MozillaZine

The Official Win32 20100904 Trunk build is out.

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
_Dexter_

User avatar
 
Posts: 1436
Joined: August 30th, 2008, 6:54 pm
Location: Miami

Post Posted September 3rd, 2010, 5:34 pm

The only way to get things up to speed is to use a Basic Theme not an Aero Theme. Hopefully the problem will be fixed so we can use Aero again.
Intel i7 Core Quad @ 4.25Ghz | Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus | 12GB PC3-16000 RAM | ASUS HD6970 2GB - 12.3 CATS | ASUS PA246Q IPS 24" LCD 16:10 | OCZ AGILITY-EX SSD SLC | Windows 7 SP1 x64 Ultimate

Hanki

User avatar
 
Posts: 1415
Joined: April 2nd, 2004, 11:52 pm
Location: Australia

Post Posted September 3rd, 2010, 5:36 pm

can anyone tell me if there is gonna be a Beta8 or not done? i really wish they'd fix up the Milestone wiki page up to indicate whats happening with the beta's. i know beta6 is the string and feature freeze but they dont indicate that on the Milestone page.

GTK66
 
Posts: 1896
Joined: May 30th, 2004, 5:20 am

Post Posted September 3rd, 2010, 6:30 pm

Demandred wrote:can anyone tell me if there is gonna be a Beta8 or not done? i really wish they'd fix up the Milestone wiki page up to indicate whats happening with the beta's. i know beta6 is the string and feature freeze but they dont indicate that on the Milestone page.


I would think there will have to be a Beta 8. Beta 5 is not out yet. I am more concerned with the nightly builds.

@ Streetwolf. I will not change to a basic theme just to use Minefield at a somewhat faster rate. It is not all that slow and I can live with it for a few days.

Hanki

User avatar
 
Posts: 1415
Joined: April 2nd, 2004, 11:52 pm
Location: Australia

Post Posted September 3rd, 2010, 6:40 pm

sipowicz wrote:
Demandred wrote:can anyone tell me if there is gonna be a Beta8 or not done? i really wish they'd fix up the Milestone wiki page up to indicate whats happening with the beta's. i know beta6 is the string and feature freeze but they dont indicate that on the Milestone page.


I would think there will have to be a Beta 8. Beta 5 is not out yet. I am more concerned with the nightly builds.

@ Streetwolf. I will not change to a basic theme just to use Minefield at a somewhat faster rate. It is not all that slow and I can live with it for a few days.

i would also think there would be a Beta8 . Beta5 should be released on the 7th, perhaps we'll findout after that if there is a definite beta8 or not.

cuz84d
 
Posts: 1644
Joined: August 24th, 2009, 6:03 pm

Post Posted September 3rd, 2010, 7:08 pm

I was trying out the new hourly build, not testing the D3D9 stuff, but the inspector panel tree bug landed before and now again, and its flickering the panel's border frame like a race horse.. but I cannot tell out of all the bugs for that, if there is one to address that issue..

geeknik
 
Posts: 958
Joined: February 25th, 2003, 10:11 pm
Location: USA

Post Posted September 3rd, 2010, 7:24 pm

Anyone here using Google Reader? it's probably the only thing I'm having a slow issue with right now.

Latest hourly (1730f1358f13), d2d on, dw on, accelerate all layers on, decode on draw on.

Just seems slower than the last nightly build I used.

Omega X

User avatar
 
Posts: 8187
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 2:38 pm
Location: A Parallel Dimension...

Post Posted September 3rd, 2010, 7:26 pm

cuz84d wrote:I was trying out the new hourly build, not testing the D3D9 stuff, but the inspector panel tree bug landed before and now again, and its flickering the panel's border frame like a race horse.. but I cannot tell out of all the bugs for that, if there is one to address that issue..

https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=588657

@Geeknik

Yeah, Google Reader is slower with D2D enabled alone, though not when D3D9 is enabled alone. I doubt that Decode-On Draw has much effect on an app like Google Reader since there's not many images off screen in the layout.

But D2D in general is slowing things down due to Layers transparency over Aero.
Latest: Firefox/82.0 *ESR/78.4.0 - Mobile/81.1.5 - Thunderbird/78.3.3
Nightly: Nightly/84.0a1 - Mobile/GV 83.0a1 - Daily/84.0a1

KWierso
 
Posts: 8831
Joined: May 7th, 2006, 10:29 pm
Location: California

Post Posted September 3rd, 2010, 8:39 pm

I think D3D9 just got turned on.

C@rb0n
 
Posts: 1428
Joined: February 19th, 2005, 11:22 am

Post Posted September 3rd, 2010, 9:36 pm

KWierso wrote:I think D3D9 just got turned on.

And backed out.

Good thing too, 'cause it's mighty buggy still.

Elen
 
Posts: 394
Joined: February 13th, 2004, 5:53 am

Post Posted September 3rd, 2010, 9:41 pm

C@rb0n wrote:
KWierso wrote:I think D3D9 just got turned on.

And backed out.

Good thing too, 'cause it's mighty buggy still.


Not really, pretty much all the critical issues were fixed tonight. And how do you think they find bugs in the first place?

KWierso
 
Posts: 8831
Joined: May 7th, 2006, 10:29 pm
Location: California

Post Posted September 3rd, 2010, 9:41 pm

I think they fixed the caption button thing (or temporarily worked around it), so if you manually turn it on, it should be better.

bogas04

User avatar
 
Posts: 977
Joined: May 18th, 2010, 1:14 am

Post Posted September 3rd, 2010, 10:13 pm

I am facing these two probs regarding the i6 menu button , can anyone inform me about their bugs

1)
http://img844.imageshack.us/img844/9438/clip0005h.mp4

2)
http://img444.imageshack.us/img444/3268/26286142.png
bogas04.github.io
MacBook Air Mid 2013 |@bogas04

pal-moz
 
Posts: 5937
Joined: September 23rd, 2005, 5:40 pm
Location: Tokyo , Japan

Post Posted September 3rd, 2010, 10:18 pm

bogas04 wrote:I am facing these two probs regarding the i6 menu button , can anyone inform me about their bugs

1)
http://img844.imageshack.us/img844/9438/clip0005h.mp4

2)
http://img444.imageshack.us/img444/3268/26286142.png

D2D/D3D setting ?
[Desktop] Windows 7 Professional (32bit/SP1) / Geforce GTX 660Ti 2GB (350.12) / 4GB RAM

KWierso
 
Posts: 8831
Joined: May 7th, 2006, 10:29 pm
Location: California

Post Posted September 3rd, 2010, 10:23 pm

Latest hourly (maybe earlier ones as well, haven't tested those) has much improved D2D performance compared to the regression in the latest nightly. I'm getting ~30 fps on fishie with 20 fish (not great, but better than ~15).
D3D9 caption button fix is not yet in an hourly build. Should be in the next one, though.

bogas04

User avatar
 
Posts: 977
Joined: May 18th, 2010, 1:14 am

Post Posted September 3rd, 2010, 11:13 pm

the default settings i guess , trying with it turned off from Options dialog

Edit : 2nd prob seems to be fixed , not entirely though , but the first one still persists
Last edited by bogas04 on September 3rd, 2010, 11:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
bogas04.github.io
MacBook Air Mid 2013 |@bogas04

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests