MozillaZine

MR Tech's Local Install 4.6.4 (4-20-06)

Talk about add-ons and extension development.
mrtech

User avatar
 
Posts: 2007
Joined: May 15th, 2003, 7:46 am
Location: New York

Post Posted April 26th, 2006, 11:29 pm

just an FYI the mothership has landed.....

#329045 [Firefox:Extension/Theme Manager]-Firefox 2.0 Extension Manager user interface update [All]

This should be available in the hourly 3.0 trunk builds, checking now....

if not it should be there very soon on the download mirrors:
cairo: http://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.org/ ... ius-trunk/
non-cairo: http://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.org/ ... ica-trunk/
mel reyes • mrtech.com • BlogPlaxoLinkedInTwitter
Support mrtech.com get our toolbar

mrtech

User avatar
 
Posts: 2007
Joined: May 15th, 2003, 7:46 am
Location: New York

Post Posted April 27th, 2006, 12:22 am

omg, I have a long road ahead of me...... wish me luck, so far I've hammered away about 5-6 showstoppers. I'm posting this en-US dev version for folks who REALLY can't live without 3.0. This is FAR from fixing all the new EM/TM 2.0 issues, but at least you can open them up without massive errors, good luck....

http://www.mrtech.com/extensions/local_ ... _build.xpi

please don't post bugs or issues with this build, it's only a temporary bandaid on a sliced artery.
mel reyes • mrtech.com • BlogPlaxoLinkedInTwitter
Support mrtech.com get our toolbar

share666
 
Posts: 116
Joined: September 2nd, 2004, 6:49 pm

Post Posted April 27th, 2006, 4:49 am

I installed jsview and then decided to uninstall it. I noticed when I went to local install found "jsview-1.0.7-fx.xpi" at the top with an MRTech icon. I have never had this issue before. I found the entry in several files but did not remove them (well I tried and screwed things up -- glad I backed up). What should I do to remove these entries for an extension I no longer have? Thanks.


localstore.rdf

<RDF:Description RDF:about="chrome://mozapps/content/extensions/extensions.xul?type=extensions#extensionsView"
last-selected="file:///C:/DOWNLOAD/jsview-1.0.7-fx.xpi" />


menuedit.rdf

<NC:Menu RDF:about="http://home.netscape.com/NC-rdf#jsview-context-menu"
NC:Visibility="visible"
NC:Name="View External JS" />

<NC:Menuitem RDF:about="http://home.netscape.com/NC-rdf#jsview-options"
NC:Visibility="visible"
NC:Name="JSView Options" />


<NC:Menu RDF:about="http://home.netscape.com/NC-rdf#jsview-toolbar-menu"
NC:Visibility="visible"
NC:Name="External JS" />

extensions.rdf

<RDF:Description RDF:about="file:///C:/DOWNLOAD/jsview-1.0.7-fx.xpi"
NS1:name="1: jsview-1.0.7-fx.xpi"
NS1:version=" "
NS1:iconURL="chrome://local_install/content/icon.png"
NS1:downloadURL="file:///C:/DOWNLOAD/jsview-1.0.7-fx.xpi">
<NS1:type NC:parseType="Integer">2</NS1:type>
<NS1:state NC:parseType="Integer">2</NS1:state>
<NS1:progress NC:parseType="Integer">0</NS1:progress>


<RDF:li RDF:resource="file:///C:/DOWNLOAD/jsview-1.0.7-fx.xpi"/>

prefs.js

user_pref("jsview.clearTemp", false);
user_pref("jsview.disableContext", false);
user_pref("jsview.disableStatus", false);
user_pref("jsview.extapp", "C:\\Program Files\\NoteTab Pro\\NotePro.exe");
user_pref("jsview.openExternal", true);

mrtech

User avatar
 
Posts: 2007
Joined: May 15th, 2003, 7:46 am
Location: New York

Post Posted April 27th, 2006, 5:49 am

share666 wrote:I installed jsview and then decided to uninstall it. I noticed when I went to local install found "jsview-1.0.7-fx.xpi" at the top with an MRTech icon. I have never had this issue before. I found the entry in several files but did not remove them (well I tried and screwed things up -- glad I backed up). What should I do to remove these entries for an extension I no longer have? Thanks.


to clean up the extensions list check this posting:
http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?t=394723

I'll see if I can update it with how to clean up th others, but for now just reset you toolbar customizations.
mel reyes • mrtech.com • BlogPlaxoLinkedInTwitter
Support mrtech.com get our toolbar

mrtech

User avatar
 
Posts: 2007
Joined: May 15th, 2003, 7:46 am
Location: New York

Post Posted April 27th, 2006, 5:46 pm

4.6.4.050101 Dev Build Released
<li> Added: "Show Extension Directory" is now on the list of extensions to prompt to uninstall when you open the Extension manager window.
<li> Added: For Sunbird users "about:config" is now a toolbar icon
<li> Updated: Properly setting options tabs when no archive dirctory is set and user selects Archive from context menu
<li> Updated: Now hiding Nightly Tester Tool button image if hide default images settings is enabled
<li> Updated: about:plugins and about:config toolbar context menus now include recently added about: functions
<li> Updated: removed some unused Sunbird context menus till I get a chance to fix them, saving about 2k
<li> Fixed: Slight issue with supporting custom locale useragent in Disable XPI Delay install dialog
<li> Fixed: Theme switch was broken with older Firefox/Thunderbird 1.0.x & Netscape 8.x versions
<li> Fixed: Opening My Config to sidebar from the Extension/Theme Manager menu icon was not working if EM/TM was loaded in a window.
<li> Fixed: Text flicker on Extension install dialog if Nightly Tester Tools was installed also

Firefox 2.0 Addons (Extension/Thame) Manager:
50101 build fixes:
- Slimmode has landed :)
- Finished adding My Config button to Addons iconbar (should I remove this or remove the one in the Menubar?)
- Updated chrome.manifests for all locales for new Addons 2.0
- Added new string to properties file for nightly tester tool override extension version code for all locales
- Added new strings to main Local Install entity file to support changes made in Extension/Theme manager

To do:
- still need to refresh list if View filter is being used and switching between Extension and Theme lists
- try to force view for em or tm for both toolbar launch of openManager (currently got it to partially work with sidebar)
- need to disable unneeded Addons 2.0 preferences in Settings window

Firefox/Thunderbird 2.0 Addons (Extensions & Themes) Manager:
42801 build fixes:
- Archiving seems to be working just need to do some testing and will try to finally fix the multi-update issue that doesn't archive currently
- View menu now works again (enabled, disabled, etc)
- Extension installs now load in sidebar if sidebar is default window target
- Check for updates works again
- Extension/Theme counts in title window
- Find Updates window title code ignored/disabled since there is a new progress bar that opens up
- Enable/Disable All now works again (also changed a few things here)
- Hiding bottom button bar now works
- Hide new Install button and other button images too when preference is checked
- Hiding theme preview now works again
- Fixed a few 1.x regressions
- Small fix for Thunderbird trunk builds to open new addons window

42702 build:
- Make Compatible and Make All Compatible options now works again
- "Browse install directory" and "Copy Build ID" context menu options have been restored
- Removed menubar icons for Extensions/Themes the new iconbar does the trick ;)
- Sorting no longer needed, the list is always sorted, removed from Tools menu
- Removed/cleaned up several unneeded items from the backend code

42701 build:
- Now properly loading new Addons window and overloading backend call
- Invalid chrome due to locale string changes
- No longer drawing my Theme preview resizer
- resolved issue where new iconbar doesn't show up in new window
- Theme preview below list
- em/tm icons on menu bar should switch view not load new window
- Theme preview hiding is broken
- Overwriting new install button function with my install function (install functionality included with 2.0 only does one extension at a time)
- Removed my install button
Last edited by mrtech on May 1st, 2006, 4:22 pm, edited 4 times in total.
mel reyes • mrtech.com • BlogPlaxoLinkedInTwitter
Support mrtech.com get our toolbar

slyfox

User avatar
 
Posts: 177
Joined: November 6th, 2004, 12:53 pm

Post Posted April 27th, 2006, 6:52 pm

Nice...It runs in firefox 1.5.0.2 to.
May the source be with you

[EXT] Splash Screen - 1.2 (100%), 2.0 (10%)

[EXT] Slyfox - The Firefox logger - alpha (3%)

mrtech

User avatar
 
Posts: 2007
Joined: May 15th, 2003, 7:46 am
Location: New York

Post Posted April 27th, 2006, 7:53 pm

./aldreneo wrote:Nice...It runs in firefox 1.5.0.2 to.

yeah so far I'm having some luck in keeping everthing together, believe it or not I actually still test with Fx/TB 1.0.x builds ;)
mel reyes • mrtech.com • BlogPlaxoLinkedInTwitter
Support mrtech.com get our toolbar

mrtech

User avatar
 
Posts: 2007
Joined: May 15th, 2003, 7:46 am
Location: New York

Post Posted April 27th, 2006, 8:50 pm

mel reyes • mrtech.com • BlogPlaxoLinkedInTwitter
Support mrtech.com get our toolbar

keithy397

User avatar
 
Posts: 2346
Joined: August 29th, 2004, 6:49 pm
Location: North Wales, UK.

Post Posted April 28th, 2006, 4:37 am

mrtech wrote:I'm posting this en-US dev version for folks who REALLY can't live without 3.0.


wtf is that em/tm/addons?! I understand your statement of above now Mel. According to the em all my extensions are disabled for my own safety yet remain functional, as far as I can tell anyway.

I must admit though, I quite like the way it's going, em/tm/installations all on the same manager in tabs.

mrtech wrote:omg, I have a long road ahead of me...... wish me luck,

Good Luck!
Cheers,
Keith

Neo Bahamut
 
Posts: 3
Joined: August 8th, 2005, 1:00 pm

Post Posted April 28th, 2006, 9:59 am

Ever since I've installed the extension, whenever I install a new extension, it shows another Firefox window (if I have another open) when it finishes installing, and that other window disappears from the taskbar until I use Alt+Tab to switch to another window in Windows. There is no problem if I only have one FF window open.

AmboyGuy

User avatar
 
Posts: 3304
Joined: July 6th, 2004, 9:19 am

Post Posted April 28th, 2006, 10:58 am

@keithy397: You have to use the FF Default theme to see it correctly.

All other older themes are now broken in 2.0a1 - 3.0a1 & show all extensions and themes as disabled.
Mozilla/5.0 (Ubuntu; X11; Linux i686; rv:9.0.1) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/9.0.1 ID:20111228084953

********
 
Posts: 947
Joined: August 24th, 2005, 12:23 pm

Post Posted April 28th, 2006, 2:47 pm

mrtech wrote:omg, I have a long road ahead of me...... wish me luck, so far I've hammered away about 5-6 showstoppers. I'm posting this en-US dev version for folks who REALLY can't live without 3.0. This is FAR from fixing all the new EM/TM 2.0 issues, but at least you can open them up without massive errors, good luck....


maybe some motivational music will help:
http://www.myspace.com/topherlou
note: that's not my site, i just happen to enjoy the music :D

good luck to you and take it easy.

keithy397

User avatar
 
Posts: 2346
Joined: August 29th, 2004, 6:49 pm
Location: North Wales, UK.

Post Posted April 28th, 2006, 2:54 pm

@Amboy Guy
Thanks for the tip - it is as good as I thought it might be. I'm impressed.

It seems the scroll bars are broken in the default theme, can't win!!
Cheers,
Keith

mrtech

User avatar
 
Posts: 2007
Joined: May 15th, 2003, 7:46 am
Location: New York

Post Posted April 28th, 2006, 7:54 pm

mel reyes • mrtech.com • BlogPlaxoLinkedInTwitter
Support mrtech.com get our toolbar

echoes

User avatar
 
Posts: 835
Joined: November 13th, 2005, 1:09 am
Location: Labyrinths of coral caves

Post Posted April 29th, 2006, 10:54 am

@mrtech
i know now may not be a good time with all the work you have to do...
but in regards to the slim mode busted in the "to do list", i have a suggestion. i have an even better idea for it, maybe its too difficult, (but it would really maximize screen space), make the em/tm windows in columns! so you wouldn't have to scroll (as much).

Return to Extension Development


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest