MozillaZine

New: CuteMenus

Talk about add-ons and extension development.
nexx

User avatar
 
Posts: 736
Joined: July 29th, 2003, 1:23 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Post Posted November 23rd, 2003, 7:48 pm

rue wrote:What's New: all menus are wrapped in Nexx's OfficeXP skin...


Cool :D

i've updated the menu code to fix a problem where disabled sub-menus were being highlighted ( there's none in firebird, but there is in thunderbird and some firebird extensions).

so instead of:
Code: Select all
menuitem[disabled="true"][_moz-menuactive="true"] {
border: 1px solid transparent !important;
background: transparent !important;
color: GrayText !important;
}


Use:
Code: Select all
menubar > menu[disabled="true"][_moz-menuactive="true"],
menupopup > menu[disabled="true"][_moz-menuactive="true"],
menupopup > menuitem[disabled="true"][_moz-menuactive="true"],
menuitem[disabled="true"][_moz-menuactive="true"] {
   border: 1px solid transparent !important;
   background: transparent !important;
   color: GrayText !important;
}


Good luck and thanks for this extension :)

rue
 
Posts: 673
Joined: June 10th, 2003, 2:20 pm

Post Posted November 23rd, 2003, 8:55 pm

Nexx:
Done.
.
Since no-one's complained, I'll let the version number stand.

Flexer
 
Posts: 149
Joined: September 25th, 2003, 6:19 am
Location: Bulgaria

Post Posted November 24th, 2003, 8:25 am

HemiolaSUN wrote:it's great! but it works only on my pop-up context menus but not the menus in the toolbar...
is it because of my local language version (trad. chinese) of firebird? or my old windows ME?
thanks

HemiolaSUN, yes currently all menuitems that don't have id`s are beeing searched by label on english, you can btw translate the searched strings if you edit the cutemenus.xul

I agree these office XP menus look great with CuteMenus :) I'll recomment them on cute.mozdev.org

HemiolaSUN
 
Posts: 162
Joined: November 21st, 2003, 1:45 am
Location: Taiwan

Post Posted November 24th, 2003, 10:51 am

rue wrote:Hemiola:
Oh, actually that's easily explained: many menuitems don't have id's, so CuteMenus looks at labels to apply the correct icon.
.
To handle this across languages, all possible labels have to be accounted for. Right now, it's just english.


thank you rue! i have modified the .xul file so that it works in my firebird now !!

y3k

User avatar
 
Posts: 2279
Joined: March 7th, 2003, 2:33 pm
Location: London

Post Posted November 24th, 2003, 11:40 am

can i have the option of not using the officeXP style? last thing i want to see when i get home :wink:
[ ♦ Win7 Firefox 19 ♦ PowerUser ♦ ]

rue
 
Posts: 673
Joined: June 10th, 2003, 2:20 pm

Post Posted November 24th, 2003, 6:22 pm

y3k:
I suppose you can :P
.
I've silently landed a menu-option for enabling the skin. It's default-enabled (since I still think it's rad). Update from the <a href="http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?t=33787&start=105#273844">previous links</a>.

TychoQuad
 
Posts: 1263
Joined: December 11th, 2002, 12:30 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted November 26th, 2003, 2:27 am

the right edge of the icons is a bit too close to the edge of the Office XP "icon holder". Is there anything you can do about that? it's kinda annoying

Paradox52525

User avatar
 
Posts: 1219
Joined: April 23rd, 2003, 9:13 am
Location: Middle of nowhere

Post Posted November 26th, 2003, 10:03 am

The only problem I have with the officeXP style menus is that if you notice, it gets applied to tooltips too. I'm having a similar problem with Soundextension right now. I have a soundevent for menu popups, and it plays whenever a tooltip appears as well. Does Firebird distinguish between the two at all? If so, is there a decent way to test and see if a particular menu popup is a menu or a tooltip?

rue
 
Posts: 673
Joined: June 10th, 2003, 2:20 pm

Post Posted November 26th, 2003, 6:06 pm

CuteMenus v.3.2 (+Transparency): <a href="http://adblock.mozdev.org/cutemenus/cutemenus-03-dev.xpi">Installer</a>, and <a href="http://adblock.mozdev.org/cutemenus/cutemenus.jar">jar-file</a>.

What's New: disabled icons are shown transparent. Nexx's OfficeXP skin is now optional (with improved css). A theme-directory is installed with the jar -- any icon-jars or folders placed inside are automatically detected.
.
As before: pop the context-menu, then hold shift and move to configure.
.
(original is <a href="http://cute.mozdev.org">here</a>)

y3k

User avatar
 
Posts: 2279
Joined: March 7th, 2003, 2:33 pm
Location: London

Post Posted November 26th, 2003, 9:07 pm

using 3.2 reproducable crash, default options, highlight help and move along to go. crashes
[ ♦ Win7 Firefox 19 ♦ PowerUser ♦ ]

rue
 
Posts: 673
Joined: June 10th, 2003, 2:20 pm

Post Posted November 26th, 2003, 11:42 pm

Alright- I guess the transparency bug gets worse for newer browsers.
.
I found a workaround under moz1.3.1: only setting it for elements which are verifiably rendered. So much for that -- I'll downgrade the posted build.

mozDude

User avatar
 
Posts: 228
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 1:34 pm
Location: ¢A, u$a

Post Posted November 28th, 2003, 12:30 pm

A couple of notes:
* In Office XP, checkboxe/radio button menus (hovering) are handled differently.
* a bit of right-padding is need for icons
* menu border seems too thick(2px). Looks ok (1px) in screenshots posted in forum though. I am using version 0.3.2


Nice work...keep it up!

John Liebson
 
Posts: 6243
Joined: July 29th, 2003, 1:09 pm

Post Posted November 28th, 2003, 1:44 pm

rue wrote:CuteMenus v.3.2 (+Transparency): <a href="http://adblock.mozdev.org/cutemenus/cutemenus-03-dev.xpi">Installer</a>, and <a href="http://adblock.mozdev.org/cutemenus/cutemenus.jar">jar-file</a>.

What's New: disabled icons are shown transparent. Nexx's OfficeXP skin is now optional (with improved css). A theme-directory is installed with the jar -- any icon-jars or folders placed inside are automatically detected.
.
As before: pop the context-menu, then hold shift and move to configure.
.
(original is <a href="http://cute.mozdev.org">here</a>)


Will this work with the newer nightlies that changed widgets to bindings, or some such arcane language?

[EDIT] I realized a short while ago that I could create a new profile and use it to test extensions, so that if one or more fouled things up, I'd not lose my working profile. So, I installed all of these:

Tabbrowser Extensions
ChromEdit 0.0.4.5
mozex 1.07
QuickNote 0.4pre3
User Agent Switcher 0.3
Image Zoomer
CuteMenus v0.3
Bookmark Backup 0.2
mozilla google toolbar
IE View 0.6

I already knew that TBE needed to be patched, and I was pleasantly surprised to find that all the others work fine in their current renditions, all being used with Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.6b) Gecko/20031128 Firebird/0.7+.
Last edited by John Liebson on November 29th, 2003, 12:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

arch

User avatar
 
Posts: 85
Joined: May 4th, 2003, 8:58 am

Post Posted November 28th, 2003, 2:52 pm

I have made few extra backgrounds for menus, default OfficeXP skin should be changed to match Office 2003. Look first screenshot. It's a bit faded -> looks better :)

Image
http://www.hsd-capital.com/ropa/moz/menuback.gif

And few of my own: :)

Image
http://www.hsd-capital.com/ropa/moz/menubackBlue.gif

Image
http://www.hsd-capital.com/ropa/moz/menubackGreyFade.gif

Image
http://www.hsd-capital.com/ropa/moz/menubackGrey.gif

Feel free to use them or add to Cutemenus :)
"No good deed goes ever unpunished"
http://archonon.sytes.net

naylor83

User avatar
 
Posts: 325
Joined: September 11th, 2003, 4:04 am
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

Post Posted November 28th, 2003, 5:41 pm

OK... I've got a bunch of <a href="http://home.student.uu.se/dana3949/doodle/">Doodle</a> icons sitting here, ready to be used in Cutemenus. Is it possible for me to skin Cutemenus? If it isn't, I think it would be great if it were possible! I have tried, but it doesn't seem to work.

Great extension! :crazyeyes:

Return to Extension Development


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests