MozillaZine

Quick Tab-Switch feature missing! - FF3.5b99

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
Panarchy
 
Posts: 175
Joined: December 5th, 2006, 10:50 pm

Post Posted June 17th, 2009, 7:22 pm

Hi

The quick Tab Switch feature is missing!

[Click on a tab, then use arrow button on the keyboard]

Please put this feature back in!!!

Thanks in advance,

Panarchy

PS: Or should I write this up on bugzilla?

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 119764
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted June 17th, 2009, 7:26 pm

Moving to Firefox Builds.

BigWillyStyle42

User avatar
 
Posts: 690
Joined: June 20th, 2006, 4:57 pm

Post Posted June 17th, 2009, 8:23 pm

It was removed on purpose, see: https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=462289

If you've got your search bar, you can do CTRL + K to focus it, then TAB should focus your current tab (assuming it's next in the focus cycle).

James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 27333
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted June 17th, 2009, 10:55 pm

Panarchy wrote:PS: Or should I write this up on bugzilla?

Would have been made a duplicate so it is a good thing you asked.

Panarchy
 
Posts: 175
Joined: December 5th, 2006, 10:50 pm

Post Posted June 17th, 2009, 11:46 pm

^Thx!

Arghh... but I like the feature!!!

:o

Whether on Windows, Mac or Linux, that is one feature I love of Firefox.

Where can I request for it to be an enable/disable feature?

dao-g
 
Posts: 669
Joined: January 31st, 2005, 5:37 am
Location: Berlin

Post Posted June 19th, 2009, 2:51 am

try putting this in your userChrome.css:
Code: Select all
.tabbrowser-tab[selected="true"] {
  -moz-user-focus: normal !important;
}

lakrids
 
Posts: 123
Joined: December 17th, 2006, 12:51 am

Post Posted June 19th, 2009, 4:56 am

dao-g wrote:try putting this in your userChrome.css:
Code: Select all
.tabbrowser-tab[selected="true"] {
  -moz-user-focus: normal !important;
}

Thank you dao-g! I wanted this for a long time since it was removed.

If I remove [selected="true"] it still works. But in theory if I remove the code will I gain performance or lose performance?

dao-g
 
Posts: 669
Joined: January 31st, 2005, 5:37 am
Location: Berlin

Post Posted June 19th, 2009, 5:09 am

[selected="true"] is a workaround for bug 417904. I don't know if it's still needed.

Panarchy
 
Posts: 175
Joined: December 5th, 2006, 10:50 pm

Post Posted June 30th, 2009, 11:05 pm

YAY

Workarounds rock!

Thanks dao-g ;)

You da man!

Panarchy
 
Posts: 175
Joined: December 5th, 2006, 10:50 pm

Post Posted August 1st, 2009, 8:58 pm

Damn.

This no longer works in Firefox 3.5.1

:(

firemonkey

User avatar
 
Posts: 950
Joined: March 14th, 2004, 10:57 pm
Location: Down in the basement

Post Posted August 2nd, 2009, 4:51 pm

Try removing [selected="true"].

Code: Select all
.tabbrowser-tab {
  -moz-user-focus: normal !important;
}

With 3.5.2 removing it seems to do the trick.

Panarchy
 
Posts: 175
Joined: December 5th, 2006, 10:50 pm

Post Posted August 3rd, 2009, 10:59 pm

Didn't work for me :S

SuperLink
 
Posts: 1
Joined: August 5th, 2009, 9:08 am

Post Posted August 5th, 2009, 9:11 am

It's not working for me either. I updated to Firefox 3.5 earlier and it's been bugging me ever since.

Anyone know of any add ons or anything that might help? I thought it was really handy tbh :S

Bluefang

User avatar
 
Posts: 7857
Joined: August 10th, 2005, 2:55 pm
Location: Vermont

Post Posted August 5th, 2009, 10:48 am

Code: Select all
.tabbrowser-tab
{
   -moz-user-focus: normal !important;
}

Works for me on the Linux nightly trunk build. Though the [selected="true"] part is probably still needed in Firefox 3.5.x

Have you tried adding this to a new profile?
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Creating_a_ne ... on_Windows
There have always been ghosts in the machine... random segments of code that have grouped together to form unexpected protocols. Unanticipated, these free radicals engender questions of free will, creativity, and even the nature of what we might call the soul...

dao-g
 
Posts: 669
Joined: January 31st, 2005, 5:37 am
Location: Berlin

Post Posted August 5th, 2009, 11:01 am

[selected="true"] might in fact not be a workaround. If you leave it out, what happens when focusing the search bar and pressing TAB?

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests