MozillaZine


1.1 compatible themes, take 3

Discuss application theming and theme development.
Pikachu90000

User avatar
 
Posts: 549
Joined: November 29th, 2004, 9:53 pm

Post Posted March 7th, 2005, 5:03 pm

What about mine?
pika9@ deviantART ~Home to the Winstripe Classic theme.
Pikachu90000's Firefox Theme Review Blog

Alfred Kayser

User avatar
 
Posts: 708
Joined: November 7th, 2002, 3:51 am
Location: The Netherlands

Post Posted March 8th, 2005, 3:23 am

My themes are now updated for FF 1.1:
http://www.geocities.com/alfredkayser/mozilla/index.htm
or
http://home.unet.nl/alfredkayser/mozilla/index.htm

I won't include a screenshot of the dialogbox, as it would look like
all others (except for some different icons)...

marcotroost
 
Posts: 76
Joined: July 21st, 2003, 12:22 am
Location: The Netherlands

Post Posted March 8th, 2005, 5:14 am

Perhaps a silly question, but are themes for 1.1 backward compatible with 1.0?

Alfred Kayser

User avatar
 
Posts: 708
Joined: November 7th, 2002, 3:51 am
Location: The Netherlands

Post Posted March 8th, 2005, 5:59 am

My themes should be, as the changes are all additional, but I have not yet verified this

ieremiou

User avatar
 
Posts: 637
Joined: July 20th, 2004, 3:21 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NYC

Post Posted March 8th, 2005, 6:15 am

marcotroost wrote:Perhaps a silly question, but are themes for 1.1 backward compatible with 1.0?


I doubt so since each theme I've come across supports them only for the trunk builds and not for Firefox 1.0/1.0.1/1.0.2.

Probably because it would be more hassle to figure out how to support both perference dialogs as well as making the theme packs a larger size in doing so. But that's just guessing.

/Ieremiou
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9a1) Gecko/20050922 Firefox/1.6a1 - Build ID: 2005092210

ShareBird

User avatar
 
Posts: 2740
Joined: December 8th, 2004, 7:09 am
Location: Berlin | Made in Brasil

Post Posted March 8th, 2005, 6:29 am

I personnaly don't see any reason to make the themes only 1.1 compatible. I guess it's possible to do both compatible adding only round 5KB code and picture...
Silvermel - A Theme for Firefox and Thunderbird
YATT - Yet Another Theme Tutorial
Don't give a man a fish. Teach him how to fish instead.

Alfred Kayser

User avatar
 
Posts: 708
Joined: November 7th, 2002, 3:51 am
Location: The Netherlands

Post Posted March 8th, 2005, 8:07 am

The picture can be shared between old and new, and the new code luckely has separate filenames, so it is easy to keep support for both 1.0 and 1.1. To confirm I have tested my themes with both 1.1 and 1.0.1 (which is theme-wise same as 1.0), and they all support both editions for Firefox.

Sailfish
 
Posts: 5681
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 4:58 pm

Post Posted March 8th, 2005, 8:19 am

My themes also work forward and backwards. I was a little nervous with the recent browser.xml binding change but since it only added a new box element, it doesn't seem to affect the older version of Fx.

a;skdjfajf;ak

User avatar
 
Posts: 17002
Joined: July 10th, 2004, 8:44 am

Post Posted March 8th, 2005, 8:20 am

Alfred Kayser wrote:My themes are now updated for FF 1.1:
http://www.geocities.com/alfredkayser/mozilla/index.htm
or
http://home.unet.nl/alfredkayser/mozilla/index.htm

I won't include a screenshot of the dialogbox, as it would look like
all others (except for some different icons)...


Under the Privacy tab..The bottom half of the option box where the 'Sanitize' section should be is not showing up correctly...Only a few 'dots' of the top lines of text are showing.

I only had time for a quick peek, it could be I suppose a 'blind' I'm using..will check later with a default theme on XP.

Alfred Kayser

User avatar
 
Posts: 708
Joined: November 7th, 2002, 3:51 am
Location: The Netherlands

Post Posted March 8th, 2005, 8:23 am

No, indeed it is something with my themes, but I cannot find out why and how this is happening, and how to fix this. There is something fishy with the sizing of the window going on.

dansx6

User avatar
 
Posts: 263
Joined: August 6th, 2003, 7:24 pm

Post Posted March 8th, 2005, 8:50 am

I don't think it is your themes. This is listed on the FF builds page as a regression from the new options box:

#283697 [Firefox-Options landing]-Options panel cannot be resized.Chopped off panels [Win] (Workaround, reset browser.preferences.animateFadeIn to false)

but the workaround doesn't seem to work for me.

ShareBird

User avatar
 
Posts: 2740
Joined: December 8th, 2004, 7:09 am
Location: Berlin | Made in Brasil

Post Posted March 8th, 2005, 8:55 am

I guess the only way to reasonable skin the options panel is to define a min-height for the box:

Code: Select all
#BrowserPreferences {
min-height: 43em;
}


for example...
Silvermel - A Theme for Firefox and Thunderbird
YATT - Yet Another Theme Tutorial
Don't give a man a fish. Teach him how to fish instead.

Sailfish
 
Posts: 5681
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 4:58 pm

Post Posted March 8th, 2005, 9:47 am

Alfred Kayser wrote:No, indeed it is something with my themes, but I cannot find out why and how this is happening, and how to fix this. There is something fishy with the sizing of the window going on.

I had a heck of a time getting it to display correctly on my themes and ended up getting it to work by fiddling with the button margins in the button.css file. I tried, in vain, to localize the button adjustment within the preference.css file but it seems that the button is dynamically rendered after the preference.css file has been processed, perhaps via a javascript function?

ShareBird

User avatar
 
Posts: 2740
Joined: December 8th, 2004, 7:09 am
Location: Berlin | Made in Brasil

Post Posted March 8th, 2005, 10:25 am

I would like to understand how prefwindow calculates its size... By default theme there are problems, by your Themes, for example, Sailfish, not (maybe because you don't use icons at the panel).
Silvermel - A Theme for Firefox and Thunderbird
YATT - Yet Another Theme Tutorial
Don't give a man a fish. Teach him how to fish instead.

Sailfish
 
Posts: 5681
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 4:58 pm

Post Posted March 8th, 2005, 10:39 am

The size is hardcoded in the xul as:
Code: Select all
style="width: 42em; height: 36em;"

The problem isn't related to having images on buttons since my themes exhibited the same problem without button images until I hacked my button.css file as stated above.

My best guess is that the description text (and its associated "Sanitize" button) is added after the preference.css file is processed and so margin settings one might use there to prevent the cropping don't have an effect.

Again, it's only a guess on my part.

Return to Theme Development


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest