MozillaZine


SeaFox - Development

Talk about add-ons and extension development.
patrickjdempsey

User avatar
 
Posts: 23734
Joined: October 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am
Location: Asheville NC

Post Posted September 29th, 2015, 3:36 pm

I made a thread at dev.apps.seamonkey to see if I can get anyone else to reproduce this issue. It's not ABP and it's not the name of the file. :(
https://groups.google.com/forum/#!topic ... HSFn3PbNmk
Tip of the day: If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.
What my avatar is about: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/sea-fox/

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 20887
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted September 30th, 2015, 4:43 am

Somewhat bizarrely, SeaFox seems to be messing up the Speed Dial extension. Without it, press the New Tab buttons (either of them) and the Speed Dial page comes up with addressbar blank and focused. This is expected behaviour.

With SeaFox, just about:blank comes up. You can, sort of, get round it by pointing the Home button to chrome://speeddial/content/speeddial.xul, but you don't, obviously, get a blank and focused addressbar.
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

patrickjdempsey

User avatar
 
Posts: 23734
Joined: October 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am
Location: Asheville NC

Post Posted September 30th, 2015, 10:53 am

I'll look into it. Never used any of those kinds of extensions.

Edit: is this a "converted" extension? Or is there a SeaMonkey version of it somewhere? Another thing I haven't messed with at all is converting extensions.
Tip of the day: If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.
What my avatar is about: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/sea-fox/

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 20887
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted September 30th, 2015, 10:58 am

patrickjdempsey wrote:I'll look into it. Never used any of those kinds of extensions.

Edit: is this a "converted" extension? Or is there a SeaMonkey version of it somewhere? Another thing I haven't messed with at all is converting extensions.

Here it is, not converted -

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... src=search
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

patrickjdempsey

User avatar
 
Posts: 23734
Joined: October 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am
Location: Asheville NC

Post Posted September 30th, 2015, 11:03 am

Also, something to note here: SeaMonkey does not support browser.newtab.URL by default and Firefox also just recently in the last version dropped this feature. SeaFox adds browser.newtab.URL functionality to SeaMonkey. If you are using the most recent version of Speed Dial, it also likely is attempting to restore this functionality, so there is very likely a conflict and when you are dealing with two extensions that are probably attempting to do the exact same thing.
Tip of the day: If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.
What my avatar is about: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/sea-fox/

patrickjdempsey

User avatar
 
Posts: 23734
Joined: October 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am
Location: Asheville NC

Post Posted September 30th, 2015, 12:53 pm

I was able to install Speed Dial from here: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-us/firefo ... peed-dial/ but I cannot get it to work with SeaFox enabled at all.

I do think I finally made head-way with loading global.css. Instead of loading it as a skin in chrome.manifest, I've added an XUL overlay and am loading it as a stylesheet from the overlay. So far so good. The failing of skins in chrome.manifest is upsetting though, that really shouldn't happen.
Tip of the day: If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.
What my avatar is about: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/sea-fox/

patrickjdempsey

User avatar
 
Posts: 23734
Joined: October 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am
Location: Asheville NC

Post Posted September 30th, 2015, 2:05 pm

patrickjdempsey wrote:I was able to install Speed Dial from here: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-us/firefo ... peed-dial/ but I cannot get it to work with SeaFox enabled at all.


OK. Finally got SpeedDial working... you have to have browser.tabs.loadOnNewTab set to a value other than zero or -1 for it to work. This is because SeaFox activates it's browser.newtab.URL feature when that is set to 0. I'll look into seeing if I can detect SpeedDial and override SeaFox when it's running.

Edit: Got it squared. SeaFox will disable it's browser.newtab.URL support when A: it detects the presence of SpeedDial, and B: when extensions.speeddial.loadInNewTab is set to true. No need to mess with browser.tabs.loadOnNewTab.

I also fixed a case where when browser.newtab.URL is blank the urlbar would not get focus on creation of the new tab.
Tip of the day: If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.
What my avatar is about: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/sea-fox/

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 20887
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted September 30th, 2015, 3:15 pm

patrickjdempsey wrote:Edit: Got it squared. SeaFox will disable it's browser.newtab.URL support when A: it detects the presence of SpeedDial, and B: when extensions.speeddial.loadInNewTab is set to true. No need to mess with browser.tabs.loadOnNewTab.

I also fixed a case where when browser.newtab.URL is blank the urlbar would not get focus on creation of the new tab.

Good. I think it's important to support this one. Many Firefox users like the idea of the New Tab page (which is effectively the old Oprah Speed Dial). Indeed they liked it so much that Firefox knew they could get away with putting ads in it, i.e. they knew people wouldn't stop using it, like they would Tab Groups or something.

Being Firefox, like a dog with a bone, they still wouldn't leave it alone and added Search and now these latest changes and many people now dislike it. Point is, FF users coming to SM will appreciate having the original New Tab page, which together with SeaFox and even my changes in the Awesome Bar layout, will give them back what they actually wanted before it all hit the fan.

Needless to say, I've already styled it, didn't need much. Just background and fancy stuff on its grid.
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

patrickjdempsey

User avatar
 
Posts: 23734
Joined: October 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am
Location: Asheville NC

Post Posted September 30th, 2015, 3:28 pm

Well now that Firefox devs have killed off newtab.URL, it's more important than ever.

I've also "fixed" Exalm's complaint about the all tabs button on Linux. Although now it's possible other themes may suffer from this on Linux. In extension styling, it's not really possible to absolutely segregate the default theme from other 3rd party themes.
Tip of the day: If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.
What my avatar is about: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/sea-fox/

patrickjdempsey

User avatar
 
Posts: 23734
Joined: October 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am
Location: Asheville NC

Post Posted September 30th, 2015, 4:26 pm

New version is up. I'm doing these quick fix versions because I don't know when I'll have to time to sit down and really dig into a big new version and do all of the required testing in themes etc.
Tip of the day: If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.
What my avatar is about: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/sea-fox/

LuvKomputrs

User avatar
 
Posts: 656
Joined: June 9th, 2010, 8:15 am

Post Posted September 30th, 2015, 8:52 pm

Having some minor issues with the newest version of SeaFox 0.4.4
Hide SeaMonkey features: Mail, Editor, Addressbook, Web Navigation bar.
extensions.seafox.components.disable;true
I also use Classic Toolbar Buttons and a Persona theme that I also use with Firefox.
Tried disabling Seafox and enabling SeaFox and also tried a fresh install of SeaFox.
Didn't have the issue with earlier versions of SeaFox.
Was also wondering if other people are having this issue? :-k
Also wanted to say, Thank You Patrick for making such an EXCELLENT add-on to use with SeaMonkey. :)

patrickjdempsey

User avatar
 
Posts: 23734
Joined: October 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am
Location: Asheville NC

Post Posted October 1st, 2015, 12:00 am

What exactly is your issue? Is that feature not working? Update to 0.4.5 and if the problem is still there, give me a clear description.

Also, I do not guarantee anything to be compatible with CTB. There are now several themes that work with SeaMonkey so I don't see any point in using that.
Tip of the day: If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.
What my avatar is about: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/sea-fox/

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 20887
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted October 1st, 2015, 3:47 am

LuvKomputrs wrote:Was also wondering if other people are having this issue? :-k

Nope. The extensions.seafox.components.disable entry is doing as expected when toggled to true/false here.

I'm using version 0.4.5, but it was OK on the previous version as well.
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

LuvKomputrs

User avatar
 
Posts: 656
Joined: June 9th, 2010, 8:15 am

Post Posted October 1st, 2015, 8:17 am

patrickjdempsey wrote:What exactly is your issue? Is that feature not working? Update to 0.4.5 and if the problem is still there, give me a clear description.

Also, I do not guarantee anything to be compatible with CTB. There are now several themes that work with SeaMonkey so I don't see any point in using that.

Part of that feature wasn't fully working with 0.4.4. Updated to 0.4.5 and the problem is now gone. :)
CTB is also working fine. :)

LuvKomputrs

User avatar
 
Posts: 656
Joined: June 9th, 2010, 8:15 am

Post Posted October 1st, 2015, 8:30 am

Frank Lion wrote:Nope. The extensions.seafox.components.disable entry is doing as expected when toggled to true/false here.

I'm using version 0.4.5, but it was OK on the previous version as well.

Good to know. :)
This just happened to me temporarily.
Still not sure as to precisely why. :?
Did notice it didn't happen with version 2.35 of SeaMonkey.
Perhaps a temporary glitch with version 2.38? :-k
Working fine for me now. :)

Return to Extension Development


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest