) !important;
    border-width: 1px 0px 0px 1px !important;
    text-shadow: 0 0 4px rgba(255,255,255,.75) !important;
    padding: 0px 0px !important;
    background: rgba(255,255,255,.45) !important;
    background-clip: padding-box !important;
    margin-left: 0px !important;
}

#TabsToolbar .tabs-newtab-button {
    -moz-border-top-colors: none !important;
    -moz-border-left-colors: none !important;
    -moz-border-right-colors: none !important;
    -moz-border-bottom-colors: none !important;
    border-style: solid !important;
    border-color: rgba(0,0,0,.2) !important;
    text-shadow: 0 0 4px rgba(255,255,255,.75) !important;
    background: rgba(255,255,255,.20) !important;
    background-clip: padding-box !important;
}

#TabsToolbar .tabbrowser-tab[first-tab][last-tab],
#TabsToolbar .tabbrowser-tab[last-visible-tab] {
    border-right-width: 1px !important;
}

#TabsToolbar .tabbrowser-tab[afterselected] {
   border-left-color: rgba(0,0,0,.25) !important;
}

#TabsToolbar .tabbrowser-tab[selected] {
    color: rgba(0,0,0,1) !important;
    background: #FFFFFF !important;
    background-clip: padding-box !important;
    border-color: rgba(0,0,0,.25) !important;
}

#TabsToolbar .tabs-newtab-button:hover,
#TabsToolbar .tabbrowser-tab:hover:not([selected]) {
    border-color: rgba(0,0,0,.2) !important;
    background-color: rgba(255,255,255,.55) !important;
}

#TabsToolbar .tab-background {
    margin: 0 !important;
    background: transparent !important;
}

#TabsToolbar .tab-background-start,
#TabsToolbar .tab-background-end {
    display: none !important;
}

#TabsToolbar .tab-background-middle {
    margin: -4px -2px !important;
    background: transparent !important;
}

#TabsToolbar .tabbrowser-tab:after,
#TabsToolbar .tabbrowser-tab:before {
    display: none !important;
}

#TabsToolbar .tabs-newtab-button {
    border-width: 1px 1px 0 0px !important;
    margin: 0 !important;
    width: 40px !important;
    padding: 0 5px !important;
}

#addon-bar,
#PersonalToolbar,
#nav-bar {
    background: #FFFFFF !important;
    box-shadow: none !important;
    background-clip: padding-box !important;
    border-color: rgba(0,0,0,.25) !important;
    border-radius: 0 !important;
}

#nav-bar {
    box-shadow: #C0C0C0 3px 3px 5px !important;
    padding: 3px !important;
}


I'm also using that in Nightly, but I think it's the same for whatever the current Firefox release version is. Also, it does some funny things when you have 10 or more tabs on a 1920 x 1080 screen, but after you close the tabs and maximize and restore the window a couple of times it seems to fix itself. It's nothing I have concerned myself with trying to "fix". I believe the original came from here, and then I did some personal edits.
https://userstyles.org/styles/109282/mo ... -australis
Give a man a fish, and he eats for a day. Teach a man to fish, and he eats for a lifetime.
I like poetry, long walks on the beach and poking dead things with a stick.
Please do not PM me for personal support. Keep posts here in the Forums instead and we all learn.

Return to Theme Development


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests