MozillaZine

Tab Mix 0.2 is available 4/18/05

Talk about add-ons and extension development.
logixoul

User avatar
 
Posts: 166
Joined: January 5th, 2005, 3:03 am
Location: sofia, bulgaria

Post Posted June 2nd, 2005, 5:37 am

ShareBird wrote:
iwod wrote:
"no, supposedly hemiolaSUN found a new person and the project is bein transfered to him but news has come"

Well he has. but no body stops you to continue his work :D infact he has mention that number of times. And the new maintainer has already stated that he will mainly do bug fix only. No more new features will be added in ( which is a rather good thing , i suppose )


And who is now the developer???

.
Yes, I'd like to know, too :er: .

TychoQuad
 
Posts: 1263
Joined: December 11th, 2002, 12:30 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted June 2nd, 2005, 6:39 pm

I will declare the first person who can solve my advanced options bug the developer :)

I would like to use the "Force to open in new tab: Links to other sites" option in Tab Mix, however, it doesn't do anything when set. Other sites continue to load in the current tab. Help?

CPU

User avatar
 
Posts: 624
Joined: August 13th, 2004, 4:22 pm
Location: Houston, Texas

Post Posted June 2nd, 2005, 6:50 pm

well there are several things that could stop this, but the thing that comes closest to mind is if the link has a target attribute and you have the option to load target links in current tab

another thing would be extensions that are involve in links, ex:linkification
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8) Gecko/20051114 Firefox/1.5 - Build ID: 2005111403

Defenestration
 
Posts: 359
Joined: July 7th, 2004, 11:33 am

Post Posted June 2nd, 2005, 8:15 pm

CPU wrote:another thing would be extensions that are involve in links, ex:linkification

I use both TabMix and Linkification and have Tabmix set up to load links which relate to other sites in a new background tab.

When I click on a link (that refers to another site) which has been Linkification'd then TabMix opens the link in both a new background tab as well as the current tab.

Why is the link also being opened in the current tab ? Is this a bug in TabMix ?

CPU

User avatar
 
Posts: 624
Joined: August 13th, 2004, 4:22 pm
Location: Houston, Texas

Post Posted June 2nd, 2005, 9:20 pm

oh i had this problem too. in linkification, uncheck the option to suppress http referers, that should fix it up

i was working as a work around but its a linkification problem because of the way its set up to handle the referers
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8) Gecko/20051114 Firefox/1.5 - Build ID: 2005111403

ieremiou

User avatar
 
Posts: 637
Joined: July 20th, 2004, 3:21 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NYC

Post Posted June 2nd, 2005, 10:07 pm

Hrm... TabMix Plus 2.2 has a lot of issues... (no offense)

1) When I installed it into the current Nightly Build the default number perferences like Undoclose Number and TabSelect Delay and the Tab Min and Max Width seems to be missing in the Tab Mix Perfernces windows but it shows in the about:config perferences correctly. Possibly the extension is not reading the default perferences correctly?

Note: If I make changes on the first page and then click ok. Every box that has a number entry turns to zero except Tab Min and Max Widths. (weird)

2) When I tell it to put the Tab X button on all of the tabs it never saves the perference. I worked around that by going through about:config but as soon as I open up the Tab Mix Plus perferences it overwrites the perference to the default no tab x button. Funny enough the option to have a tab X button when you hover on the tab works. :( (I don't use that option.)

Is there some way to fix this?

Note: I checked this on a blank profile on Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8b2) Gecko/20050601 Firefox/1.0+ ID:2005060117

Thanks
~Ieremiou~
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9a1) Gecko/20050922 Firefox/1.6a1 - Build ID: 2005092210

TychoQuad
 
Posts: 1263
Joined: December 11th, 2002, 12:30 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted June 2nd, 2005, 11:42 pm

CPU wrote:well there are several things that could stop this, but the thing that comes closest to mind is if the link has a target attribute and you have the option to load target links in current tab


So there's no way of having all links "open in current tab, unless from another site"? I kind of assumed the target attribute became irrevevant when you set target links to open in the current tab, and the "new tab for new site" option just forced new tabs on it's own.

Perhaps those advanced options should be greyed out when you have target links set like that, in that case.

CPU

User avatar
 
Posts: 624
Joined: August 13th, 2004, 4:22 pm
Location: Houston, Texas

Post Posted June 3rd, 2005, 10:06 am

@ieremiou
thanks for finding out the bugs, ill try to sort it out

edit-ok that tabx problem was my fault, i was messing with it but it should be fixed, just download it again. also i dont know why its not taking in the delays. i think its cause i added more prefences and the ordering is messed up. anyways ill fix that later since its a minor detail

btw if anyone wants to start a new thread, be my guest
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8) Gecko/20051114 Firefox/1.5 - Build ID: 2005111403

ieremiou

User avatar
 
Posts: 637
Joined: July 20th, 2004, 3:21 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NYC

Post Posted June 3rd, 2005, 11:27 am

Thanks for the quick fix Gary, that was a bloody annoying bug. :-D.
Now onto the the Tab Mix Plus only thread
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9a1) Gecko/20050922 Firefox/1.6a1 - Build ID: 2005092210

tastywheat
 
Posts: 9
Joined: June 6th, 2005, 3:15 am

Post Posted June 6th, 2005, 3:32 am

Is anyone else experiencing a bug where, if you set the left tab to gain the focus after a tab is closed, the focus jumps left twice? So if I had the tabs [A][B][C][D][E][F] open in that order, and I closed [E] I would be focused on [C]. If I then closed [C] I would be focused on [A]. Are there some conflicted settings? Does Tab Mix Plus have this problem?

CPU

User avatar
 
Posts: 624
Joined: August 13th, 2004, 4:22 pm
Location: Houston, Texas

Post Posted June 6th, 2005, 5:36 am

look at ur focus when ur closing, it has an option to which tab to go to after u close the current one
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8) Gecko/20051114 Firefox/1.5 - Build ID: 2005111403

wysocki
 
Posts: 43
Joined: April 8th, 2004, 4:37 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Post Posted June 6th, 2005, 9:46 am

Just replaced all my tab extensions with Tab Mix and I'm very pleased with it. Only thing I wish it had now was a way to highlight the background color of the current tab.

CPU

User avatar
 
Posts: 624
Joined: August 13th, 2004, 4:22 pm
Location: Houston, Texas

Post Posted June 6th, 2005, 10:00 am

i havent tried it but maybe this coudl do it

Code: Select all
tab[selected="true"] {
 background-color: color !important;
}
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8) Gecko/20051114 Firefox/1.5 - Build ID: 2005111403

tastywheat
 
Posts: 9
Joined: June 6th, 2005, 3:15 am

Post Posted June 6th, 2005, 2:49 pm

I guess that means that I'm the only one having that problem? I've tried several settings and it always skips two tabs to the left. I don't believe it's supposed to behave like that no matter what the setting.

onemen

User avatar
 
Posts: 1130
Joined: October 15th, 2004, 7:48 am

Post Posted June 6th, 2005, 3:36 pm

tastywheat wrote:I guess that means that I'm the only one having that problem? I've tried several settings and it always skips two tabs to the left. I don't believe it's supposed to behave like that no matter what the setting.

what other extendion do you have ?

Return to Extension Development


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests