MozillaZine

Advanced javascript options (new prefs ui only)

Talk about add-ons and extension development.
ColdFusion650

User avatar
 
Posts: 2186
Joined: December 5th, 2004, 1:12 pm
Location: Below the Mason-Dixon

Post Posted February 26th, 2005, 2:10 pm

awesome icon.

0live
 
Posts: 799
Joined: June 15th, 2004, 7:28 am
Location: Brussels

Post Posted February 26th, 2005, 2:19 pm

It's even better now, with a dedicated tab instead of a secondary dialog box. Cheers!

Edit: Aye the icon is nice but a tad too dark (for my crappy monitor only perhaps) I had to increase brightness by a fair amount in order to figure out what it was =)
Linux i686 (ubuntu-gutsy) | Minefield (20081118020400) | Tb 2.0.0.17pre (2008092517) w/ Lightning

ColdFusion650

User avatar
 
Posts: 2186
Joined: December 5th, 2004, 1:12 pm
Location: Below the Mason-Dixon

Post Posted February 26th, 2005, 3:38 pm

icon looks fine on my computer. must be ur monitor.

Mossop

User avatar
 
Posts: 717
Joined: January 11th, 2004, 7:24 am
Location: Swansea, UK

Post Posted February 26th, 2005, 3:42 pm

Right, almost finished now I think. I have done a newer version but I'm not putting it on the main page yet because I don't know how it will act on non-windows machine. Basically I've added an extra option to it so I've had to play to increase the size of the options dialog, hopefully this doesnt screw things up:

http://www.blueprintit.co.uk/~dave/content/firefox/jsoptions/jsoptions-0.7.xpi

If anyone using a non-windows OS could give this a shot and let me know if it works out ok then Ill put it up properly.

Also do people like the options where they are or would it make more sense to put them into an extra pane in the advanced tab?

Mossop

ColdFusion650

User avatar
 
Posts: 2186
Joined: December 5th, 2004, 1:12 pm
Location: Below the Mason-Dixon

Post Posted February 26th, 2005, 3:47 pm

i think you should have an advanced button in the content section. similar to the way it was before. right next to the enable javascript checkbox.

Mossop

User avatar
 
Posts: 717
Joined: January 11th, 2004, 7:24 am
Location: Swansea, UK

Post Posted February 26th, 2005, 4:28 pm

ColdFusion650 wrote:i think you should have an advanced button in the content section. similar to the way it was before. right next to the enable javascript checkbox.


I've taken a look into this, and to be honest I'm unlikely to do it since it looks like it would be a real pain in the neck to do. Possibly this is because I'm very new to this extensions business so maybe I don't know some of the tricks.

Also I would have to overlay what is already an overlay (to do both that or put the options onto the advanced tab), I'm not sure whether thats possible or not but when I jsut tried it I managed to crash Firefox everytime.

So I think right now the options will have to stay where they are.

Mossop

ColdFusion650

User avatar
 
Posts: 2186
Joined: December 5th, 2004, 1:12 pm
Location: Below the Mason-Dixon

Post Posted February 26th, 2005, 5:34 pm

ok. u can already do more than me with extensions (i cant do anything even though i tried on xulplanet.com). it doesnt really matter to me where the options are.

krmathis

User avatar
 
Posts: 4699
Joined: May 24th, 2004, 9:40 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Post Posted February 26th, 2005, 6:10 pm

The new 0.7 version seems to be working fine on Mac OS X.

Mossop

User avatar
 
Posts: 717
Joined: January 11th, 2004, 7:24 am
Location: Swansea, UK

Post Posted February 27th, 2005, 4:22 am

Thanks powerbook, thats good enough for me :)

Mossop

joeg

User avatar
 
Posts: 2619
Joined: October 10th, 2003, 12:37 pm
Location: How can you be in two places at once, when you're not anywhere at all?

Post Posted February 27th, 2005, 4:43 am

To: mossop

In regard to FF:
I'm using the very latest Beast-Tinderbox (timestamp: firefox.exe: 27.02.05 02:07) -> Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Win98; en-US; rv:1.8b2) Gecko/20050227 Firefox/1.0+

In regard to the (GREAT!) extension (already at version 0.7):
The only "problem" is that I couldn't install it directly from the "Install" link on the page although I had "Allow web sites to install software" activated. Instead, the "Download" dialogue opened, and I downloaded the .xpi and installed it by dragging it on to FF.

It might have something to do with another option that I have (or don't have) selected somewhere, but I'll have to fool around with it for awhile.

As an English teacher who's a real FF fan but really nothing but a computer wannabe, I am happy to say for the record that I stand in awe of all the people who work so hard to make FF a great browser. My thanks to "Dave?" for this cool extension.
Although every day is Judgment Day, I nonetheless feel like a room without a roof.

Bloodeye
 
Posts: 582
Joined: July 12th, 2004, 7:20 pm

Post Posted February 27th, 2005, 4:54 am

I have FF v1.0.1 installed...what do you mean "people are complaining that the advanced javascript settings do not exist". I still have an "Advanced..." button for advanced javascript options in my Options dialog. What's this extension for...please forgive my ignorance. :)

Mossop

User avatar
 
Posts: 717
Joined: January 11th, 2004, 7:24 am
Location: Swansea, UK

Post Posted February 27th, 2005, 5:10 am

Bloodeye wrote:I have FF v1.0.1 installed...what do you mean "people are complaining that the advanced javascript settings do not exist". I still have an "Advanced..." button for advanced javascript options in my Options dialog. What's this extension for...please forgive my ignorance. :)


FF v1.0.1 is the latest stable release of Firefox. Many of us are testing the so-called nightlies that contain new features and works in progress that will appear in FF v1.1. One of those new features is a redesigned options dialog.

Nightlies can give you a look at whats coming up in FF, but they also generally contain lots of bugs and they aren't for the faint of heart.

Mossop

Mossop

User avatar
 
Posts: 717
Joined: January 11th, 2004, 7:24 am
Location: Swansea, UK

Post Posted February 27th, 2005, 5:13 am

JoeG wrote:The only "problem" is that I couldn't install it directly from the "Install" link on the page although I had "Allow web sites to install software" activated. Instead, the "Download" dialogue opened, and I downloaded the .xpi and installed it by dragging it on to FF.


Yeah I just tested it and that does appear to be the case. Some oddity on my website, I'll take a look into it later this afternoon. Cheers for letting me know.

JoeG wrote:As an English teacher who's a real FF fan but really nothing but a computer wannabe, I am happy to say for the record that I stand in awe of all the people who work so hard to make FF a great browser. My thanks to "Dave?" for this cool extension.


Always nice to receive praise :D

Mossop

Mossop

User avatar
 
Posts: 717
Joined: January 11th, 2004, 7:24 am
Location: Swansea, UK

Post Posted February 27th, 2005, 5:22 am

mossop wrote:
JoeG wrote:The only "problem" is that I couldn't install it directly from the "Install" link on the page although I had "Allow web sites to install software" activated. Instead, the "Download" dialogue opened, and I downloaded the .xpi and installed it by dragging it on to FF.


Yeah I just tested it and that does appear to be the case. Some oddity on my website, I'll take a look into it later this afternoon. Cheers for letting me know.


I think I've sorted that, though I found I needed to clear my cache before FF would notice the change.

Mossop

ColdFusion650

User avatar
 
Posts: 2186
Joined: December 5th, 2004, 1:12 pm
Location: Below the Mason-Dixon

Post Posted February 27th, 2005, 6:13 am

are going to host previous versions on ur sight? i kind of prefer 0.6 to 0.7 so that the window doesnt have to be enlarged.

Return to Extension Development


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests