MozillaZine

No SourceURL with drop Fragment

Talk about add-ons and extension development.
jimekus
 
Posts: 2
Joined: November 18th, 2017, 12:24 pm

Post Posted November 18th, 2017, 12:39 pm

My software schedules the scrapping of effective text and monitors for duplicates from numerous websites before pasting articles to TextAloud. When my startup macros DragDrop a small fragment from the Quantum browser to my software I previously got the actual SourceURL. The actual extraction of the fragment's data is:-

Site = StrConv(data.GetData(RegisterClipboardFormat("HTML Format")), vbUnicode)

All I get now is:-
SourceURL:chrome://browser/content/browser.xul

In fact this may not be a bug at all and just another in a long list of speed gains by wholesale deprications in which case i must investigate a lot of other browsers to find one that supports this function. Edge certainly doesn't as it doesn't have a drop pointer to see where it should go.

I can't use Firefox Quantum because of this.

What I get with Quantum is : -

Version:0.9
StartHTML:00000145
EndHTML:00000232
StartFragment:00000179
EndFragment:00000196
SourceURL:chrome://browser/content/browser.xul
<html><body>
<!--StartFragment-->November 16, 2017<!--EndFragment-->
</body>
</html>

What I used to get with 56.0.2 is:-

Version:0.9
StartHTML:00000147
EndHTML:00000234
StartFragment:00000181
EndFragment:00000198
SourceURL:https://www.counterpunch.org/articles/
<html><body>
<!--StartFragment-->November 16, 2017<!--EndFragment-->
</body>
</html>

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3894
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted November 19th, 2017, 3:36 am

no bug - its a feature.

now you experienced the trouble why some extensions authors dropped the towel because of webextensions.
extensions are not from mozilla - it falls to author himself to update his code - so you do.
https://developer.mozilla.org/

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 120605
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted November 19th, 2017, 5:15 am

Moving to Extension Development where those with knowledge on the subject may be more likely to see this and respond.

morat
 
Posts: 2955
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted November 19th, 2017, 7:49 am

I tested the copy feature with the InsideClipboard utility. It works correctly with Firefox 57.

http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/inside_clipboard.html

I guess the DragDrop feature uses different code.

Bug writing guidelines
http://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs ... guidelines

jimekus
 
Posts: 2
Joined: November 18th, 2017, 12:24 pm

Post Posted November 19th, 2017, 1:01 pm

morat wrote:I tested the copy feature with the InsideClipboard utility. It works correctly with Firefox 57.

http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/inside_clipboard.html

I guess the DragDrop feature uses different code.

Bug writing guidelines
http://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs ... guidelines


Windows Defender blocks InsideClipboard.exe as a threat. After getting it running there's no way to drag and drop the selection. You may have some classic extension or plugin that I don't to enable the OLE Drag Drop function. I already figured it may not be a bug at all and just another in a long list of speed gains by wholesale deprications, Yesterday i investigated a lot of other browsers and found Chrome supports my needed function. I've programmed around Mosaic to Netscape to Firefox. I'm sorry, but now it's time to say, "Goodbye".

Return to Extension Development


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests