MozillaZine


Everything is larger with the latest beta

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
streetwolf

User avatar
 
Posts: 2671
Joined: August 21st, 2011, 8:07 am
Location: NJ (USA)

Post Posted June 29th, 2022, 4:06 am

After the latest beta everything appears larger now. The only exception are the menus. The DPI is controlled by the pref 'layout.css.devPixelsPerPx' which defaults to the OS DPI which is -1 in the pref. Playing around with this pref if I set it to 1.85 as opposed to the default of 2.0 or -1 (My OS DPI is 200% which is 192 DPI) things kind of look like they did before the latest update. However the menus are smaller. Seems some calculations are off.

Any one else seeing this on beta?
Intel Core i9-9900K @ 5.1 GHz | Gigabyte Z390 AORUS MASTER | Corsair 1000W PSU | Corsair H115i CPU Cooler | Corsair 32GB RAM | EVGA RTX2080 Ti FTW3 11GB | BenQ PD3200U 32" 4K LCD | 3-512GB Samsung 970 PRO NVMe | 2TB Samsung 860 EVO | 1TB Sabrent Rocket NVMe | Windows 11 Pro | Xfinity 1.4Gb

streetwolf

User avatar
 
Posts: 2671
Joined: August 21st, 2011, 8:07 am
Location: NJ (USA)

Post Posted June 29th, 2022, 10:07 am

Nobody on the latest 103 beta? Tried a new profile with the same results.
Intel Core i9-9900K @ 5.1 GHz | Gigabyte Z390 AORUS MASTER | Corsair 1000W PSU | Corsair H115i CPU Cooler | Corsair 32GB RAM | EVGA RTX2080 Ti FTW3 11GB | BenQ PD3200U 32" 4K LCD | 3-512GB Samsung 970 PRO NVMe | 2TB Samsung 860 EVO | 1TB Sabrent Rocket NVMe | Windows 11 Pro | Xfinity 1.4Gb

bjherbison
 
Posts: 1039
Joined: October 6th, 2003, 5:40 am
Location: Bolton, MA, US

Post Posted June 29th, 2022, 2:22 pm

There was some discussion today in https://chat.mozilla.org/#/room/#general:mozilla.org on what might be the same issue:

"Hi, I'm using Firefox Developer Edition on ArchLinux with KDE. I find firefox seems to defaulted to a minimal scaling factor of 2x. I've tried to run firefox with env GDK_SCALE=1 GDK_DPI_SCALE=1 QT_SCALE_FACTOR=1, but it didn't work. I've also tried set layout.css.devPixelsPerPx to one, but the UI's still scaled 2x. However, if I set layout.css.devPixelsPerPx to 0.5, the Ui will not be scaled."
(And later discussion.)

Joining: https://wiki.mozilla.org/Matrix

streetwolf

User avatar
 
Posts: 2671
Joined: August 21st, 2011, 8:07 am
Location: NJ (USA)

Post Posted June 29th, 2022, 3:37 pm

bjherbison wrote:There was some discussion today in https://chat.mozilla.org/#/room/#general:mozilla.org on what might be the same issue:

"Hi, I'm using Firefox Developer Edition on ArchLinux with KDE. I find firefox seems to defaulted to a minimal scaling factor of 2x. I've tried to run firefox with env GDK_SCALE=1 GDK_DPI_SCALE=1 QT_SCALE_FACTOR=1, but it didn't work. I've also tried set layout.css.devPixelsPerPx to one, but the UI's still scaled 2x. However, if I set layout.css.devPixelsPerPx to 0.5, the Ui will not be scaled."
(And later discussion.)

Joining: https://wiki.mozilla.org/Matrix


Sounds like it might be my issue too. Hopefully Mozilla will sort it out.
Intel Core i9-9900K @ 5.1 GHz | Gigabyte Z390 AORUS MASTER | Corsair 1000W PSU | Corsair H115i CPU Cooler | Corsair 32GB RAM | EVGA RTX2080 Ti FTW3 11GB | BenQ PD3200U 32" 4K LCD | 3-512GB Samsung 970 PRO NVMe | 2TB Samsung 860 EVO | 1TB Sabrent Rocket NVMe | Windows 11 Pro | Xfinity 1.4Gb

Snake4

User avatar
 
Posts: 1445
Joined: December 27th, 2017, 4:03 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted June 29th, 2022, 6:45 pm

streetwolf wrote:After the latest beta everything appears larger now. The only exception are the menus. The DPI is controlled by the pref 'layout.css.devPixelsPerPx' which defaults to the OS DPI which is -1 in the pref. Playing around with this pref if I set it to 1.85 as opposed to the default of 2.0 or -1 (My OS DPI is 200% which is 192 DPI) things kind of look like they did before the latest update. However the menus are smaller. Seems some calculations are off.

Any one else seeing this on beta?

tried changing " Text Zoom " size ? i dont use Beta's sorry

jscher2000

User avatar
 
Posts: 11646
Joined: December 19th, 2004, 12:26 am
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA

Post Posted June 29th, 2022, 6:52 pm

Something has changed with how Firefox reads/computes the system Text Scaling. You may need to override it. See: https://support.mozilla.org/questions/1381272

streetwolf

User avatar
 
Posts: 2671
Joined: August 21st, 2011, 8:07 am
Location: NJ (USA)

Post Posted June 29th, 2022, 7:08 pm

jscher2000 wrote:Something has changed with how Firefox reads/computes the system Text Scaling. You may need to override it. See: https://support.mozilla.org/questions/1381272


This behavior is a bug introduced with 103b2 I think. I posted to the thread mentioned above expressing my thoughts on the matter.
Intel Core i9-9900K @ 5.1 GHz | Gigabyte Z390 AORUS MASTER | Corsair 1000W PSU | Corsair H115i CPU Cooler | Corsair 32GB RAM | EVGA RTX2080 Ti FTW3 11GB | BenQ PD3200U 32" 4K LCD | 3-512GB Samsung 970 PRO NVMe | 2TB Samsung 860 EVO | 1TB Sabrent Rocket NVMe | Windows 11 Pro | Xfinity 1.4Gb

Fanolian
 
Posts: 917
Joined: February 21st, 2011, 10:14 am

Post Posted June 29th, 2022, 9:16 pm

This is an intended change introduced in bug 1773342.
Bug 1773633 introduces a new about:config entry browser.display.os-zoom-behavior to alter this new behaviour. Spoiler: you can't go back to exactly what it was. #-o :x

UPDATE: there is a better solution. Check my another reply below.
Last edited by Fanolian on July 26th, 2022, 3:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

streetwolf

User avatar
 
Posts: 2671
Joined: August 21st, 2011, 8:07 am
Location: NJ (USA)

Post Posted June 30th, 2022, 2:36 pm

Setting browser.display.os-zoom-behavior to 0 does set the size back to what it was except for chrome items like menus, toolbar stuff etc. They are smaller than they used to be. I wish Mozilla made a pref to control the size of the chrome like they did way back when. One for the content, one for the chrome.
Intel Core i9-9900K @ 5.1 GHz | Gigabyte Z390 AORUS MASTER | Corsair 1000W PSU | Corsair H115i CPU Cooler | Corsair 32GB RAM | EVGA RTX2080 Ti FTW3 11GB | BenQ PD3200U 32" 4K LCD | 3-512GB Samsung 970 PRO NVMe | 2TB Samsung 860 EVO | 1TB Sabrent Rocket NVMe | Windows 11 Pro | Xfinity 1.4Gb

Fanolian
 
Posts: 917
Joined: February 21st, 2011, 10:14 am

Post Posted July 26th, 2022, 3:21 pm

Fanolian wrote:This is an intended change introduced in bug 1773342.
Bug 1773633 introduces a new about:config entry browser.display.os-zoom-behavior to alter this new behaviour. Spoiler: you can't go back to exactly what it was. #-o :x



Evilpies on Reddit shares a better solution:

The option for this is ui.textScaleFactor. You have to create it as a number. 100 should work. (untested)

You can revert browser.display.os-zoom-behavior to default (1).

Reference: https://www.reddit.com/r/firefox/commen ... d/ihqin1i/


And here's a response from emilio who implemented the change:
For the record (I implemented these changes):

Before these changes, Windows' text scale factor affected some fonts (Windows system fonts) but not others (~everything else, like websites).

ui.textScaleFactor=100 is the real way to revert to the previous behavior exactly, but that causes the inconsistent scaling mentioned above.

browser.display.os-zoom-behavior=0 is the way to have Windows system fonts scaled consistently (it'd effectively shrink the Windows system fonts a little compared to pre-103 behavior).

There's also browser.display.os-zoom-behavior=2 to cause all fonts to be scaled, but not scale everything else (that is, make both system and non-system fonts scale).

Also for the record, this was already the behavior of text zoom on Linux, so these changes make the behavior of text zoom consistent across platforms.

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests