MozillaZine


Direct2D/DirectWrite Accelerated Rendering For Firefox

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
ZeDestructor

User avatar
 
Posts: 44
Joined: March 4th, 2010, 2:59 am

Post Posted March 4th, 2010, 8:25 am

Talking about Tab Previews, I just checked FoxTab and it flickers while rendering with Direct2D and DirectWrite. Should be added as a Known Issue.

Note: It does not stop D2D and DW from functioning, it just flickers during rendering of animations
System: Acer Aspire 5920G | Mobile intel Core 2 Duo T9300 @ 2.5Ghz | 4GB Dual Channel Samsung DDR2 RAM | ATI Mobility Radeon HD4650 1GB DDR2 | 20.1" LCD @ 1680x1050 + 15.4" LCD @ 1280x800 | Samsung Spinpoint MP4 640GB 7200RPM | Windows 7 x64 | Internet Connection 20Mbps/1Mbps

Omega X

User avatar
 
Posts: 8197
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 2:38 pm
Location: A Parallel Dimension...

Post Posted March 4th, 2010, 11:59 am

That's probably related to the Video flickering issue since its using flash.
Latest: Firefox/84.0 *ESR/78.6.0 - Mobile/81.1.5 - Thunderbird/78.5.0
Nightly: Nightly/86.0a1 - Mobile/GV 86.0a1 - Daily/85.0a1

myzar74
 
Posts: 694
Joined: June 25th, 2004, 2:22 am

Post Posted March 5th, 2010, 3:02 am

I'm getting this weird rendering randomly

Image

Maximizing and minimizing firefox window fixes it . Also menus aren't always painted or painted with garbage . This is random i haven't steps to reproduce

ZeDestructor

User avatar
 
Posts: 44
Joined: March 4th, 2010, 2:59 am

Post Posted March 5th, 2010, 3:32 am

Omega X wrote:That's probably related to the Video flickering issue since its using flash.


Odd, because YouTube and Miniclip.com work fine with no flickering (and as far as I know both are Flash sites)
System: Acer Aspire 5920G | Mobile intel Core 2 Duo T9300 @ 2.5Ghz | 4GB Dual Channel Samsung DDR2 RAM | ATI Mobility Radeon HD4650 1GB DDR2 | 20.1" LCD @ 1680x1050 + 15.4" LCD @ 1280x800 | Samsung Spinpoint MP4 640GB 7200RPM | Windows 7 x64 | Internet Connection 20Mbps/1Mbps

iceccold

User avatar
 
Posts: 661
Joined: February 24th, 2010, 10:53 am
Location: Subotica, Serbia

Post Posted March 5th, 2010, 10:47 am

myzar74 wrote:I'm getting this weird rendering randomly

Image

Maximizing and minimizing firefox window fixes it . Also menus aren't always painted or painted with garbage . This is random i haven't steps to reproduce


I'm having same problem.
Image
"We cannot have homeland security unless we understand that the whole planet is our homeland "

Dorus
 
Posts: 238
Joined: September 6th, 2004, 2:18 pm

Post Posted March 5th, 2010, 2:19 pm

Hardware acceleration works really nice here. The demo's (including google maps) are noticeable faster, peacekeaper score: complex graphics is higher then i thought would be possible, and all sites i visited so far looks ok (but those can be counted on one hand, didn't test a lot yet).

Only thing is i get a transparent screen half the time, only when i move/resize Firefox it display the page.

Is that a known bug? i m on windows vista, using a fresh nighly and a fresh profile.

a;skdjfajf;ak

User avatar
 
Posts: 17002
Joined: July 10th, 2004, 8:44 am

Post Posted March 5th, 2010, 2:31 pm

myzar74 wrote:I'm getting this weird rendering randomly

Image

Maximizing and minimizing firefox window fixes it . Also menus aren't always painted or painted with garbage . This is random i haven't steps to reproduce


How are you making it mess up like that ? I've trying shrinking down the browser window, and dragging the lower right corner to expand the view port, and for the life of me, no matter how fast I drag the corner, I cannot get the page to smear as in your image.

Perhaps I'm not using a page that exhibits the problem, can you post a link ?

iceccold

User avatar
 
Posts: 661
Joined: February 24th, 2010, 10:53 am
Location: Subotica, Serbia

Post Posted March 5th, 2010, 5:53 pm

On PeaceKeeper Complex Graphic test results are impressive!
Littlemutt the mess comes by it self on random site. (Facebook, MozillaZine, YouTube, Google, and others.)
"We cannot have homeland security unless we understand that the whole planet is our homeland "

myzar74
 
Posts: 694
Joined: June 25th, 2004, 2:22 am

Post Posted March 6th, 2010, 3:42 am

Littlemutt wrote:
myzar74 wrote:I'm getting this weird rendering randomly

Image

Maximizing and minimizing firefox window fixes it . Also menus aren't always painted or painted with garbage . This is random i haven't steps to reproduce


How are you making it mess up like that ? I've trying shrinking down the browser window, and dragging the lower right corner to expand the view port, and for the life of me, no matter how fast I drag the corner, I cannot get the page to smear as in your image.

Perhaps I'm not using a page that exhibits the problem, can you post a link ?



I can't it's totally random and not specific to a url, sometimes firefox decides to render a page in that mess , it could happen on any page

jrudkin
 
Posts: 3
Joined: August 8th, 2006, 8:15 pm

Post Posted March 6th, 2010, 6:38 am

Dorus wrote:Hardware acceleration works really nice here. The demo's (including google maps) are noticeable faster, peacekeaper score: complex graphics is higher then i thought would be possible, and all sites i visited so far looks ok (but those can be counted on one hand, didn't test a lot yet).

Only thing is i get a transparent screen half the time, only when i move/resize Firefox it display the page.

Is that a known bug? i m on windows vista, using a fresh nighly and a fresh profile.



Dorus, I was getting the exact same thing. Then, it changed to when I went from one link to another, I would get a blank page. When I would click on the top of the browser and move it slightly, the page would appear. The only thing that would fix it was to change to Windows Classic theme. Using Vista,sp3 and nightly 3.7a3 pre.

Joe

Dorus
 
Posts: 238
Joined: September 6th, 2004, 2:18 pm

Post Posted March 6th, 2010, 10:50 am

Yeah, i got the transparant screen in variouse situations too, new empty tab, new bookmark tab, starting peacekeeper and perhapts more.

Not the big questions is, is there a bug on this? If nobody knows so i'm gonna look for one myself later and/or report this.

MASTAN

User avatar
 
Posts: 3
Joined: March 6th, 2010, 12:04 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

Post Posted March 6th, 2010, 12:18 pm

Simple way to test if D2D is working in firefox:
http://mrdoob.com/projects/chromeexperiments/ball_pool/
With D2D enabled text inside big ball is perfectly fine while its rolling, and pretty shaky and aliased without. The lower ball speed the bigger difference.

MASTAN

User avatar
 
Posts: 3
Joined: March 6th, 2010, 12:04 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

Post Posted March 6th, 2010, 3:43 pm

WebGL doesn't work when D2D is on and works when D2D is off.
Turn on webgl.enabled_for_all_sites variable, reload browser and go to http://www.iquilezles.org/apps/shadertoy/
With D2D on the render area is black, though fps counter shows that data is being processed.

Dorus
 
Posts: 238
Joined: September 6th, 2004, 2:18 pm

Post Posted March 7th, 2010, 6:48 am

jrudkin wrote:
Dorus wrote:Hardware acceleration works really nice here. The demo's (including google maps) are noticeable faster, peacekeaper score: complex graphics is higher then i thought would be possible, and all sites i visited so far looks ok (but those can be counted on one hand, didn't test a lot yet).

Only thing is i get a transparent screen half the time, only when i move/resize Firefox it display the page.

Is that a known bug? i m on windows vista, using a fresh nighly and a fresh profile.



Dorus, I was getting the exact same thing. Then, it changed to when I went from one link to another, I would get a blank page. When I would click on the top of the browser and move it slightly, the page would appear. The only thing that would fix it was to change to Windows Classic theme. Using Vista,sp3 and nightly 3.7a3 pre.

Joe

Couldn't find a bug that describe exactly this problem. So i opened bug 550756. Bug 532106 looks a bit like it, but i think that's another problem.

laohudashu
 
Posts: 1
Joined: March 7th, 2010, 11:11 am

Post Posted March 7th, 2010, 11:15 am

The effect is so exciting!
the fonts looks so beautiful,what a great work!

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest