MozillaZine

Tab Mix 0.2 is available 4/18/05

Talk about add-ons and extension development.
tastywheat
 
Posts: 9
Joined: June 6th, 2005, 3:15 am

Post Posted June 6th, 2005, 5:43 pm

The only other extensions I have are Sort Bookmarks and All-In-One Gestures. I tried fixing the problem by changing some code but I can't repackage the xpi file. It never finds the install script. The default behavior (in Firefox) is that the left tab gets the focus after a tab is closed. So Tab Mix is conflicting with Firefox itself.

Old Makondo
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted June 6th, 2005, 11:08 pm

Forgive me if this has been asked/answered before (search didn't help much).
Is it possible to keep settings for protected and locked tabs on start. Let's say - homepage tabs. I have 3 and every time i open Fx, i have to protect and lock all three.
TIA.

tastywheat
 
Posts: 9
Joined: June 6th, 2005, 3:15 am

Post Posted June 6th, 2005, 11:34 pm

This code in flst.js is wrong:
Code: Select all
      if ( mode == 1 && !first_last) {
        window.getBrowser().selectedTab = tabs[curIndex - 1];
        if ( unread)
          tabs[curIndex].removeAttribute("selected");
      }

This will effectively move the focus two tabs to the left. Firefox automatically sets the focus one tab to the left when you close one. Commenting this code out will cause it to function better. Still, if I close the last tab the focus is pushed two tabs to the left (the 2nd to last tab gets the focus). Does anyone know what is causing this to happen? Firefox behaves the way mode 1 should before installing Tab Mix.

onemen

User avatar
 
Posts: 1130
Joined: October 15th, 2004, 7:48 am

Post Posted June 7th, 2005, 3:41 am

makondo wrote:Forgive me if this has been asked/answered before (search didn't help much).
Is it possible to keep settings for protected and locked tabs on start. Let's say - homepage tabs. I have 3 and every time i open Fx, i have to protect and lock all three.
TIA
open tabmix preference > general tab and set Force to open in new tab: to All links
to have all tab locked as default.
Last edited by onemen on June 7th, 2005, 4:36 am, edited 1 time in total.

onemen

User avatar
 
Posts: 1130
Joined: October 15th, 2004, 7:48 am

Post Posted June 7th, 2005, 3:42 am

tastywheat wrote:The only other extensions I have are Sort Bookmarks and All-In-One Gestures. I tried fixing the problem by changing some code but I can't repackage the xpi file. It never finds the install script. The default behavior (in Firefox) is that the left tab gets the focus after a tab is closed. So Tab Mix is conflicting with Firefox itself.

try to disable All-In-One Gestures and see if the problem persist

xanthuos
 
Posts: 1
Joined: June 7th, 2005, 3:47 am

Post Posted June 7th, 2005, 3:51 am

Any time I right click on a link and select "open in new tab" it takes me to the new tab. I would like the tab to open in the background so that I can review it at my convenience. I did mess with some settings, but I didn't think I changed anything so that tabs no longer open in the background.

Can anyone offer a suggestion on how to resolve the problem? Thanks.

tastywheat
 
Posts: 9
Joined: June 6th, 2005, 3:15 am

Post Posted June 7th, 2005, 6:58 am

onemen wrote:try to disable All-In-One Gestures and see if the problem persist

Sure enough that did it. All-In-One Gestures screws with the tab focus in Advanced Preferences. It changes the focus after Tab Mix has its say so I don't think I could've fixed it by changing Tab Mix at all.

wysocki
 
Posts: 43
Joined: April 8th, 2004, 4:37 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Post Posted June 7th, 2005, 10:31 am

CPU wrote:i havent tried it but maybe this coudl do it
Code: Select all
tab[selected="true"] {
 background-color: #ffcccc !important;
}

Didn't do anything. I tried the example below but not([selected]) modifies the UNREAD tabs instead of the currently selected tab. If I remove the not() it doesn't do anything. (Also, where can I find syntax for all the possibilities here?)
Code: Select all
#content tab:not([selected]) .tab-text {
  background-color: #ffcccc !important;
}

Old Makondo
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted June 7th, 2005, 12:53 pm

onemen,
thanks, i've posted in the other thread. (It's getting confusing with two threads going on the same subject!).

Old Makondo
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted June 7th, 2005, 1:01 pm

xanthuos wrote:Any time I right click on a link and select "open in new tab" it takes me to the new tab. I would like the tab to open in the background so that I can review it at my convenience. I did mess with some settings, but I didn't think I changed anything so that tabs no longer open in the background.

Can anyone offer a suggestion on how to resolve the problem? Thanks.

TM Options/General tab/Tab Focus. Check to see that all boxes are unchecked. Also, in about:config type focus and check if extensions.tabmix.focusTab is 3.

SignOfEth
 
Posts: 11
Joined: June 12th, 2005, 8:49 am
Location: NYC

Post Posted June 12th, 2005, 8:55 am

I just discovered this great extension, but the current build in v1.0.4 for OSX breaks two things: "New Tab" from the File menu and cmd-clicking on a link to open in a new tab. If I disable Tab Mix both of those problems disappear. Is there a workaround via the prefs somehow?

kaijnn
 
Posts: 6
Joined: June 13th, 2005, 2:17 pm

Post Posted June 13th, 2005, 2:20 pm

Using Tab Mix 0.2.1 I've set Shift-Click on a tab to close the tab.

This is not working. What is happenging is if I Shift-Click anywhere in the tab-bar area it closes the active tab, with no regard to which tab I'm actually shift-clicking on.

CPU

User avatar
 
Posts: 624
Joined: August 13th, 2004, 4:22 pm
Location: Houston, Texas

Post Posted June 13th, 2005, 3:12 pm

yes this is a bug, it is set to close teh current tab, in my tabmix plus 0.2.3 i have fixed the problem :D
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8) Gecko/20051114 Firefox/1.5 - Build ID: 2005111403

kaijnn
 
Posts: 6
Joined: June 13th, 2005, 2:17 pm

Post Posted June 13th, 2005, 4:35 pm

CPU wrote:yes this is a bug, it is set to close teh current tab, in my tabmix plus 0.2.3 i have fixed the problem :D
Very cool.

Where would one find revisions newer than 0.2.1 ?

fuscia

User avatar
 
Posts: 1592
Joined: December 17th, 2004, 10:45 am

Post Posted June 13th, 2005, 6:19 pm

i just realized that using an up, right mouse gesture switches tabs. is this tab mix, mouse gestures or a combination of both?

Return to Extension Development


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests