MozillaZine

Corrupted Content error

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
Robertos
 
Posts: 24
Joined: March 27th, 2003, 2:49 pm
Location: São Paulo - Brazil

Post Posted August 18th, 2011, 1:10 pm

Using Firefox 7.0b1 the site:
josiasdesouza.folha.blog.uol.com.br
returns:
"Corrupted Content error
The page you are trying to view cannot be shown because an error in the data transmission was detected...."

Loads correctly with Firefox 6.xx, IExx
Does anyone confirm this?
What this means?

KWierso
 
Posts: 8831
Joined: May 7th, 2006, 10:29 pm
Location: California

Post Posted August 18th, 2011, 1:16 pm

Clear your browser cache and try again?

Robertos
 
Posts: 24
Joined: March 27th, 2003, 2:49 pm
Location: São Paulo - Brazil

Post Posted August 18th, 2011, 5:25 pm

Same behavior cearing cache and/or staring with addons disabled...

kilara1988

User avatar
 
Posts: 374
Joined: July 1st, 2011, 2:57 am

Post Posted August 18th, 2011, 6:12 pm

Try new profile.

zegames
 
Posts: 161
Joined: March 11th, 2009, 1:09 pm

Post Posted August 18th, 2011, 7:54 pm

Problem confirmed here, new profile.

mikedl

User avatar
 
Posts: 1236
Joined: October 14th, 2010, 4:47 pm
Location: Florida, USA

Post Posted August 19th, 2011, 12:05 am

Appears to be a site specific issue. I get it, too, on Fx 9.0a1 Win x64.

Image

Might wanna contact the site builder.
"It may be that there are true demonstrations; but this is not certain. Thus, this proves nothing else but that it is not certain that all is uncertain, to the glory of skepticism." Pascal's Pensées

Rooker
 
Posts: 20
Joined: August 2nd, 2010, 9:06 am

Post Posted August 22nd, 2011, 3:39 pm

I'm getting this error all over the place myself ever since installing FF 7b. I even got it on the feedback page it takes you to when you click the feedback button. Sometimes I see it in advertising iframes while the rest of the page loads.

My ISP (Hughes Direcway) uses a proxy server to help deal with satellite latency, so that might have something to do with it.

LegNeato
 
Posts: 22
Joined: June 9th, 2010, 1:22 pm

Post Posted August 22nd, 2011, 5:09 pm

I filed this:

https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=681140

I can reproduce in the mozilla offices as well, thanks for testing!

Bluefang

User avatar
 
Posts: 7857
Joined: August 10th, 2005, 2:55 pm
Location: Vermont

Post Posted August 22nd, 2011, 5:34 pm

Looks like the server is sending bad/inconsistent data.

* Duplicate "location" headers is invalid.
* If you're sending a "location" header, there shouldn't be any content.
* The second request should not be sending a "location" header.
* I'll attribute the different "content-length" headers to slightly different page content, but I haven't checked.

http://josiasdesouza.folha.blog.uol.com.br/ (broken)
GET / HTTP/1.1
Host: josiasdesouza.folha.blog.uol.com.br
User-Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:9.0a1) Gecko/20110821 Firefox/9.0a1
Accept: text/html,application/xhtml+xml,application/xml;q=0.9,*/*;q=0.8
Accept-Language: en-us,en;q=0.5
Accept-Encoding: gzip, deflate
DNT: 1
Cookie: UOL_VIS=B|75.69.26.182|1314058373.158368|1314058380; s_sess=%20s_cc%3Dtrue%3B%20s_sq%3D%3B; s_pers=%20s_visit%3D1%7C1314060233542%3B
Connection: keep-alive

HTTP/1.1 200 OK
Date: Tue, 23 Aug 2011 00:17:09 GMT
Server: Apache/2.0.58 (Unix) Ganesh/2.2.0
Location: http://josiasdesouza.folha.blog.uol.com.br/index.html
Location: http://josiasdesouza.folha.blog.uol.com.br/

Last-Modified: Tue, 23 Aug 2011 00:13:21 GMT
ETag: "1c108-1034aa40"
Accept-Ranges: bytes
Cache-Control: no-cache, no-store
Expires: Tue, 23 Aug 2011 00:13:22 GMT
Vary: Accept-Encoding,User-Agent
Content-Encoding: gzip
Pragma: no-store
Content-Length: 17068
Keep-Alive: timeout=5, max=200
Connection: Keep-Alive
Content-Type: text/html


http://josiasdesouza.folha.blog.uol.com.br/index.html (works)
GET /index.html HTTP/1.1
Host: josiasdesouza.folha.blog.uol.com.br
User-Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:9.0a1) Gecko/20110821 Firefox/9.0a1
Accept: text/html,application/xhtml+xml,application/xml;q=0.9,*/*;q=0.8
Accept-Language: en-us,en;q=0.5
Accept-Encoding: gzip, deflate
DNT: 1
Cookie: UOL_VIS=B|75.69.26.182|1314058373.158368|1314058380; s_sess=%20s_cc%3Dtrue%3B%20s_sq%3D%3B; s_pers=%20s_visit%3D1%7C1314060233542%3B
Connection: keep-alive

HTTP/1.1 200 OK
Date: Tue, 23 Aug 2011 00:19:10 GMT
Server: Apache/2.0.58 (Unix) Ganesh/2.2.0
Location: http://josiasdesouza.folha.blog.uol.com.br/index.html
Last-Modified: Tue, 23 Aug 2011 00:18:35 GMT
ETag: "1c5cb-22ebecc0"
Accept-Ranges: bytes
Cache-Control: no-cache, no-store
Expires: Tue, 23 Aug 2011 00:18:36 GMT
Vary: Accept-Encoding,User-Agent
Content-Encoding: gzip
Pragma: no-store
Content-Length: 17408
Keep-Alive: timeout=5, max=200
Connection: Keep-Alive
Content-Type: text/html
There have always been ghosts in the machine... random segments of code that have grouped together to form unexpected protocols. Unanticipated, these free radicals engender questions of free will, creativity, and even the nature of what we might call the soul...

Rooker
 
Posts: 20
Joined: August 2nd, 2010, 9:06 am

Post Posted August 26th, 2011, 2:10 pm

I'm noticing a pattern. It seems to happen more often when there is a redirect involved, like with URL shorteners. It's happened several times with pulse.me links.

LegNeato
 
Posts: 22
Joined: June 9th, 2010, 1:22 pm

Post Posted August 26th, 2011, 5:07 pm

If you read in the bug, Firefox is doing the right thing and the server itself if doing something wrong (possibly insecure). Can you paste URLs here so we can do outreach for various affected sites? And, if you have time, an email to their support address would help as well.

Thanks!

squall_leonhart

User avatar
 
Posts: 885
Joined: March 17th, 2008, 5:32 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted August 28th, 2011, 8:18 pm


Bluefang

User avatar
 
Posts: 7857
Joined: August 10th, 2005, 2:55 pm
Location: Vermont

Post Posted August 29th, 2011, 11:21 am

I don't see the corrupted content error on the Google code page when using Firefox 9.

If you can reproduce it in earlier versions, you should probably report it in the bug linked earlier.
There have always been ghosts in the machine... random segments of code that have grouped together to form unexpected protocols. Unanticipated, these free radicals engender questions of free will, creativity, and even the nature of what we might call the soul...

squall_leonhart

User avatar
 
Posts: 885
Joined: March 17th, 2008, 5:32 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted August 29th, 2011, 7:44 pm

I figured it out, it turned out to be a cookie issue

an odd one though, i'd used the same google cookies from 4-6.

ktighe
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: September 28th, 2011, 10:55 am

Post Posted September 28th, 2011, 11:00 am

FYI, we ran into this problem in our internal website on a page that served PDF files. It turned out that we were inadvertently sending two Content-Disposition headers in the response. Once we corrected that the error went away.

According to comments in the thread below, this error can be caused by duplicate Content-Disposition, Content-Length and Content-Type headers.

https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=681140

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: streetwolf and 6 guests