MozillaZine

anyway to block popups like this one?

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
streetwolf

User avatar
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: August 21st, 2011, 8:07 am
Location: NJ (USA)

Post Posted October 19th, 2018, 5:45 am

Go to http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/id-29 ... oters.html and start scrolling. A popup will appear. Is there any add-on that will block these types of ads automatically? I already use Fx's popup blocker and uBlock Origin. I could probably set up a rule for the popup at this site but is there an add-on that will prevent these types of popups for all sites without adding a rule for each one?
Intel Core i9-9900K@5.1GHz | Gigabyte Z390 AORUS MASTER | Corsair 1000W PSU | Corsair H115i CPU Cooler | Corsair 32GB RAM | EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 11GB | BenQ PD3200U 32" 4K LCD | 4-512GB Samsung 970 PRO M.2 | 2TB Samsung 860 EVO | 480GB SanDisk USB Extreme900 | Windows 10 Pro | FIOS 1Gb

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3942
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted October 19th, 2018, 7:28 am

image please - i have nothing like you wrote.
I already use Fx's popup blocker and uBlock Origin.

ofc ublock is all you need.

you already know the picker?
https://github.com/gorhill/uBlock/wiki/Element-picker
just use it ;)

streetwolf

User avatar
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: August 21st, 2011, 8:07 am
Location: NJ (USA)

Post Posted October 19th, 2018, 7:50 am

https://screenshots.firefox.com/rk8jz7x ... rdware.com

I know about the element picker but I was hoping there was a popup blocker to handle situations like this one. I get these sort of popups on other sites.
Intel Core i9-9900K@5.1GHz | Gigabyte Z390 AORUS MASTER | Corsair 1000W PSU | Corsair H115i CPU Cooler | Corsair 32GB RAM | EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 11GB | BenQ PD3200U 32" 4K LCD | 4-512GB Samsung 970 PRO M.2 | 2TB Samsung 860 EVO | 480GB SanDisk USB Extreme900 | Windows 10 Pro | FIOS 1Gb

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3942
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted October 19th, 2018, 8:21 am

i dont get this in firefox or chromium although uB disabled.

but you can add to "my rules" (right pane)
Code: Select all
www.tomshardware.com ajax.googleapis.com * allow
www.tomshardware.com m.bestofmedia.com * allow
www.tomshardware.com www.tomshardware.de * allow

also valid for .de or .co.uk domain - i am redirected to co.uk, not .com

no, cant try .com - and on other pages no overlay, could be .com specific, use the picker please.

mdew

User avatar
 
Posts: 356
Joined: March 2nd, 2005, 2:34 am

Post Posted October 19th, 2018, 3:34 pm


streetwolf

User avatar
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: August 21st, 2011, 8:07 am
Location: NJ (USA)

Post Posted October 19th, 2018, 3:46 pm

mdew wrote:Add,

Code: Select all
||purch.com^$third-party


https://github.com/easylist/easylist/co ... 72d8dab10a

Thanks, works fine. Using the Element picker to remove the popup left the page as if the popup was still there. I couldn't do anything on the page.
Intel Core i9-9900K@5.1GHz | Gigabyte Z390 AORUS MASTER | Corsair 1000W PSU | Corsair H115i CPU Cooler | Corsair 32GB RAM | EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 11GB | BenQ PD3200U 32" 4K LCD | 4-512GB Samsung 970 PRO M.2 | 2TB Samsung 860 EVO | 480GB SanDisk USB Extreme900 | Windows 10 Pro | FIOS 1Gb

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests