MozillaZine

Firefox 3.5 b99 - total mess

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
pykko
 
Posts: 28
Joined: September 4th, 2006, 1:06 pm

Post Posted June 9th, 2009, 1:45 pm

I've set Firefox 3.5 beta 4 to automatically download and install any update. Big mistake!

It downloaded FF 3.5 b99 and everything went bad. I had all bugs noticed here: http://www.ghacks.net/2009/06/09/firefox-35-preview/

I decided to uninstall. I tried this, without deleting my settings, but .... when I tried to install FF 3.5 beta 4 again, but I was receiving errors while loading my saved bookmarks.
I was forced to uninstall completely, deleting all my bookmarks, customizations, preferences. :(

It was presumed that a new version will be better. It is the worst ever. Even FF 3.5 beta 1, or 2 were working better.

LoudNoise
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 40048
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:45 pm
Location: Next door to the west

Post Posted June 9th, 2009, 1:49 pm

The only bug listed there is problems with the "Wordpress admin interface" and maybe some problems with some sites functionality.
Post wrangler
"Choose between the Food Select Feature or other Functions. If no food or function is chosen, Toast is the default."

a;skdjfajf;ak

User avatar
 
Posts: 17002
Joined: July 10th, 2004, 8:44 am

Post Posted June 9th, 2009, 2:00 pm

Addons not working is the fault of the addon author, not the Firefox build team.

Perhaps, you should not be messing with pre-release software...

LoudNoise
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 40048
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:45 pm
Location: Next door to the west

Post Posted June 9th, 2009, 2:22 pm

Before you deleted your profile did you try to restore any of the back up bookmark json files?
Post wrangler
"Choose between the Food Select Feature or other Functions. If no food or function is chosen, Toast is the default."

ViciouslyCold
 
Posts: 18
Joined: May 27th, 2009, 5:27 pm

Post Posted June 9th, 2009, 2:22 pm

You know this add-on can force almost any other addon to be compatible.

MR Tech Toolkit

James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 27206
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted June 9th, 2009, 2:26 pm

ViciouslyCold wrote:You know this add-on can force almost any other addon to be compatible.

MR Tech Toolkit

Does Not mean they will automatically work without problems as some Extensions and more so with Themes may need more work then just a simple maxversion bump.

polidobj

User avatar
 
Posts: 3147
Joined: March 31st, 2004, 9:10 am
Location: Maryland USA - im in ur tinderbox, crashtesting ur firefox

Post Posted June 9th, 2009, 3:06 pm

The wordpress bug seems to be:
#497074[Core:JavaScript Engine]-wordpress iframes [All]
It'll be fixed in the release candidate. It's reportedly already fixed on trunk builds. But finding things like this is the point of the preview.
Brian J Polidoro - Today's bugs brought to you by Raid. :P
Windows7 - Firefox user since ~Feb 2002

ViciouslyCold
 
Posts: 18
Joined: May 27th, 2009, 5:27 pm

Post Posted June 9th, 2009, 3:12 pm

James wrote:
ViciouslyCold wrote:You know this add-on can force almost any other addon to be compatible.

MR Tech Toolkit

Does Not mean they will automatically work without problems as some Extensions and more so with Themes may need more work then just a simple maxversion bump.


Yes that is true but that is also a rarity especially when your talking about going from Firefox 3.0 to 3.5. The difference in the 2 are minimal when it comes to add-ons. Themes are another story because some Firefox 3.0 themes make Firefox 3.5 look messy and they always seem to hide that ie 7 - like tab on the right.

But when your messing with Nightly, Alpha and Beta builds you have to try these things out. If they don't work right just go into the Firefox folders in your "AppData" section and delete them all. You then start completely over. Fact is if you aren't willing to put up with some problems then you should stick with Official Releases and wait for your favorite add-ons to become compatible with the newer Firefox versions.

LoudNoise
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 40048
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:45 pm
Location: Next door to the west

Post Posted June 9th, 2009, 3:53 pm

ViciouslyCold-

Would you please avoid the red text in the future? Some folks find it annoying. Thanks.
Post wrangler
"Choose between the Food Select Feature or other Functions. If no food or function is chosen, Toast is the default."

makondo
 
Posts: 1959
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 5:26 pm
Location: Rocky Mountains

Post Posted June 9th, 2009, 10:10 pm

Right. As well as preaching about testing beta. The fact is, most people who install it, know it is beta and can be buggy. However, when something doesn't work as expected, what harm is in sharing your experience in the builds forum and see if others might have the same problems and/or know something you might be missing? What do you suggest people do - go to the Time Square and open a champagne bottle? Of course we can search and read, etc. but that 'etc.' includes speaking to others in this forum, as far as i'm concerned.
I've been using alphas and betas for 5 years now and this is the worst beta(-s) in my experience (yes, my experience, as i can't speak for others). I actually went back to 3.0.10 'cause i can't deal with all the cr..ackers of 3.5beta (don't waste your breath, i do still have 3.5 too).

James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 27206
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted June 9th, 2009, 10:17 pm

ViciouslyCold wrote:But when your messing with Nightly, Alpha and Beta builds you have to try these things out. If they don't work right just go into the Firefox folders in your "AppData" section and delete them all. You then start completely over. Fact is if you aren't willing to put up with some problems then you should stick with Official Releases and wait for your favorite add-ons to become compatible with the newer Firefox versions.

Well no need to preach the issues with using Extensions and Themes with nightlies to me as I have easily used a few thousand nightlies over the last several years...

If you need to use colour to read your posts better then use some userContent.css or in Stylish extension like the examples at http://userstyles.org/styles/search/mozillazine instead of inconveniencing others.

toods

User avatar
 
Posts: 255
Joined: December 22nd, 2004, 9:33 am
Location: Cornwall, UK

Post Posted June 10th, 2009, 2:27 am

There are frequently posts on this forum about upgrades to Firefox, including developments versions, causing problems with 'add-ons' and 'themes' extensions.

Obviously, it should be the responsibility of the extension author to deal with version compatibility, but often it is not that the extension won't work it's just because it is not configured to install in the version of Firefox in question.

An easy check that I perform is to go into the 'profile' directory and in the 'extensions' subdirectory, edit all the 'install.rdf' files and 'bump' the maximum version number (presently to something like '3.6.* ').

Then re-start Firefox and see how it works.

Bill.
Slackware, 12.1

MaFt
 
Posts: 38
Joined: January 18th, 2004, 1:02 pm
Location: Bradford, England

Post Posted June 10th, 2009, 2:42 am

it's 'lightbox' style effects that seem to be affected eg the insert image stuff in wordpress admin pages, the videos here http://77x.org.uk/?page=media&sub=video and the photos here: http://www.jproductions.info/?page=stills

however, the images here: http://77x.org.uk/?page=media&sub=photo&set=hx0812 work fine

MaFt
**********************

BenneJezzerette

User avatar
 
Posts: 1482
Joined: November 1st, 2004, 1:47 am
Location: Ghost in the Machine

Post Posted June 10th, 2009, 11:29 am

Guess my photo rendition of the steps I go through were not accepted by this group. Well since posting that and has not rebooted, yes, all my Theme and Extensions seem to be just fine. So what is this anomoly? Why do the Theme and Extensions Break after a Reboot and not when I just run my system? Can anyone explain this to an old lady that LOVES Firefox and just does not wish to have to go to any other browser? Please can someone Clearly explain this?
Vista Home Premium 64 AMD 9950 Quad Core + 8GB DDR2 1066 1x500GB 1X750GB Partitioned 1X1TB MSI GTX260 896
Firefox Safe Browsing - Pocomail Safe E-Mail from Script Kitties
True Internet Surfing + E-Mail not Junk

LoudNoise
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 40048
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:45 pm
Location: Next door to the west

Post Posted June 10th, 2009, 11:32 am

They were merged with your question about extensions here viewtopic.php?f=23&t=1288115
Post wrangler
"Choose between the Food Select Feature or other Functions. If no food or function is chosen, Toast is the default."

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests