MozillaZine

Spell Checker for Firebird

Talk about add-ons and extension development.
autumnriver
 
Posts: 257
Joined: December 5th, 2002, 1:45 pm

Post Posted November 18th, 2003, 9:23 pm

James,

Thanks. It seems to work OK now.

lynchknot
 
Posts: 6253
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 7:36 pm

Post Posted November 18th, 2003, 9:29 pm

James wrote:Just a thought... *scratches head*

Did you install that first experimental version that Torisugari first posted in the first post in the same Nov.9 build your using now, as the first spell checker was very crashy for me, as Firebird would shut down each time.


I installed this first: http://mozcafe.com/xpi/spellchecker_1.5a.xpi then I went to the first page and tried all the links there.

zengiman

User avatar
 
Posts: 145
Joined: January 8th, 2003, 5:28 am
Location: Amsterdam

Post Posted November 19th, 2003, 5:52 am

Wow it works.
Brilliant! Finally I'm a 100% Firebird men.( Sorry K-Meleon... ).

c∂n

User avatar
 
Posts: 700
Joined: June 28th, 2003, 8:31 am
Location: Longitude 0ish

Post Posted November 19th, 2003, 6:38 am

zengiman wrote:Wow it works.
Brilliant! Finally I'm a 100% Firebird men.( Sorry K-Meleon... ).


that would make you zengimen then ?

or did you mean you were/are a 100% Firebird man ?

zengiman

User avatar
 
Posts: 145
Joined: January 8th, 2003, 5:28 am
Location: Amsterdam

Post Posted November 19th, 2003, 11:08 am

c∂n wrote:
zengiman wrote:Wow it works.
Brilliant! Finally I'm a 100% Firebird men.( Sorry K-Meleon... ).


that would make you zengimen then ?

or did you mean you were/are a 100% Firebird man ?


Hmm, spellchecker does not solve all my problems apparently....(he, I can use words like apparently now)

Nos402
 
Posts: 130
Joined: November 5th, 2003, 11:26 pm

Post Posted November 19th, 2003, 11:14 am

Excellent work! This was the final thing that I was really missing in Firebird. My only suggestion for the future would be for the spellchecker to ignore any code such as links. IESpell somehow ignores any code written in the field.

Torisugari
 
Posts: 1634
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 8:34 pm
Location: Kyoto, Nippon (GMT +9)

Post Posted November 20th, 2003, 3:48 am

TychoQuad wrote:This is a screenshot of Trillian Pro's spell checker in action. as you can see in the text entry box at the bottom, there are horribly misplelt words, and those words have a squigilly line underneath them. you can also see a right-click menu. this menu appeared when i clicked on the mispelled word "doo" and has the suggestions for the word at the top of the menu. I am requesting that this be added to your spell checker plugin.

Many apps these days spell check "in line" or as you type like this these days, including Microsoft Office, OpenOffice.org and of course, Trillian Pro. To be perfectly honest, I really can't be bothered spell checking entire documents, and it's really handy becuase it tells my i've mispelt an important word, and i can correct it. It also means i don't have to go through every word in a long document which may contain slang or URL's


Thank you for the screen shot. I understood about squiggly line things, but "in line" is not clear to me yet. Maybe you should file a RFE bug in bugzilla, because I didn't touch spellchecker itself. My extension only calls it from contextmenu. To be honest, too, I have never used any kind of spell checker except this extension, because there's no checker for the Japanese sentence. This is useful to me only on posting here.

Image
http://cgi29.plala.or.jp/~mozzarel/addo ... e0_4_0.xpi

irkregent
 
Posts: 176
Joined: July 15th, 2003, 9:04 am

Post Posted November 20th, 2003, 8:16 am

Today's 0.4 release consistently crashes Firebird for me (Windows 2000, aebrahim's G6-optimized 2003-11-18 build).

sboulema
 
Posts: 6615
Joined: May 20th, 2003, 12:34 am
Location: Amstelveen, The Netherlands

Post Posted November 20th, 2003, 8:29 am

is there a way to save the dictionaries after you have added words? i would like to backup them for if i have to install firebird again or upgrade. and the fornt end 0.4 works great for me

Torisugari
 
Posts: 1634
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 8:34 pm
Location: Kyoto, Nippon (GMT +9)

Post Posted November 20th, 2003, 9:03 am

sboulema wrote:is there a way to save the dictionaries after you have added words? i would like to backup them for if i have to install firebird again or upgrade.

I think they are stored in %profile%\persdict.dat.

sboulema
 
Posts: 6615
Joined: May 20th, 2003, 12:34 am
Location: Amstelveen, The Netherlands

Post Posted November 20th, 2003, 9:07 am

Torisugari wrote:
sboulema wrote:is there a way to save the dictionaries after you have added words? i would like to backup them for if i have to install firebird again or upgrade.

I think they are stored in %profile%\persdict.dat.


yep youre right :D Thanks.

sboulema
 
Posts: 6615
Joined: May 20th, 2003, 12:34 am
Location: Amstelveen, The Netherlands

Post Posted November 20th, 2003, 3:34 pm

got the bug i was talking earlier again. took some time to show, it did it more often in the older versions.
made a screenshot so you can see it. basically its that the spellchecker gives an suggestion which is exact the same as the word that is marked as incorrect spelled, and the replace buttons are greyed out.

Image

Michael Scherer
 
Posts: 2
Joined: November 20th, 2003, 3:10 pm

Post Posted November 20th, 2003, 4:43 pm

I had some problems with version 0.4.0 (Windows 2000, Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.0; en-US; rv:1.6b) Gecko/20031116 Firebird/0.7+). The following text caused an infinite loop in function HighlightMissspelledWord():

Code: Select all
test djflkdslf
 
test


Using another method to apply the HTML code for highlighting the misspelled words seems to solve it:

Code: Select all
function HighlightMissspelledWord()
{
    // Needed by setCSSInlineProperty
    var aserv=Components.classes["@mozilla.org/atom-service;1"].
        getService(Components.interfaces.nsIAtomService);
 
    gMisspelledWord = gSpellChecker.GetNextMisspelledWord();
    gEditor.beginTransaction();
    while(gMisspelledWord){
        // Old:
        //gEditor.insertHTML("<span style=\"border=solid;
        //        text-decoration:underline;color:red;\">"+gMisspelledWord+"</span>");
 
        // New:
        gEditor.setCSSInlineProperty(aserv.getAtom("span") , "style" ,
                "text-decoration:underline;color:red;" );
 
        gMisspelledWord = gSpellChecker.GetNextMisspelledWord();
    }
    gEditor.endTransaction();
    RecheckEditor();
    NextWord();
}


In order to get it working, I had to change one line in startup():
Code: Select all
gEditorElement.makeEditable('html',false);  // changed first argument from 'htmlmail' to 'html'


The source is downloadable from http://www.schereronline.net/files/spellcheckerfe.jar. I haven't encountered any implications so far, but may have overlooked something important.

Thanks for providing such a valuable extension.

@sboulema: I don't think it's a bug. There are simply no appropriate alternatives in the dictionary which could be suggested. The buttons are enabled again after changing the 'replace with' text field.

sboulema
 
Posts: 6615
Joined: May 20th, 2003, 12:34 am
Location: Amstelveen, The Netherlands

Post Posted November 21st, 2003, 1:11 am

@sboulema: I don't think it's a bug. There are simply no appropriate alternatives in the dictionary which could be suggested. The buttons are enabled again after changing the 'replace with' text field.


hmm ok that sounds logic. why didnt i thought of that :S

TychoQuad
 
Posts: 1263
Joined: December 11th, 2002, 12:30 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted November 21st, 2003, 2:08 am

Torisugari wrote:Thank you for the screen shot. I understood about squiggly line things, but "in line" is not clear to me yet.


All i meant by in line, is that it tells you what's a spelling mistake without having to bring up another dialog. I'm not really going to go out of my way to spell check, but if words tell me thier wrong, i'll fix them.

Return to Extension Development


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests