MozillaZine

The Official Win32 20100904 Trunk build is out.

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
jvbferrer

User avatar
 
Posts: 79
Joined: August 31st, 2010, 10:46 am
Location: Valencia, Spain

Post Posted September 4th, 2010, 6:08 am

Why win32 version is that last one to be compiled?

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 43855
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted September 4th, 2010, 6:13 am

Just the way things work.
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

Gott
 
Posts: 131
Joined: September 18th, 2004, 6:42 pm

Post Posted September 4th, 2010, 6:13 am

sipowicz wrote:Today's build is not that much better than yesterday's.

Yes, it's a shame, it's really, really, really sluggish and starts maxing out my CPU after minutes. Essentially no difference from 20100903 ... I'll revert back to 20100902, this build is completely unusable for me.

Gott
 
Posts: 131
Joined: September 18th, 2004, 6:42 pm

Post Posted September 4th, 2010, 6:23 am

Mhhh, just for the heck of it I enabled layers.accelerate-all in this build before reverting back to the last working one. Oddly enough, that seems to fix my performance problems. CPU usage is fairly low and while still far from fast, it's far more responsive than it used to be ... odd, but the performance problems are probably directly related.
I'll leave it at this for now and see if I can live with the side effects.

Pennington99
 
Posts: 415
Joined: October 16th, 2006, 2:21 pm
Location: Virginia

Post Posted September 4th, 2010, 6:35 am

My first test was to try to add a new persona. Instant Black Line of Death across bottom and freeze of Minefield. Using safe version allowed me to back out to default theme.

Thinking about it - it wasn't the total freeze as with yesterday's version. Had then to use Task Manager to shut down. Today I could close the browser with normal caption controls.

myzar74
 
Posts: 694
Joined: June 25th, 2004, 2:22 am

Post Posted September 4th, 2010, 6:40 am

Gott wrote:Mhhh, just for the heck of it I enabled layers.accelerate-all in this build before reverting back to the last working one. Oddly enough, that seems to fix my performance problems. CPU usage is fairly low and while still far from fast, it's far more responsive than it used to be ... odd, but the performance problems are probably directly related.
I'll leave it at this for now and see if I can live with the side effects.


the performance problem is https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=593361 it's being worked on

squall_leonhart

User avatar
 
Posts: 885
Joined: March 17th, 2008, 5:32 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted September 4th, 2010, 6:54 am

trying to reset layout.css.dpi crashes minefield instantly.

only when reset though, if i manually enter -1 it doesn't :\
Last edited by squall_leonhart on September 4th, 2010, 7:45 am, edited 1 time in total.

michaell
 
Posts: 2417
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 4:47 pm
Location: London, UK

Post Posted September 4th, 2010, 6:57 am

Reaven wrote:Why win32 version is that last one to be compiled?

Win32 finishes last because the build process takes longer on Windows. The builds start around the same time.

Gott
 
Posts: 131
Joined: September 18th, 2004, 6:42 pm

Post Posted September 4th, 2010, 7:07 am

myzar74 wrote:the performance problem is https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=593361 it's being worked on

Nope, that is a performance problem, but almost certainly not the performance problem. With layers.accelerate-all=true the FishIE Tank is still very slow, showing 18fps even with a single fish. Everything else, however, is much faster, going from almost unusable to a little slow but ok.
My CPU still spike when just writing a comment on this board, though ... almost maxing out one Core. But at least it no longer stays there afterwards.

Krustylicious
 
Posts: 46
Joined: September 3rd, 2010, 8:00 am

Post Posted September 4th, 2010, 7:19 am

Gott wrote:
myzar74 wrote:the performance problem is https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=593361 it's being worked on

Nope, that is a performance problem, but almost certainly not the performance problem. With layers.accelerate-all=true the FishIE Tank is still very slow, showing 18fps even with a single fish. Everything else, however, is much faster, going from almost unusable to a little slow but ok.
My CPU still spike when just writing a comment on this board, though ... almost maxing out one Core. But at least it no longer stays there afterwards.



Yep the 12:48 (12pm uk time hourly) and the 904 nightly are so far more stable for me. I have accelerate all layers on now and thats helped where as before its was truly horrid on my system.

_Alexander

User avatar
 
Posts: 1197
Joined: April 1st, 2010, 2:24 pm
Location: Your augmented reality

Post Posted September 4th, 2010, 7:26 am

Layers help, but it is still nowhere near the same performance.
593361 is simple necessary
http://magneticpudding.com/ <- My Blog
i5 3570k @ 4.5 Ghz / NV 660 / 32GB DDR3 / 1080p LCD / SSD (120 + 180) / W8 ||| Atom N270 / NV ION / 3GB DDR3 / SSD / 1366x768 / W8

GTK66
 
Posts: 1896
Joined: May 30th, 2004, 5:20 am

Post Posted September 4th, 2010, 7:26 am

Gott wrote:Mhhh, just for the heck of it I enabled layers.accelerate-all in this build before reverting back to the last working one. Oddly enough, that seems to fix my performance problems. CPU usage is fairly low and while still far from fast, it's far more responsive than it used to be ... odd, but the performance problems are probably directly related.
I'll leave it at this for now and see if I can live with the side effects.


Yes it is better than yesterday's. Baby steps I guess. I at least can browse the Net faster.

exactlyy

User avatar
 
Posts: 296
Joined: February 8th, 2010, 1:20 pm
Location: Lebanon

Post Posted September 4th, 2010, 7:47 am

i dont see the performance troubles you guys are having . but D2D and DW and accelerated layers are all off .
(°-°)

Krustylicious
 
Posts: 46
Joined: September 3rd, 2010, 8:00 am

Post Posted September 4th, 2010, 7:48 am

The biggest problem up to 903 and even the 12:48 hourly build was say i did a search on google images for say firefox, it would take ages to load the images instead of 1/2 second. But this would in turn look up any other tabs that were loading stuff so I had 3 or 4 tabs not loading anything and thus stalled .. Hence why i had to use another browser :|

geeknik
 
Posts: 958
Joined: February 25th, 2003, 10:11 pm
Location: USA

Post Posted September 4th, 2010, 8:12 am

The 0904 build feels faster than the 0903 build. =)

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests