MozillaZine

MenuManipulator 20140526

Talk about add-ons and extension development.
Mickey73

User avatar
 
Posts: 26
Joined: March 4th, 2006, 12:16 pm
Location: Toronto

Post Posted March 6th, 2006, 10:04 am

It worked, thank you very much. I've been using FireFox for just over a week now, and let me say, the added extensions make it sooooooooo sweet. And I love the support provided everywhere, people do love to help. I can't find such support for IE, and forget about extra features using extensions.
The only set back, for me, withe FireFox, is how long it takes to load. I know I have lots of extras, but it was slow even when I first installed it. The only good thing about IE, is how fast it fires up.

gdixith
 
Posts: 43
Joined: March 8th, 2006, 1:49 am
Location: India

Post Posted March 8th, 2006, 2:09 am

<a href="http://imageshack.us"><img src="http://img56.imageshack.us/img56/2503/menumanipulator0hw.jpg" border="0" width="607" alt="Image Hosted by ImageShack.us" /></a>

here is my MM window
I don't understand the problem
Even I tried in new profile and re-insalling FF
But problem exists

Any idea?

dorando
 
Posts: 1203
Joined: January 9th, 2004, 9:57 am

Post Posted March 10th, 2006, 3:56 am

Anything in the JavaScript Console (set javascript.options.showInConsole to true in about:config)?
Support mozilla.dorando.at through donations/contributions.

gdixith
 
Posts: 43
Joined: March 8th, 2006, 1:49 am
Location: India

Post Posted March 11th, 2006, 8:12 pm

@dorando

Thankz But not worked
anything else

dorando
 
Posts: 1203
Joined: January 9th, 2004, 9:57 am

Post Posted March 12th, 2006, 5:17 am

It is considerable hard to investigate a problem if the were no errors reported in Tools > JavaScript Console, but you could try to disable (right click > Disable) other extensions to see if there is a conflict.
Support mozilla.dorando.at through donations/contributions.

gdixith
 
Posts: 43
Joined: March 8th, 2006, 1:49 am
Location: India

Post Posted March 14th, 2006, 4:34 am

Many Many Thanks':D'
Very Happy dorando

Finally I got it

Crtl Tab Preview is conflicting with Manu manipulator

I have 53 extensions so it was so hard to identify which extension is conflicting with MM

Thanks once again for your help

dorando
 
Posts: 1203
Joined: January 9th, 2004, 9:57 am

Post Posted March 15th, 2006, 1:23 am

As posted before this is due to a core bug. This is a good example of why it is important to correctly follow published web standards (<a href="http://msdn.microsoft.com/workshop/author/dhtml/reference/methods/getattribute.asp">MSDN</a> at least notes the incorrect implementation in IE, the <a href="http://developer.mozilla.org/en/docs/index.php?title=DOM:element.getAttribute&oldid=21774">Gecko DOM Reference</a> doesn't do that).

gdixith
 
Posts: 43
Joined: March 8th, 2006, 1:49 am
Location: India

Post Posted March 15th, 2006, 5:41 am

thanks
and sorry for posting without reading previous discussions

shawn^

User avatar
 
Posts: 193
Joined: November 20th, 2005, 1:26 am

Post Posted March 19th, 2006, 8:04 pm

Hi.

I was prompted to update my extension to 20060319.0.1 which I did. Now it keeps prompting me to update it to 20060319.1.0.

But whenever I select ok and restart it doesn't update and I'm still prompted to update.

Any ideas.

********
 
Posts: 947
Joined: August 24th, 2005, 12:23 pm

Post Posted March 19th, 2006, 8:48 pm

shawn^ wrote:Hi.

I was prompted to update my extension to 20060319.0.1 which I did. Now it keeps prompting me to update it to 20060319.1.0.

But whenever I select ok and restart it doesn't update and I'm still prompted to update.

Any ideas.


confirmed.

it's because dorando made a typo in his update.xml feed for update notifications.
he typed 1.0 instead of 0.1
a little mistake, no big deal, it'll be fixed soon.

dorando
 
Posts: 1203
Joined: January 9th, 2004, 9:57 am

Post Posted March 20th, 2006, 2:03 am

Thanks for reporting it, should be fixed now.

Will Pittenger

User avatar
 
Posts: 620
Joined: April 3rd, 2005, 6:10 pm
Location: Morton, IL

Post Posted March 21st, 2006, 11:53 pm

My menu changes are constantly resetting. Any ideas why? What is the point of having an extension to change your menus if those changes won't stick?
Will Pittenger

Will Pittenger

User avatar
 
Posts: 620
Joined: April 3rd, 2005, 6:10 pm
Location: Morton, IL

Post Posted March 21st, 2006, 11:59 pm

Wishlist (not including the item listed immediately above which is 10 times more important than these):

* WYSIWYG -- editing in the actual menus. Presumably we would need restore points in case we wanted to revert to an older version. See next item. This option would be enabled only while a special window is open. Closing the window causes the menus to operate normally.

* Restore points -- for in case the changes are worse that what you started with and Resetting a menu does not restore the menus to what you want

* Item properties -- Rather than having to know all the various tags, it would be better if there was a properties window available that would list all options. Options like Hidden would be represented as a checkbox. Something like Label would be a text box.

* In the existing editor, having it remember whether items are collapse or expanded would help. Currently, if you restart MenuManipulator, it forgets that.
Will Pittenger

iBoRDarU
 
Posts: 23
Joined: October 17th, 2004, 2:53 am

Post Posted March 22nd, 2006, 1:33 am

@ Will Pittenger

I completely agree with the wishlist. Those are exactly what is going to make MenuManipulator a very robust extension.

@ dorando
Keep up the good work.

dorando
 
Posts: 1203
Joined: January 9th, 2004, 9:57 am

Post Posted March 23rd, 2006, 1:17 am

Will Pittenger wrote:My menu changes are constantly resetting. Any ideas why? What is the point of having an extension to change your menus if those changes won't stick?
Which Application and which version (for both application and extension), also are there any errors in Tools > JavaScript Console (set javascript.options.showInConsole in about:config)?

Will Pittenger wrote:* WYSIWYG -- editing in the actual menus. Presumably we would need restore points in case we wanted to revert to an older version. See next item. This option would be enabled only while a special window is open. Closing the window causes the menus to operate normally.
Live editing would require major changes and might be problematic to implement. I'll look into it at a later time.

Will Pittenger wrote:* Restore points -- for in case the changes are worse that what you started with and Resetting a menu does not restore the menus to what you want
I'll consider it once I've added the ability to save the MenuManipulator changeset outside prefs.js.

Will Pittenger wrote:* Item properties -- Rather than having to know all the various tags, it would be better if there was a properties window available that would list all options. Options like Hidden would be represented as a checkbox. Something like Label would be a text box.
Setting some common attributes will be simplified in a future version, but listing all possible attributes wouldn't be possible as any attribute would be valid (but likely hasn't any effect, unless there are any styles targeting it).

Will Pittenger wrote:* In the existing editor, having it remember whether items are collapse or expanded would help. Currently, if you restart MenuManipulator, it forgets that.
On my todo list.

Return to Extension Development


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests