MozillaZine

Modded Extensions for SeaMonkey

Talk about add-ons and extension development.
therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19959
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted September 10th, 2012, 10:09 am

Never mind on which? (modifiedmisc) Image Zoom does work.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19959
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted September 10th, 2012, 10:12 am

(Copy & paste from NoScript Forums...)


NoScript+Fetch Text URL+Aurora=Hang

NoScript 2.5.4 (version does not really matter)
fetch_text_url-1.6.4-mod.xpi (the AMO version will not work at all)
latest-mozilla-aurora (has to be later then 20120906, & assume that nightly is similarly affected?)

works: http://hg.mozilla.org/releases/mozilla-aurora/rev/c2cc63c864e4
broke: http://hg.mozilla.org/releases/mozilla-aurora/rev/41eab5a0e537

FTU has three ways it may open a "URL".
New tab, Current tab, & New window.

The first two work fine.
The last, New window, fails to do anything.

Once attempted, right-click context menu is ineffectual.
(Can be restored by opening a link in the tab & returning.)

And on a Quit, FF hangs in memory.
(And SeaMonkey Aurora is likewise affected.)


Bug 789773 - Conflict of Firefox Aurora and Nightly with NoScript extension
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19959
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted September 12th, 2012, 4:58 pm

The above bug, now more commonly known as "nsIWebProgressListener implementations referencing the load's window in onStateChange() (like NoScript or Roboform) cause popup loads to be aborted and the browser to hang on exit" is where the issue lay, but has been worked-around on the NoScript end, so no longer an issue - with that combination.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

xed

User avatar
 
Posts: 669
Joined: February 11th, 2007, 12:04 pm

Post Posted September 12th, 2012, 5:08 pm

All my extensions now work, the only problem I'm having is with Ghostery. It's icon turn grey after the page finishes loading and doesn't show the blocked bugs where it should be blue and show how many bugs are blocked, but if I switch back and forth between tabs, the icon is blue and shows how many bugs are blocked.

Here's my about:support info:

Application Basics

Name
SeaMonkey

Version
2.12.1

User Agent
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 5.1; rv:15.0) Gecko/20120909 Firefox/15.0.1 SeaMonkey/2.12.1

Profile Folder

Show Folder

Enabled Plugins

about:plugins

Build Configuration

about:buildconfig

Crash Reports

about:crashes

Memory Use

about:memory

Extensions

Name

Version

Enabled

ID

Adblock Plus
2.1.2
true
{d10d0bf8-f5b5-c8b4-a8b2-2b9879e08c5d}

Add-on Compatibility Reporter
1.1
true
compatibility@addons.mozilla.org

ChatZilla
0.9.88.2
true
{59c81df5-4b7a-477b-912d-4e0fdf64e5f2}

checkCompatibility
1.3
true
check-compatibility@dactyl.googlecode.com

CheckPlaces
2.6.2
true
checkplaces@andyhalford.com

Disable clipboard manipulations
1.0
true
nocopypaste@adblockplus.org

DOM Inspector
2.0.13
true
inspector@mozilla.org

Flagfox
4.2.0
true
{1018e4d6-728f-4b20-ad56-37578a4de76b}

Ghostery
2.8.2
true
firefox@ghostery.com

Image Zoom
0.4.6.1mod
true
{1A2D0EC4-75F5-4c91-89C4-3656F6E44B68}

JavaScript Debugger
0.9.89
true
{f13b157f-b174-47e7-a34d-4815ddfdfeb8}

Make Link
9.08
true
{0B6B0D55-DFAC-4006-AEE6-25667F55A2A8}

Neo Diggler
1.0.3
true
{9b84cce7-a817-45d7-865e-9e6e8da1c388}

NoScript
2.5.4
true
{73a6fe31-595d-460b-a920-fcc0f8843232}

OptimizeGoogle
0.79.1
true
optimizegoogle@optimizegoogle.com

SmoothWheel (AMO)
0.45.6.20100202.1
true
{5F590AA2-1221-4113-A6F4-A4BB62414FAC}

Tab Clicking Options
0.6.9
true
{43520B8F-4107-4351-AC64-9BCC5EEA24B9}

User Agent Switcher
0.7.3
true
{e968fc70-8f95-4ab9-9e79-304de2a71ee1}

Important Modified Preferences

Name

Value

browser.cache.disk.capacity
102400

browser.cache.disk.smart_size.enabled
false

browser.cache.disk.smart_size.first_run
false

browser.cache.disk.smart_size_cached_value
860160

browser.places.smartBookmarksVersion
4

browser.search.suggest.enabled
false

browser.search.update
false

browser.startup.homepage_override.mstone
rv:15.0

browser.tabs.autoHide
false

browser.tabs.loadInBackground
false

browser.tabs.tabMaxWidth
200

dom.disable_window_move_resize
false

dom.disable_window_open_feature.close
true

dom.disable_window_open_feature.location
true

dom.disable_window_open_feature.menubar
true

dom.disable_window_open_feature.minimizable
true

dom.disable_window_open_feature.personalbar
true

dom.disable_window_open_feature.scrollbars
true

dom.disable_window_open_feature.titlebar
true

dom.disable_window_open_feature.toolbar
true

extensions.checkCompatibility.2.12
false

extensions.checkCompatibility.nightly
false

extensions.lastAppVersion
2.12.1

network.cookie.alwaysAcceptSessionCookies
true

network.cookie.cookieBehavior
1

network.cookie.lifetimePolicy
1

network.cookie.prefsMigrated
true

network.dns.disableIPv6
true

network.http.max-connections
32

network.http.max-connections-per-server
16

network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-proxy
24

network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-server
16

network.prefetch-next
false

places.database.lastMaintenance
1346850297

places.history.expiration.transient_current_max_pages
53646

privacy.donottrackheader.enabled
true

security.warn_viewing_mixed
false

Graphics

Adapter Description
NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GTX/9800 GTX+

Vendor ID
0x10de

Device ID
0x0612

Adapter RAM
Unknown

Adapter Drivers
nv4_disp

Driver Version
6.14.12.5944

Driver Date
8-19-2010

WebGL Renderer
Google Inc. -- ANGLE (NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GTX/9800 GTX+) -- OpenGL ES 2.0 (ANGLE 1.0.0.1041)

GPU Accelerated Windows
1/1 Direct3D 9

JavaScript

Incremental GC
0

Library Versions

Expected minimum version

Version in use

NSPR
4.9.1
4.9.1

NSS
3.13.6.0 Basic ECC
3.13.6.0 Basic ECC

NSS Util
3.13.6.0
3.13.6.0

NSS SSL
3.13.6.0 Basic ECC
3.13.6.0 Basic ECC

NSS S/MIME
3.13.6.0 Basic ECC
3.13.6.0 Basic ECC
"Doin' right ain't got no end." Cap'n Red Legs

xed

User avatar
 
Posts: 669
Joined: February 11th, 2007, 12:04 pm

Post Posted September 12th, 2012, 5:17 pm

One more thing, the WOT extension breaks SeaMonkey's status bar, it nor any other status bar extension icons show if it's installed.
"Doin' right ain't got no end." Cap'n Red Legs

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19959
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted September 12th, 2012, 6:11 pm

Well for Ghostery, obvious thing is to disable all your other extension & see if then works correctly.
If it does, then there may be extension conflict.
(As a test, easier to create a new, clean Profile & just install Ghostery & see if it work correctly.)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

xed

User avatar
 
Posts: 669
Joined: February 11th, 2007, 12:04 pm

Post Posted September 12th, 2012, 6:32 pm

therube wrote:(As a test, easier to create a new, clean Profile & just install Ghostery & see if it work correctly.)

I'll do that when I get a few extra minutes and feel like it. I don't think it's a conflict though because I have all the same extensions (and more) in Firefox and Ghostery works fine.

I posted a question about it at Ghostery's support forum too, so maybe I'll get some ideas from there too.
"Doin' right ain't got no end." Cap'n Red Legs

shakushinnen

User avatar
 
Posts: 772
Joined: July 26th, 2004, 8:13 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post Posted October 2nd, 2012, 7:24 pm

Is there a way of stopping the quote bars from showing up at all.
I installed this http://xsidebar.mozdev.org/modifiedmail ... uotecolors, but doesn't seem to do it.
Thanks,
...... john

Philip Chee

User avatar
 
Posts: 6475
Joined: March 1st, 2005, 3:03 pm

Post Posted October 3rd, 2012, 3:27 am

shakushinnen wrote:Is there a way of stopping the quote bars from showing up at all.
I installed this http://xsidebar.mozdev.org/modifiedmail ... uotecolors, but doesn't seem to do it.
Thanks,
...... john

QuoteColors just changes the colour of the quote bars. Why do you want to prevent them from showing up? It's a useful feature. I can't think of any situation where hiding them would improve matters, only make things worse.

Phil

shakushinnen

User avatar
 
Posts: 772
Joined: July 26th, 2004, 8:13 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post Posted October 3rd, 2012, 6:42 am

Hi Philip,
I have a friend that I write back and forth. We identify what we're saying in each mail, by changing the colour of the text, or background, of the sentences. The bars are just a complication to me that ruins the appearance of the page and, after several back and forths, take up a lot of real estate.
... john

Philip Chee

User avatar
 
Posts: 6475
Joined: March 1st, 2005, 3:03 pm

Post Posted October 3rd, 2012, 8:54 am

shakushinnen wrote:Hi Philip,
I have a friend that I write back and forth. We identify what we're saying in each mail, by changing the colour of the text, or background, of the sentences. The bars are just a complication to me that ruins the appearance of the page and, after several back and forths, take up a lot of real estate.
... john

So you two are reinventing the wheel what quote levels were designed to do in the first place?

Phil

shakushinnen

User avatar
 
Posts: 772
Joined: July 26th, 2004, 8:13 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post Posted October 3rd, 2012, 11:12 am

Hi Phil,
I'm not sure it's quite that simple. We often add a couple of words, or a comment to something the other said, or even just a smiley, or question marks, or a minor correction. Colouring the text gives us much more flexibility without all the bars, and presents a nicer flowing, nicer looking, composition. Thanks for you help.
... john

xed

User avatar
 
Posts: 669
Joined: February 11th, 2007, 12:04 pm

Post Posted October 12th, 2012, 11:52 am

Can Dr.Web LinkChecker be modded to work with SeaMonkey?

It used to work with it, I'm pretty sure, but it can't be installed anymore.

It's a nice security enhancement and I would definitely install it if it were made available.

Thanks.
"Doin' right ain't got no end." Cap'n Red Legs

xed

User avatar
 
Posts: 669
Joined: February 11th, 2007, 12:04 pm

Post Posted October 18th, 2012, 4:23 am

xed wrote:Can Dr.Web LinkChecker be modded to work with SeaMonkey?

It used to work with it, I'm pretty sure, but it can't be installed anymore.

It's a nice security enhancement and I would definitely install it if it were made available.

Thanks.

Can someone point me to a guide or tell me how to modify this extension so it can install in SeaMonkey?

It's a very convenient security enhancement that I would like to have available to me in my default browser.

I really like SeaMonkey and would rather use it than any other browser.
"Doin' right ain't got no end." Cap'n Red Legs

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19959
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted October 18th, 2012, 8:41 am

I had given it a quick look, got it to install, but in Addons Manager when I clicked its Options, all I got was a beep, then a "hung" SeaMonkey, so I didn't get it right :-).

https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/doc ... eaMonkey_2
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Return to Extension Development


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest