MozillaZine

Something broken with build 2002-11-19

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
seb

User avatar
 
Posts: 1578
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 11:26 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post Posted November 20th, 2002, 1:03 pm

Audioaficionado, this is userChrome.css, not userContent.css. You have to put css related to websites in userContent.css.
userChrome.css if for everything related to Phoenix/moz's interface.

audioaficionado

User avatar
 
Posts: 76
Joined: November 7th, 2002, 12:56 am
Location: Rogue River Valley, SW Oregon, USA

Post Posted November 20th, 2002, 1:18 pm

OK I deleted that bogus chrome file and grabbed the correct user content example.css file. I renamed it correctly and pasted the posted line at the bottom.

Still no go.

What do I have to edit from the original example text or add to make it work?
8) Windows: XPproSP2
8) Gentoo & Overclockix Live CD
8) Latest Firefox of course

Cya later,
Steve

seb

User avatar
 
Posts: 1578
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 11:26 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post Posted November 20th, 2002, 1:29 pm

My userContent.css file only contains the css that was posted on Phoenix Help, and it just works.
Did you try to clear the cache? Are you sure that you placed your userContent.css in the right folder (ie. C:\Documents & Settings\[username]\Application Data\Phoenix\Profiles\default\[random chars]\chrome\ ) ?

audioaficionado

User avatar
 
Posts: 76
Joined: November 7th, 2002, 12:56 am
Location: Rogue River Valley, SW Oregon, USA

Post Posted November 20th, 2002, 1:45 pm

It's in the C:\windows\Phoenix\Profiles\default\[random chars]\chrome\.

I deleted all original text and only have the Phoenix help posted lines in there.

Cleared cache and restarted twice.

No go.
8) Windows: XPproSP2
8) Gentoo & Overclockix Live CD
8) Latest Firefox of course

Cya later,
Steve

Chris

User avatar
 
Posts: 13
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 7:32 pm

Post Posted November 20th, 2002, 2:04 pm

You should use underscores instead of spaces.

audioaficionado

User avatar
 
Posts: 76
Joined: November 7th, 2002, 12:56 am
Location: Rogue River Valley, SW Oregon, USA

Post Posted November 20th, 2002, 2:07 pm

Chris wrote:You should use underscores instead of spaces.


In my entire post or the css file?
8) Windows: XPproSP2
8) Gentoo & Overclockix Live CD
8) Latest Firefox of course

Cya later,
Steve

Stefan

User avatar
 
Posts: 2051
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 2:46 am

Post Posted November 20th, 2002, 4:31 pm

audioaficionado wrote:It's in the C:\windows\Phoenix\Profiles\default\[random chars]\chrome\.


NO NO NO

That is the wrong folder.

You need to be in the C:\windows\application data ...

audioaficionado

User avatar
 
Posts: 76
Joined: November 7th, 2002, 12:56 am
Location: Rogue River Valley, SW Oregon, USA

Post Posted November 20th, 2002, 6:08 pm

Well that's going to be a problem as every time I delete that windows\phoenix folder in it's entirity, phoenix will just recreate it next time I launch Phoenix.exe. in the same spot. Not in the applications folder.

I've deleted all Phoenix folders several times and it always reconfigures itself the same way no matter what nightly binary I use.

I have over 50 installed programs in my box and only five files in the win\app folder.
8) Windows: XPproSP2
8) Gentoo & Overclockix Live CD
8) Latest Firefox of course

Cya later,
Steve

shoestring

User avatar
 
Posts: 156
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 3:40 pm
Location: Geekhaven, MA, USA

Post Posted November 21st, 2002, 3:23 am

audioaficionado wrote:I just added it to the end of the user css and it doesn't seem to help.

Do I leave a blank line between the previous instructions and what I added?


Hmm ... I'd added those lines a long time ago ... and that page is a mess regardless. (20021107 at the moment).
Bill Phillips
Sexagenarian Boy Genius
Geekhaven, Massachusetts

ck42
 
Posts: 88
Joined: November 7th, 2002, 12:34 pm

Post Posted November 21st, 2002, 9:07 am

Great......you guys get me addicted to mouse gestures and then take them away!
Arghhh....man, I hope this gets fixed soon. such a nice function.

erimia
 
Posts: 14
Joined: November 12th, 2002, 2:02 am

Post Posted November 21st, 2002, 5:14 pm

Mr. Furious wrote:I don't use either of those extensions, but I did encounter a problem with build 2002-11-18 and 19. My startup page is just an html file on my desktop (I'm running Windows XP) with a bunch of links in it. Phoenix now seems to have a problem with the spaces in the path (c:\documents and settings\[username]\desktop). When I launch Phoenix, I get a popup that says something like can't find c:\documents\ and my window opens with 3 tabs (blank, AltaVista, and Barnes and Noble: none of which are links on my html page!). I can't remember the error exactly; I have since reverted back to build 2002-11-14, which does not have this problem. Anyone else experience this?


I can confirm this ... same problem, and it is opening anything from the home comp ... each time it opens the same exact pages.

Stats : 11/19 build on Win 2k

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests