Rebuilding TBE's featureset with other plugins, II

Talk about add-ons and extension development.
Post Reply
txGreg
Posts: 125
Joined: June 11th, 2004, 6:51 am

Post by txGreg »

ieremiou wrote:Not that I know of... I don't know what would be needed to be done to make such a thing happen. I've never seen an extension like that.. I don't think TBE has that but then I haven't used it in a while.


It does -- TBE allows you to specify top, bottom, left, right, or "hide always" for location of Tab bar. I'm fine w/it on the top, so I've never played with these settings.

It also provides scroll functionality for too many tabs.

-txGreg
reevuur
Posts: 375
Joined: September 13th, 2004, 2:02 pm

tab bar at bottom and fix tab width

Post by reevuur »

I had TBE but uninstalled because it crashed many times.

However I miss 2 options of TBE:

1) Tab bar at bottom
2) Change Tab Width

How to do adapt the userChrome.css to have these options?

Thanks,
sboulema
Posts: 6615
Joined: May 20th, 2003, 12:34 am
Location: Amstelveen, The Netherlands

Post by sboulema »

Code: Select all

/* Show tabs at bottom */
#content > tabbox { -moz-box-direction: reverse; }


Code: Select all

/* Max width for Tabs  */
tab { max-width: 90px !important; }
reevuur
Posts: 375
Joined: September 13th, 2004, 2:02 pm

Post by reevuur »

Wow great, however the max-width doesn't work.

Do yo also know how to give the active tab
another background color or better change the font color of it?
(to see immediately the active tab)
sboulema
Posts: 6615
Joined: May 20th, 2003, 12:34 am
Location: Amstelveen, The Netherlands

Post by sboulema »

Code: Select all

/* Change Tab Colors */
/* Change color of active tab */
tab[selected="true"] {background-color: rgb(222,218,210) !important; color: black !important;}
/* Change color of normal tabs */
tab {background-color: rgb(200,196,188) !important; color: gray !important;}
/* Tab while loading */
tab[busy] {color:gray !important;}
reevuur
Posts: 375
Joined: September 13th, 2004, 2:02 pm

Post by reevuur »

Thank you very much.

Only this one doesn't work

/* Max width for Tabs */
tab { max-width: 90px !important; }
sboulema
Posts: 6615
Joined: May 20th, 2003, 12:34 am
Location: Amstelveen, The Netherlands

Post by sboulema »

you need to have Flowing tabs or Scrollable tabs installed
roth377
Posts: 101
Joined: November 12th, 2004, 11:31 am

Post by roth377 »

Okay, quite a few state how TBE is crap and full of bugs. While I don't think it's that bad, I thought I'd post what i would need to move off of it.

The functions I use TBE for (that are currently NOT supported by extensions known by me):
- Scroll Bar in Tab-bar (no other extension. Scroll tabs have buttons to scroll, but I need a scroll bar)
- Bookmark-name tab labeling. Instead of using a page's title, it uses the bookmark name (when opened via bookmarks, of course)
- With the above function, the tab width would have to match the width of the bookmark name. This functions not vital (since there is a max-width I could use).
- Tab Locking. This is a big one. I use lock tabs for all my forum uses, so that I can click any topic and it loads in a new tab.

That's all that's left. If these can be done, I'll give all the other extensions a shot.
reevuur
Posts: 375
Joined: September 13th, 2004, 2:02 pm

Post by reevuur »

sboulema wrote:you need to have Flowing tabs or Scrollable tabs installed


Ok.

flowing tabs is not compatible with FF 1.0
scrollable tabs ok.

Thank you Sboulema.
User avatar
d_g
Posts: 519
Joined: July 24th, 2003, 3:50 pm

Post by d_g »

How are people managing to crash TBE? I've used it for over a year, normally have around 75 tabs open, and have never had a crash :/

I feel like I'm missing out ;)
User avatar
Mugros
Posts: 571
Joined: June 16th, 2004, 5:31 am

Post by Mugros »

It crashed for me mostly when i open external links. This is gone since i don't use TBE anymore.
Maybe it is dependent on the settings you use. Yours may be safe.
User avatar
cycletourist
Posts: 15
Joined: October 19th, 2003, 4:10 pm
Location: Colorado
Contact:

Post by cycletourist »

Has anyone made a summary list of all the various substitutions and their functionality? Right now I'm looking for the ability to open all bookmark links into new tabs (and also all links that are to a different domain - links that go off site).

(I already got mini-T so I can drag and drop tabs, and Session Saver - for obvious reasons.)
EdZep
Posts: 2
Joined: November 14th, 2004, 10:49 pm

the ONE TBE feature I need most

Post by EdZep »

Greetings. Glad to see this topic still alive since I stumbled onto the original some time back. I registered to find out if there a way to get the most important TBE behavior I've come to rely on with early versions of FireSomething, which I use on Win2K.

I had TBE set up so I could double-click on a tab to reload it. I typically have a number of tabs with forums and other pages that are frequently updated. So, it's natural to switch to a tab for a page that needs to be updated. It's faster and more natural to combine the initial tab selection click with a second click to cause refresh, than to either move the mouse to the refresh button, or to hit f5.

It seems this behavior doesn't get any respect... at least judging by the small, specialty Tab extensions I've seen. Any pointers (or zealous extension writing) would be appreciated.
User avatar
Mugros
Posts: 571
Joined: June 16th, 2004, 5:31 am

Post by Mugros »

Tab Clicking Options
sboulema
Posts: 6615
Joined: May 20th, 2003, 12:34 am
Location: Amstelveen, The Netherlands

Post by sboulema »

Post Reply