MozillaZine

Clear startup cache button in Troubleshooting Information

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
WaltS48

User avatar
 
Posts: 4290
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted June 28th, 2020, 11:03 am

When was that added?

I haven't opened that page in ages and noticed it today when I wanted to check the BuildID to see if Nightly was up to date, which it wasn't and I was still using the 201200626 build.

Updated and restarted, cleared the startup cache and restarted again as directed.

8-)
Linux Desktop - AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 8.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Windows Notebook - AMD A8 7410 2.2GHz | 6.0GB RAM | AMD Radeon R5

Mark12547

User avatar
 
Posts: 304
Joined: May 13th, 2017, 11:36 am
Location: Oregon, United States, Earth

Post Posted June 28th, 2020, 10:00 pm

I hadn't noticed it either. After trying to track it down in Bugzilla (didn't find) and in Google, I came across a blog that mentioned it as new in v. 79 (currently Nightly):

How to Clear Startup Cache in Firefox from About:support Page (Nightly)

custom.firefox.lady
 
Posts: 397
Joined: February 28th, 2008, 3:48 am
Location: PA

Post Posted June 29th, 2020, 5:53 am

Does this refer to the same cache as the -purgecaches commandline option which clears a JavaScript startup cache?

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20406
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted June 29th, 2020, 8:07 am

(So I was reading this, & I opened about:support, & I say to myself, "why don't I see it?"?
Then I realized I was reading this in SeaMonkey ;-).)

-purgecaches.
Looks like it. If you watch before & after (with that switch), you'll see where startupCache.4.little is touched, & smaller then its previous self. (Oh - this with with checking - using the switch - not the GUI option. But you could do the same. Clear attributes. Note date/time/size of startupCache.4.little, hit the button, Quit, & note what changed.)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

custom.firefox.lady
 
Posts: 397
Joined: February 28th, 2008, 3:48 am
Location: PA

Post Posted June 29th, 2020, 6:57 pm

@therube - According to Mark12547's link, the GUI option deletes the entire startupCache folder, so apparently it does at least as much as purgecaches, if not more. Close enough.

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 53110
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted July 2nd, 2020, 2:24 pm

See:
Bug 1569653 - Add button to invalidate startup cache in about:support [79]

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests