MozillaZine

[Solved] "Open in new tab" context menu order in Firefox 4

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
taco-man
 
Posts: 6
Joined: July 9th, 2010, 2:19 am

Post Posted August 31st, 2010, 2:13 am

I noticed when right clicking a link the order of "open in new tab" and "open in new window" have been switched in Firefox 4. It really throws me off as i go between firefox 3 at work and firefox 4 at home. Is there any way for me to make 4 go back to the old order (where open in new window is first and new tab is second). I'm hoping there is a setting in about:config or if that's not possible an addon i can install on firefox 4 to change the order back to how it is in firefox 3. Any help or suggestions would be awesome, thanks.

Also, yes i know i could just middle click to open a new tab or just learn the new order, but i'm really hoping i can just change a setting. It sounds stupid but hopefully someone can help.
Last edited by taco-man on August 31st, 2010, 4:37 am, edited 1 time in total.

DavidOE
 
Posts: 140
Joined: May 9th, 2006, 3:38 am

Post Posted August 31st, 2010, 2:30 am


taco-man
 
Posts: 6
Joined: July 9th, 2010, 2:19 am

Post Posted August 31st, 2010, 3:11 am

the "http://files.cnblogs.com/idragonet/menuedit1_2_6b.xpi" link goes to a 404 error page :(

But it is very good to know there is a way to change this. Do you have any other mirrors of this addon? Thanks so much for the reply!

DavidOE
 
Posts: 140
Joined: May 9th, 2006, 3:38 am

Post Posted August 31st, 2010, 3:47 am

You're in luck - I saved the XPI file in case that link went dead. :) http://www.mediafire.com/?ujh3sa38di7gtv9

taco-man
 
Posts: 6
Joined: July 9th, 2010, 2:19 am

Post Posted August 31st, 2010, 4:38 am

awesome, thanks so much!

4td8s
 
Posts: 619
Joined: June 24th, 2009, 1:07 pm

Post Posted October 16th, 2010, 10:15 pm

yuoo2k has a solution at the following thread w/out an addon to revert the context menu order in FF4:
viewtopic.php?f=23&t=1954619&start=15

noob_for_life
 
Posts: 4
Joined: December 12th, 2009, 10:38 pm

Post Posted April 9th, 2011, 11:43 pm

Does anyone know why they made the change?

KWierso
 
Posts: 8831
Joined: May 7th, 2006, 10:29 pm
Location: California

Post Posted April 10th, 2011, 12:15 am

noob_for_life wrote:Does anyone know why they made the change?

Tabs > Windows.

Mark342
 
Posts: 277
Joined: September 14th, 2010, 4:15 am

Post Posted April 10th, 2011, 1:48 am

KWierso wrote:
noob_for_life wrote:Does anyone know why they made the change?

Tabs > Windows.

Ha! Short, simple, and true. I like it!

In case you don't understand: the top most menu item is closer to the mouse when you right click, and users use the "open link in new tab" feature more than the "open link in new window" feature. It makes sense to have the more popular feature closer to the mouse so they moved "open link in new tab" to the top of the menu.

KWierso
 
Posts: 8831
Joined: May 7th, 2006, 10:29 pm
Location: California

Post Posted April 10th, 2011, 9:42 am

It's also a somewhat philosophical thing. Mozilla's pushing to get most of the popup windows that it uses for things (addon manager, options pages, etc) into tabs in current/future releases (in-content UI), and de-emphasizing windows. Plus the Tab Groups thing.

KWierso
 
Posts: 8831
Joined: May 7th, 2006, 10:29 pm
Location: California

Post Posted April 10th, 2011, 10:19 am

It's also a somewhat philosophical thing. Mozilla's pushing to get most of the popup windows that it uses for things (addon manager, options pages, etc) into tabs in current/future releases (in-content UI), and de-emphasizing windows. Plus the Tab Groups thing.

EDIT: Ugh, site sploded while I was posting.

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest