MozillaZine


New tab features shouldn't block javascript popups....

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
prancer
 
Posts: 71
Joined: August 11th, 2004, 11:21 am

Post Posted October 13th, 2004, 12:16 am

Not sure how bugzilla works so perhaps someone can post this for me.

The new Options-Advanced-Tabbed Browsing should have an option to allow javascript or similar windows to open normally instead of a new tab. What I mean is small windows that usually don't have toolbars, etc. They were meant to be seen as a popup windows and you should have the option to keep that feature while still blocking target="_blank"
If you use the "force links to open in new window to open in:" it creates this problem.
It would be much better to do it like the Single Window extension where u can choose to allow javascript popups to work as intended.

Here's and example though it's a flash link....
http://www.evanescence.com/
Click Tour on the top menu

MechanicalMan

User avatar
 
Posts: 1416
Joined: June 16th, 2004, 11:29 pm
Location: Missouri

Post Posted October 13th, 2004, 12:25 am

They don't. And the tour link opens a new window for me, as it should. Sounds like you are using an extension...?

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.7.3) Gecko/20041009 Firefox/0.10

prancer
 
Posts: 71
Joined: August 11th, 2004, 11:21 am

Post Posted October 13th, 2004, 12:47 am

U sure? I just deleted firefox and my profile, reinstalled fresh to double check and it opens them in new tabs.
Have you set...
Options->Advanced->Tabbed Browsing-> Force links to open in new window to open in:-> A new tab?

TheOneKEA

User avatar
 
Posts: 4864
Joined: October 16th, 2003, 5:47 am
Location: Somewhere in London, riding the Underground

Post Posted October 13th, 2004, 1:08 am

Install TBP 0.9.91 and set it up to only divert unresized JavaScript popups into tabs; that should take care of your problem.
Proud user of teh Fox of Fire
Registered Linux User #289618

MechanicalMan

User avatar
 
Posts: 1416
Joined: June 16th, 2004, 11:29 pm
Location: Missouri

Post Posted October 13th, 2004, 1:27 am

Did this change since 10-9 or something? I sure wasn't expecting it to.

Image

prancer
 
Posts: 71
Joined: August 11th, 2004, 11:21 am

Post Posted October 13th, 2004, 1:28 am

why install an extension to do something that's built in?
anyways, i prefer the single window extension
and i got the workaround from the other thread complaining about this but it should still be addresses before RC1

prancer
 
Posts: 71
Joined: August 11th, 2004, 11:21 am

Post Posted October 13th, 2004, 1:29 am

MechanicalMan wrote:Did this change since 10-9 or something? I sure wasn't expecting it to.

Image


perhaps it did not sure
it doesnt work like that on 10/11 or 10/12

Mike203
 
Posts: 6
Joined: October 8th, 2004, 12:58 pm

Post Posted October 13th, 2004, 1:37 am

Hi all,
same problem here :-(
Greetings

dirtyepic

User avatar
 
Posts: 168
Joined: June 17th, 2004, 8:16 pm
Location: Canada

Post Posted October 13th, 2004, 2:56 am

https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.c ... 72962#c174 ?

i'm pretty sure my http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?t=143698 is the same thing, only with a chrome window instead of a java pop-up window..

then again i'm just guessing at things i'm admittedly ignorant about. ;)
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686; en-US; rv:1.9a1) Gecko/20051223 Firefox/1.6a1 ID:2005122304

Pike

User avatar
 
Posts: 2293
Joined: August 10th, 2003, 12:12 pm
Location: UK

Post Posted October 13th, 2004, 2:59 am

Type about:config into the location bar, find browser.link.open_newwindow.restriction, set it to 2.

hariskar

User avatar
 
Posts: 498
Joined: November 2nd, 2003, 4:03 am
Location: Kavala, Greece

Post Posted October 13th, 2004, 6:32 am

tenbucks wrote:why install an extension to do something that's built in?
anyways, i prefer the single window extension
and i got the workaround from the other thread complaining about this but it should still be addresses before RC1


Show some respect tenbucks...

TheOneKEA

User avatar
 
Posts: 4864
Joined: October 16th, 2003, 5:47 am
Location: Somewhere in London, riding the Underground

Post Posted October 13th, 2004, 7:42 am

Pike wrote:Type about:config into the location bar, find browser.link.open_newwindow.restriction, set it to 2.


For those of us who dislike using about:config, you can alternately use TBP 0.9.91. Set "Open requested JavaScript popups in:" to "Unresized Popups" and you'll be OK.
Proud user of teh Fox of Fire
Registered Linux User #289618

Mguel
 
Posts: 81
Joined: July 1st, 2003, 6:09 pm

Post Posted October 18th, 2004, 6:51 am

I have the same problem, and also noted it since 11 oct (aprox).

And it is fixed with browser.link.open_newwindow.restriction, set it to 2, so thanks Pike for the tip!

TheOneKEA

User avatar
 
Posts: 4864
Joined: October 16th, 2003, 5:47 am
Location: Somewhere in London, riding the Underground

Post Posted October 18th, 2004, 7:15 am

Note that the fix for bug 263844 means that some JavaScript popups which broke when forced into tabs will now work again.
Proud user of teh Fox of Fire
Registered Linux User #289618

chon_wang
 
Posts: 25
Joined: September 13th, 2004, 12:29 pm

Post Posted October 18th, 2004, 12:10 pm

tenbucks wrote:why install an extension to do something that's built in?
anyways, i prefer the single window extension
and i got the workaround from the other thread complaining about this but it should still be addresses before RC1


not to bash Single Window Extension, but it's a pos. It wouldn't block some ad popups if you ran the popup tests. Thanks to TheOneKEA for the great extension. TBP owned!

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests