MozillaZine

Java applets not working on mac

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
tofagerl
 
Posts: 7
Joined: September 11th, 2010, 11:57 am

Post Posted September 11th, 2010, 12:02 pm

I'm currently using 4b6pre Minefield since 4b5 has an annoying flash bug, but this is true of both builds.
I use a norwegian bank (http://www.postbanken.no), who use a common norwegian login system, BankID. This is not shown in 4b5 or 4b6pre, but works fine in Safari and 3.6.9

Unfortunately, I have tried for hours to make sense of bugzilla, but I'm just not smart enough to navigate it, so I don't know if this is an existing bug or something else, but if someone wants me to run some tests, just let me know in this thread.

Edit: Oh, I forgot to say: I tried finding java applets to see if they worked, but there aren't many left these days, as Flash has pretty much won that battle. The examples on Sun's website only show an image of a coffee cup and two arrows though. (http://java.sun.com/applets/jdk/1.4/dem ... mple1.html)

BruceAWittmeier

User avatar
 
Posts: 2653
Joined: June 9th, 2008, 10:53 am
Location: Near 37.501685 -80.147967

Post Posted September 11th, 2010, 12:18 pm

Check here to verify the latest update:

http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/plugincheck/
~ I'm only here to Pay it Forward. ~

"I often take a very long windy road to my destination. When I arrive I often wonder how I missed the shortcut".

tofagerl
 
Posts: 7
Joined: September 11th, 2010, 11:57 am

Post Posted September 11th, 2010, 12:28 pm

Made a screenshot. Don't know what it means :|

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/117580/Screen%2 ... .26.24.png

BruceAWittmeier

User avatar
 
Posts: 2653
Joined: June 9th, 2008, 10:53 am
Location: Near 37.501685 -80.147967

Post Posted September 11th, 2010, 5:41 pm

~ I'm only here to Pay it Forward. ~

"I often take a very long windy road to my destination. When I arrive I often wonder how I missed the shortcut".

tofagerl
 
Posts: 7
Joined: September 11th, 2010, 11:57 am

Post Posted September 11th, 2010, 6:21 pm

Right...

Again, the problem isn't that I don't have Java, it's that it doesn't work with the Firefox 4 betas, while it works fine with 3.6.9 and Safari.

Joshuwa
 
Posts: 6
Joined: August 7th, 2009, 7:05 am

Post Posted September 11th, 2010, 8:40 pm

All I get in FF4 on OSX is the java loading coffee cup where the applet should be.

teoli2003
 
Posts: 5091
Joined: November 10th, 2005, 2:54 am

Post Posted September 11th, 2010, 11:00 pm

One thing to be sure is that you use Fx4 32-bits and not the 64-bit Mac version, as the system-delivered plugin of Java won't work in it.

tofagerl
 
Posts: 7
Joined: September 11th, 2010, 11:57 am

Post Posted September 12th, 2010, 5:54 am

No, this is 32 bit.

b.pwned
 
Posts: 103
Joined: May 30th, 2009, 5:59 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Post Posted September 12th, 2010, 7:49 am

I have the same problem. 32-bit version of Minefield on OS X.

tofagerl
 
Posts: 7
Joined: September 11th, 2010, 11:57 am

Post Posted September 12th, 2010, 7:58 am

If anyone knows of any test cases or logging tools I should run, please let me know.

BruceAWittmeier

User avatar
 
Posts: 2653
Joined: June 9th, 2008, 10:53 am
Location: Near 37.501685 -80.147967

Post Posted September 12th, 2010, 10:08 am

There are lots of applets out there - just search. This is an old one with the water.

http://www.anfyteam.com/anj/water/anwater.html

If Im not mistaken the applet tag is deprecated. I have never been able to get the new tag format to work. Not knowing what you are using to test - just a thought.

I have only played with Java a bit for fun and I use Sun's Java Netbeans Ver 6.9. It is a full gui for java applets with drag/drop capabilities.

My latest:
http://gotnarcosis.com/brucewittmeier/t ... Scale.html
~ I'm only here to Pay it Forward. ~

"I often take a very long windy road to my destination. When I arrive I often wonder how I missed the shortcut".

tofagerl
 
Posts: 7
Joined: September 11th, 2010, 11:57 am

Post Posted September 16th, 2010, 5:02 am

Quick update to let you know that 4.0b6 did not help.

And Bruce, none of your applets show either.

BruceAWittmeier

User avatar
 
Posts: 2653
Joined: June 9th, 2008, 10:53 am
Location: Near 37.501685 -80.147967

Post Posted September 18th, 2010, 7:04 am

Sorry I dont know enough about a MAC to be more help.

Perhaps there is some panel to configure your Java like the Control Panel in Windows to enable Java.
~ I'm only here to Pay it Forward. ~

"I often take a very long windy road to my destination. When I arrive I often wonder how I missed the shortcut".

pal-moz
 
Posts: 5937
Joined: September 23rd, 2005, 5:40 pm
Location: Tokyo , Japan

Post Posted September 18th, 2010, 8:12 am

JAVA+Mac Bugs.

need "JavaPlugin2" on Mac.


https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=510035#c37
ln -s /System/Library/Frameworks/JavaVM.framework/Resources/Deploy.bundle/Contents/Resources/JavaPlugin2_* /Library/Internet\ Plug-Ins/
[Desktop] Windows 7 Professional (32bit/SP1) / Geforce GTX 660Ti 2GB (350.12) / 4GB RAM

tofagerl
 
Posts: 7
Joined: September 11th, 2010, 11:57 am

Post Posted September 18th, 2010, 9:42 am

That seems to already be the default.

Yes I tried, no it didn't work.

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests