MozillaZine


Firefox ver 97.0b6 blank BM toolbar

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
BruceAWittmeier

User avatar
 
Posts: 2800
Joined: June 9th, 2008, 10:53 am
Location: Near 37.501685 -80.147967

Post Posted January 21st, 2022, 12:10 pm

It appears I've lost the bookmarks toolbar for Firefox ver 97.0b6. I have 6-8 items but none show up. BM toolbar is checked to always display. It is ok on Ver 96.
Anyone else?
~ ~ ~ Growing old is a long, fun journey, but hell when you arrive. ~ ~ ~

Snake4

User avatar
 
Posts: 1391
Joined: December 27th, 2017, 4:03 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted January 21st, 2022, 5:56 pm

BruceAWittmeier wrote:It appears I've lost the bookmarks toolbar for Firefox ver 97.0b6. I have 6-8 items but none show up. BM toolbar is checked to always display. It is ok on Ver 96.
Anyone else?

checked if a Extension is causing the issue? https://www.howtogeek.com/719792/how-to ... n-firefox/

BruceAWittmeier

User avatar
 
Posts: 2800
Joined: June 9th, 2008, 10:53 am
Location: Near 37.501685 -80.147967

Post Posted January 22nd, 2022, 7:26 am

Thanks for posting.

The first thing I did try the steps -- same as from your link.

Then I tried without any addons from the Help menu - Troubleshoot mode. Did not fix the problem.

I reloaded ver 96.0b? and it forced me to create a new profile. I tried to overwrite the profile with my desired version from 97 and it would not allow it -- understandable.

Then I tried by removing the prefs.js file and it loaded but still no bookmarks on the toolbar.

Then I copied the file back over to the new profile it also worked. I don't honestly know what fixed the problem but all is well. This is a rough idea of what I did.

Thanks.

By the way I had two entries in my Bookmarks file -- one at the top under all bookmarks and a second at the bottom...both name Bookmarks Toolbar.
~ ~ ~ Growing old is a long, fun journey, but hell when you arrive. ~ ~ ~

WaltS48

User avatar
 
Posts: 5102
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted January 22nd, 2022, 8:18 am

I know a user has to install all extensions and reconfigure settings, but does anyone use Help > More Troubleshooting Information > Refresh Firefox when these issues appear?

I didn't lose my Bookmarks Toolbar when I updated to:

Name Firefox
Version 97.0b6
Build ID 20220120185732
Linux Desktop - AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 8.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Windows Notebook - AMD A8 7410 2.2GHz | 6.0GB RAM | AMD Radeon R5

BruceAWittmeier

User avatar
 
Posts: 2800
Joined: June 9th, 2008, 10:53 am
Location: Near 37.501685 -80.147967

Post Posted January 22nd, 2022, 8:45 am

Walt I personally don't for the reason you stated. I have a "cheat-sheet" of many of the tweaks I implement but it is quite messy from many years of accumulation. If I were smarter I'd start a new sheet and carefully articulate changes I make and save them.
~ ~ ~ Growing old is a long, fun journey, but hell when you arrive. ~ ~ ~

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest