MozillaZine

3.5 no wait cursor

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
Shasoosh
 
Posts: 22
Joined: August 26th, 2007, 7:50 am

Post Posted June 21st, 2009, 3:59 am

why the cursor no longer switches to the wait cursor when loading a page?

Thanks
Last edited by Shasoosh on July 2nd, 2009, 12:11 am, edited 1 time in total.
Shasoosh Sha soosh, Sr.

Stifu

User avatar
 
Posts: 984
Joined: July 13th, 2007, 8:02 am

Post Posted June 21st, 2009, 5:23 am

Shasoosh wrote:why the cursor no longer switches to the wait cursor when loading a page?

Thanks

They decided to remove it because it was distracting and looked bad. I can't find the bug report for it, but it was between beta 3 and 4.

Shasoosh
 
Posts: 22
Joined: August 26th, 2007, 7:50 am

Post Posted June 21st, 2009, 5:29 am

Its not a bug??????
What a stupid decision imo..
how can i change it?
Shasoosh Sha soosh, Sr.

chob
 
Posts: 4283
Joined: May 17th, 2003, 12:05 pm
Location: London, UK

Post Posted June 21st, 2009, 6:02 am

The bug is covered by
  • #482985 [Core:General]-Removal of loading mouse cursor on data transfer [All]
I don't know how to change Firefox back to the old way.

Stifu

User avatar
 
Posts: 984
Joined: July 13th, 2007, 8:02 am

Post Posted June 22nd, 2009, 1:19 am

By the way, the spinning favicon on each tab already indicates that the page is loading. So the wait cursor was redundant, and less useful: it didn't make it clear which tab was loading, and it kept flickering.

Dorus
 
Posts: 238
Joined: September 6th, 2004, 2:18 pm

Post Posted June 22nd, 2009, 4:51 am

I'v always found the wait cursor very useful, it indicate firefox is loading something somewhere, especially when I'm clicking a lot of links on news sites (i first open all interesting articles in background tabs) it gives a good indication if i can start opening more. I usually stop clicking when firefox gets slow after opening 5-10 tabs at the same time.

Siemova

User avatar
 
Posts: 31
Joined: October 18th, 2003, 8:00 pm
Location: Madisonville, TX

Post Posted June 23rd, 2009, 1:36 pm

Hrm... The problem is, when you're in a window which displays neither tabs nor the status bar, you get no indicator at all. Unfortunately, I have to do this all the time in our CMS at work. Any time I've worked in Safari, the lack of feedback has always bothered me; conversely, I've been grateful that Firefox gives indication when something is actually happening. But now it's gone away? Definitely a regression. This feature should be fixed if need be, not simply removed.
"What you embrace is what you become." - Six Feet Deep

Anonymosity
 
Posts: 8398
Joined: May 7th, 2007, 12:07 pm

Post Posted June 23rd, 2009, 3:26 pm

I was told that you can put the throbber back on the toolbar. You could use that, can you not?

Siemova

User avatar
 
Posts: 31
Joined: October 18th, 2003, 8:00 pm
Location: Madisonville, TX

Post Posted June 23rd, 2009, 3:40 pm

Anonymosity wrote:I was told that you can put the throbber back on the toolbar. You could use that, can you not?


Alas, not if there's no toolbar visible either. Our CMS spawns chrome-less windows left and right, and I know it's not the only such application. A less than stellar design decision, I agree, but I have no control over it, and neither do the thousands of other people who use it.
"What you embrace is what you become." - Six Feet Deep

Graham Paige
 
Posts: 88
Joined: October 22nd, 2008, 4:22 pm

Post Posted July 1st, 2009, 10:15 pm

I miss the wait cursor and thought its absence is a bug. A feature? Very disappointing. How many electrons does its removal save?

I never use tabs and I very seldom have the navigation toolbar visible, depending instead on Shift-L to open a site or file.

I'm glad I backed up 3.0.11. I'll continue to use it for as long as possible.

Graham Paige
 
Posts: 88
Joined: October 22nd, 2008, 4:22 pm

Post Posted July 1st, 2009, 10:16 pm

I miss the wait cursor and thought its absence is a bug. A feature? Very disappointing. How many electrons does its removal save?

I never use tabs and I very seldom have the navigation toolbar visible, depending instead on Shift-L to open a site or file.

I'm glad I backed up 3.0.11. I'll continue to use it for as long as possible.

Shasoosh
 
Posts: 22
Joined: August 26th, 2007, 7:50 am

Post Posted July 2nd, 2009, 12:12 am

I'm hoping for an add on soon
Shasoosh Sha soosh, Sr.

~Freelancer~
 
Posts: 1
Joined: July 2nd, 2009, 1:52 am

Post Posted July 2nd, 2009, 1:55 am

Right-click the toolbar, customize, there's your little spinning icon.

Shasoosh
 
Posts: 22
Joined: August 26th, 2007, 7:50 am

Post Posted July 2nd, 2009, 2:05 am

I'm not looking for an icon, i want my wait cursor!
Shasoosh Sha soosh, Sr.

SlimShady
 
Posts: 148
Joined: November 4th, 2004, 3:21 pm

Post Posted July 2nd, 2009, 2:37 am

It doesn't add anything. It's just a mouse cursor that appears too often and annoys people.

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests