MozillaZine

Discuss Sync and Bugs Here

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
sciguyryan
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 2181
Joined: November 10th, 2004, 1:33 pm
Location: Wales

Post Posted August 13th, 2010, 1:41 am

This is a thread for the new "Sync" feature in Minefield nightlies, please discuss any bugs or the feature here to keep the build threads clean and enable us to easily consolidate bug reports and issues.

Thanks!

Known Bugs:

The following are some commonly reported known bugs.

  • Bug 586985 - Firefox Sync should have a Global "off" preference

Thanks to Littlemutt for a nice query to find all the current sync bugs - please check before filling new bugs: http://tinyurl.com/syncbugs
Last edited by sciguyryan on August 13th, 2010, 7:14 am, edited 2 times in total.
Cheers!

Ryan Jones

GTK66
 
Posts: 1896
Joined: May 30th, 2004, 5:20 am

Post Posted August 13th, 2010, 5:42 am

How do you remove synch? I have no use for it.

Bozz
 
Posts: 2684
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:53 pm

Post Posted August 13th, 2010, 5:52 am

^^Ditto. I don't need it either. Is the weave folder now in the profile the same thing?

a;skdjfajf;ak

User avatar
 
Posts: 17002
Joined: July 10th, 2004, 8:44 am

Post Posted August 13th, 2010, 5:52 am

Helpful query to find known Sync bugs before filing: http://tinyurl.com/syncbugs

Eriatile
 
Posts: 84
Joined: December 27th, 2003, 7:28 am

Post Posted August 13th, 2010, 5:56 am

As I understood it you can't remove it, it's part of the browser (like tabs).
I think not setting up an account it's the only thing you can do to not use it.

GTK66
 
Posts: 1896
Joined: May 30th, 2004, 5:20 am

Post Posted August 13th, 2010, 5:56 am

Bozz wrote:^^Ditto. I don't need it either. Is the weave folder now in the profile the same thing?


I believe that it is.

GTK66
 
Posts: 1896
Joined: May 30th, 2004, 5:20 am

Post Posted August 13th, 2010, 6:00 am

I removed that folder but sych stays.

GTK66
 
Posts: 1896
Joined: May 30th, 2004, 5:20 am

Post Posted August 13th, 2010, 6:04 am

Eriatile wrote:As I understood it you can't remove it, it's part of the browser (like tabs).
I think not setting up an account it's the only thing you can do to not use it.


Why should I set up an account? I have no devices to sync to. Mozilla is assuming that every user has a Smart Phone. I will be very upset if this cannot be removed.. :!:

sciguyryan
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 2181
Joined: November 10th, 2004, 1:33 pm
Location: Wales

Post Posted August 13th, 2010, 6:07 am

It is also useful as a bookmark backup system.

I assume setting services.sync.autoconnect to be false will get rid of the connection options, however I don't know of a way to disable it completely.
Cheers!

Ryan Jones

Bozz
 
Posts: 2684
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:53 pm

Post Posted August 13th, 2010, 6:12 am

^^...and remove it from the status bar and the options panel.
Code: Select all
#sync-status-button/*Status Bar*/,
radio[label="Sync"]/*Options panel*/ {
display: none !important;
}
Last edited by Bozz on August 13th, 2010, 6:22 am, edited 1 time in total.

t0y
 
Posts: 143
Joined: May 1st, 2006, 5:54 pm

Post Posted August 13th, 2010, 6:21 am

sipowicz wrote:
Eriatile wrote:As I understood it you can't remove it, it's part of the browser (like tabs).
I think not setting up an account it's the only thing you can do to not use it.


Why should I set up an account? I have no devices to sync to. Mozilla is assuming that every user has a Smart Phone. I will be very upset if this cannot be removed.. :!:

It's not just for mobile devices. I have it setup in 3 different computers and it definitely makes my life easier.

GTK66
 
Posts: 1896
Joined: May 30th, 2004, 5:20 am

Post Posted August 13th, 2010, 6:22 am

Thanks Bozz, at least that hides it.

Bozz
 
Posts: 2684
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:53 pm

Post Posted August 13th, 2010, 6:24 am

sipowicz wrote:Thanks Bozz, at least that hides it.

I also turned off services.sync.autoconnect that RyanJ refers to.
Last edited by Bozz on August 13th, 2010, 6:25 am, edited 1 time in total.

GTK66
 
Posts: 1896
Joined: May 30th, 2004, 5:20 am

Post Posted August 13th, 2010, 6:24 am

t0y wrote:
sipowicz wrote:
Eriatile wrote:As I understood it you can't remove it, it's part of the browser (like tabs).
I think not setting up an account it's the only thing you can do to not use it.


Why should I set up an account? I have no devices to sync to. Mozilla is assuming that every user has a Smart Phone. I will be very upset if this cannot be removed.. :!:

It's not just for mobile devices. I have it setup in 3 different computers and it definitely makes my life easier.


I know but I use MozBackup for that and I have 3 PC's as well and only this one is using Firefox 4.0. IMHO , it is just added bloat that should be made optional.

Thanks again Bozz :!: Thanks Ryan :!:

sciguyryan
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 2181
Joined: November 10th, 2004, 1:33 pm
Location: Wales

Post Posted August 13th, 2010, 6:26 am

It is _not_ bloat. That word is really over used these days. When all of those computer have Firefox 4 then you won't need the backup tool will you? :D
Cheers!

Ryan Jones

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests