MozillaZine

[Ext] Status-4-Evar 2015.02.06.23

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
Bluefang

User avatar
 
Posts: 7846
Joined: August 10th, 2005, 2:55 pm
Location: Vermont

Post Posted September 28th, 2010, 2:32 am

Status-4-Evar

That status bar was removed in Firefox 4.0. While some of the status bar items did find new homes, some did not, and you might not like where they ended up. There were also some nice innovations during the development of Firefox 4.0, such as progress/links/status in the location bar, which unfortunately didn't make it to the final release.

Status-4-Evar aims to bring back (some of) the old status bar items, give you more control over the built-in Firefox features, and provide new alternatives.

The extension provides "Status Text", "Progress Meter", and "Download Status" items. These toolbar items can be moved wherever you want by customizing the toolbars. Behavior of the toolbar items, and other additional settings, can be controlled in the extension preferences.

This extension can also act as a replacement for the Fission extension. There are preferences to show links, status, and progress in the location bar instead of the toolbar items.

---------------------------------------------

Check out the code! S4E is now on GitHub:
https://github.com/SparkyBluefang/S4E

Want to provide a translation? Status-4-Evar can be found on BabelZilla:
http://www.babelzilla.org/forum/index.p ... topic=6532

Please do not email me for support/help/bug reports. I will not respond and will probably just delete it. The preferred way to contact me is to post in the official support topic on MozillaZine or to create an issue on GitHub.

Developer Comments

Users that have installed the development/beta version: because you are on the beta channel, you will not receive automatic updates for non-beta releases. I will only post new beta releases when I start development on the next version. So if you want the most recent version, you will have to manually install it.

On that same note: be careful about installing the beta/development version. I know there is a tempting link just below, but it is often older than the current released version. I would hide the link, but Mozilla removed the option to do so...

Change Log

Version 2015.02.06.23
* Fix toolbar pop-up menu bugs by removing legacy Australis compatibility code that is no longer needed.
* Fix location bar origin label offset in Firefox 31 ESR.

Version 2015.01.31.02b
* Drop support for Firefox 30.0 and older. Unify Australis integration.
* Fix Downloads button icon in Firefox 35+.
* Improve Downloads button integration in Menu Panel.
* When the Downloads button is in the Menu panel, or overflow panel, show the download finished animation on the panel button.

Version 2014.07.06.05
* Fix location bar status interactions with domain highlighting.
* Fix origin link shift in Firefox 32 location bar.

Version 2014.06.29.16b
* Fix gripper styling on OS X (Australis)
* Fix Windows download button attention icon (Australis).
* Add throbber toolbar item (Australis).
* Fix race condition clearing default status also clearing hovered link.
* Updated translations for: bg-BG, da, de, dsb, el, eo, es-ES, fr, he, hsb, ja-JP, nb-NO, nl, pl, ro, sr, sv-SE, tr, zh-CN, zh-TW

Version 2014.06.01.03b
* Fix download status implementation to be compatible with Firefox 29.
* Fix localization issues. (Australis)
* Improved customization event handling. (Australis)
* Support opening download manager with in-tab UI.
* Support 3rd Party download managers by exposing "status4evar.download.button.action.command" which defines a command name to execute.
* Minimize location bar progress when the location bar is focused.
* Updated translations for: da, de, dsb, el, eo, es-ES, fr, hsb, ja-JP, nl, pl, ro, sr, sv-SE, tr, zh-CN, zh-TW

Version 2014.05.03.06
* Fix download button icon styles (Australis)
* Fix Windows and Linux status bar styles. OS X Still needs work. (Australis)
* Support legacy status bar panel (Australis)

Version 2014.04.27.21
* Fix toolbars overlapping download finished animation.
* Australis style fixes.
* Australis first-run widget migration.
* Updated translations for: zh-CN

Version 2014.02.18.00b
* Improve fullscreen HTML5 video detection (fix on YouTube).
* Update license to MPL 2.0.
* Update locales for new strings.
* Updated translations for: sr

Version 2014.01.29.16b
* Add advanced option to hide status popup on fullscreen HTML5 video.
* Fix JS Download API integration.
* Fix status/add-on bar item placement regression from Australis support.
* Updated translations for: ro

Version 2014.01.25.23b
* Initial Australis support.
* Drop support for Firefox 23.0 and older.
* Classic download manager is not available in Firefox 26.0 and newer.

Complete change log can be viewed here:
https://github.com/SparkyBluefang/S4E/b ... /ChangeLog
Last edited by Bluefang on February 6th, 2015, 9:18 pm, edited 90 times in total.
There have always been ghosts in the machine... random segments of code that have grouped together to form unexpected protocols. Unanticipated, these free radicals engender questions of free will, creativity, and even the nature of what we might call the soul...

LoudNoise
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38459
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:45 pm
Location: Next door to the west

Post Posted September 28th, 2010, 1:16 pm

Moving to Builds until 4.0 Release.
Post wrangler
Notice: If you have a comment on moderation, please post here viewtopic.php?f=11&t=2706389 and don't private message a mod. I don't reply to private messages unless I have previously requested them

_Dexter_

User avatar
 
Posts: 1436
Joined: August 30th, 2008, 6:54 pm
Location: Miami

Post Posted September 28th, 2010, 1:39 pm

Very nice indeed. Now hovered links are where they belong, IMHO.

\:D/

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:2.0b7pre) Gecko/20100928 Firefox/4.0b7pre - Build ID: 20100928121520
Intel i7 Core Quad @ 4.25Ghz | Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus | 12GB PC3-16000 RAM | ASUS HD6970 2GB - 12.3 CATS | ASUS PA246Q IPS 24" LCD 16:10 | OCZ AGILITY-EX SSD SLC | Windows 7 SP1 x64 Ultimate

Protocol

User avatar
 
Posts: 390
Joined: October 18th, 2003, 12:44 am

Post Posted September 28th, 2010, 2:11 pm

OK. What am I doing wrong?
It is not working for me.



PS: Shouldn't this be in the Extensions section?

LoudNoise
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38459
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:45 pm
Location: Next door to the west

Post Posted September 28th, 2010, 2:20 pm

At the moment, not really. Makes more since to have it here until 4.0 is released. New folks who have an issue with the status bar are more likely to find it here then there.
Post wrangler
Notice: If you have a comment on moderation, please post here viewtopic.php?f=11&t=2706389 and don't private message a mod. I don't reply to private messages unless I have previously requested them

myzar74
 
Posts: 692
Joined: June 25th, 2004, 2:22 am

Post Posted September 28th, 2010, 2:28 pm

Protocol wrote:OK. What am I doing wrong?
It is not working for me.



PS: Shouldn't this be in the Extensions section?


it's a widget you have to drag from the customize toolbar and place it where you like, i was like wtf too this morning until i've figured out :)

maybe you should add some quick instructions in the first post because ironically this is the first extension to make use of the new addon bar

Bluefang

User avatar
 
Posts: 7846
Joined: August 10th, 2005, 2:55 pm
Location: Vermont

Post Posted September 28th, 2010, 2:41 pm

Yeah, it's not put on any toolbar by default. Once I figure out how to do that, I put it on the Addon-Bar by default.
There have always been ghosts in the machine... random segments of code that have grouped together to form unexpected protocols. Unanticipated, these free radicals engender questions of free will, creativity, and even the nature of what we might call the soul...

tmeader
 
Posts: 427
Joined: May 3rd, 2004, 10:30 pm

Post Posted September 28th, 2010, 2:48 pm

myzar74 wrote:
Protocol wrote:OK. What am I doing wrong?
It is not working for me.



PS: Shouldn't this be in the Extensions section?


it's a widget you have to drag from the customize toolbar and place it where you like, i was like wtf too this morning until i've figured out :)

maybe you should add some quick instructions in the first post because ironically this is the first extension to make use of the new addon bar


I also had to restart Minefield completely even after dragging it onto the AddOn bar. Nothing showed up at all till the restart.

_Dexter_

User avatar
 
Posts: 1436
Joined: August 30th, 2008, 6:54 pm
Location: Miami

Post Posted September 28th, 2010, 2:49 pm

I had to do a restart after I added Status Text because the URL's weren't appearing as already mentioned.

btw... what kind of network status messages are hidden? Example?

And you just know some bug fix will come along and break this. ](*,)
Intel i7 Core Quad @ 4.25Ghz | Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus | 12GB PC3-16000 RAM | ASUS HD6970 2GB - 12.3 CATS | ASUS PA246Q IPS 24" LCD 16:10 | OCZ AGILITY-EX SSD SLC | Windows 7 SP1 x64 Ultimate

Protocol

User avatar
 
Posts: 390
Joined: October 18th, 2003, 12:44 am

Post Posted September 28th, 2010, 3:10 pm

Thanks for the info, guys.
I did drag it to Add-ons Bar, but maybe I didn't restart. I can't remember now. I am not at home.
When I did drag it to the Add-ons Bar, it moved my icons to the left. Is that the expected outcome?

So if it needs to be dragged to the Add-ons Bar, what are the settings meant to do?

_Dexter_

User avatar
 
Posts: 1436
Joined: August 30th, 2008, 6:54 pm
Location: Miami

Post Posted September 28th, 2010, 3:20 pm

If I remember correctly you have to drag it to the right of your icons to have the icons on the right.
Intel i7 Core Quad @ 4.25Ghz | Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus | 12GB PC3-16000 RAM | ASUS HD6970 2GB - 12.3 CATS | ASUS PA246Q IPS 24" LCD 16:10 | OCZ AGILITY-EX SSD SLC | Windows 7 SP1 x64 Ultimate

Grimwald

User avatar
 
Posts: 23
Joined: August 28th, 2009, 12:46 am

Post Posted September 28th, 2010, 9:59 pm

Thank you for this, it places the status information back where it belongs :)

Bluefang

User avatar
 
Posts: 7846
Joined: August 10th, 2005, 2:55 pm
Location: Vermont

Post Posted September 28th, 2010, 10:22 pm

Uploaded Version 2010.09.29.00
* Added progress bar widget
* Added option to control the progress bar on the location bar
* Added option to control the progress bars on tabs
* Improved visual style of widgets while customizing the toolbar
* Fixed adding widgets to the toolbar. You no longer need to restart Firefox after adding one of the widgets to a toolbar


myzar74 wrote:maybe you should add some quick instructions in the first post because ironically this is the first extension to make use of the new addon bar

In the extension's description (in this topic and on AMO), I did mention you need to customize the toolbars after installing the extension.

tmeader wrote:I also had to restart Minefield completely even after dragging it onto the AddOn bar. Nothing showed up at all till the restart.

I fixed this is the latest version.

streetwolf wrote:btw... what kind of network status messages are hidden? Example?

The network status messages are the "Connecting to ...", "Waiting for...", "Transferring data from..." messages that flash on the status bar while loading a page.

streetwolf wrote:And you just know some bug fix will come along and break this. ](*,)

That's ok. It's a fairly simple extension and I always use the latest nightly build. So I'll know when it breaks and it should be relatively easy to fix.

Protocol wrote:When I did drag it to the Add-ons Bar, it moved my icons to the left. Is that the expected outcome?

Yes. The icons are probably in the old "statusbar" element (which is there for compatibility with old extensions). That is not a customizable toolbar item, so it's always there and it will always be the left-most item on the addons toolbar.

I did file a bug about this:
https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=599229

Protocol wrote:So if it needs to be dragged to the Add-ons Bar, what are the settings meant to do?

The settings control how the items behave, and how duplicate behavior in other places of the browser behaves.
There have always been ghosts in the machine... random segments of code that have grouped together to form unexpected protocols. Unanticipated, these free radicals engender questions of free will, creativity, and even the nature of what we might call the soul...

Protocol

User avatar
 
Posts: 390
Joined: October 18th, 2003, 12:44 am

Post Posted September 29th, 2010, 12:58 am

Thanks mate...
I'll give it a go.

Protocol

User avatar
 
Posts: 390
Joined: October 18th, 2003, 12:44 am

Post Posted September 29th, 2010, 1:28 am

AWESOME stuff.
I love it.
I managed to get both the Progress Bar and the URL over on the left side and leave my icons on the right.

http://img375.imageshack.us/img375/4223 ... ropped.jpg

If anything, the Progress Bar needs to be a little wider.


I find it amazing that anyone could find the current default Minefield solution to be anywhere near as good as this.
I think they have made a change for change sake.
Last edited by Dartman on November 20th, 2010, 7:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Removed image tags to stop breaking of forum layout.

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 5 guests