MozillaZine

Australis Discussion

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
KWierso
 
Posts: 8790
Joined: May 7th, 2006, 10:29 pm
Location: California

Post Posted November 15th, 2012, 12:55 pm

Those prefs don't work any more, you'll have to use CSS.

Srap
 
Posts: 289
Joined: July 18th, 2012, 11:57 am

Post Posted November 15th, 2012, 1:28 pm

KWierso wrote:Those prefs don't work any more, you'll have to use CSS.

That's strange. I just changed minimum width to 200, and all my tabs got wider after hitting Enter.
If you are right, and this shouldn't work, does this mean that one of my add-ons use it?
Sorry for my bad English. Even if there wasn't a mistake.

couldabeen

User avatar
 
Posts: 6722
Joined: September 9th, 2003, 11:24 am
Location: I'm Right Here

Post Posted November 15th, 2012, 5:11 pm

Srap wrote:
KWierso wrote:Those prefs don't work any more, you'll have to use CSS.

That's strange. I just changed minimum width to 200, and all my tabs got wider after hitting Enter.
If you are right, and this shouldn't work, does this mean that one of my add-ons use it?


This is the only config pref I find for tab width. 'browser.tabs.tabClipWidth' (Default is 140) May affect tab width when compressing. I don't know, haven't tried it. I'm willing to wait until the devs have things their way, then start CSS'ing it.
Free Your Mind, And Your A$$ Will Follow - Funkadelic, 1970

patrickjdempsey

User avatar
 
Posts: 22713
Joined: October 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am
Location: Asheville NC

Post Posted November 15th, 2012, 5:18 pm

No. browser.tabs.tabClipWidth controls when to hide the close button. Set to zero to disable hiding of the close button when tabs overflow. Again, tab width *requires* CSS solutions. You can plug all of the values you want into browser.tabs.tabMinWidth and browser.tabs.tabMaxWidth but they will do nothing in stock Firefox versions.
Tip of the day: If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.
What my avatar is about: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/sea-fox/

couldabeen

User avatar
 
Posts: 6722
Joined: September 9th, 2003, 11:24 am
Location: I'm Right Here

Post Posted November 15th, 2012, 8:38 pm

browser.tabs.tabMinWidth and browser.tabs.tabMaxWidth aren't even shown as available settings when I do about:config, so to me it's a moot point. I've CSS'd my tab width's for a few years now, and will do so with this when it gets released.
Free Your Mind, And Your A$$ Will Follow - Funkadelic, 1970

StinDaWg
 
Posts: 181
Joined: October 6th, 2012, 3:03 pm

Post Posted November 16th, 2012, 8:34 pm


Srap
 
Posts: 289
Joined: July 18th, 2012, 11:57 am

Post Posted November 17th, 2012, 5:28 am

Srap wrote:does this mean that one of my add-ons use it?

Found it, Tab Mix Plus was the culprit.
Sorry for my bad English. Even if there wasn't a mistake.

Srap
 
Posts: 289
Joined: July 18th, 2012, 11:57 am

Post Posted November 27th, 2012, 12:30 pm

Australis
Windows tabs nearing completion, in final review stages (bug 738491)

from today's Weekly meeting
Sorry for my bad English. Even if there wasn't a mistake.

Omega X

User avatar
 
Posts: 7382
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 2:38 pm
Location: A Parallel Dimension...

Post Posted November 27th, 2012, 8:11 pm

* wrong thread, post moved.
Last edited by Omega X on November 28th, 2012, 12:17 am, edited 1 time in total.
Latest: Firefox/38.0.6 *ESR/38.0.1 - Mobile/38.0.1 - Thunderbird/38.0 - SeaMonkey/2.33.1
Nightly: Nightly/41.0 - Mobile/41.0 - Daily/41.0 - SeaMonkey/2.35a1

Grantius

User avatar
 
Posts: 1244
Joined: June 28th, 2011, 4:14 pm

Post Posted November 27th, 2012, 8:47 pm

Srap wrote:Australis
Windows tabs nearing completion, in final review stages (bug 738491)

from today's Weekly meeting


The square design used currently rocks - if I wanted to use Chrome I'd just use Chrome.

I hope that this doesn't become default.
Micro gaming box: AMD A10-7800 APU, 8gb RAM M350 ITX case (size of a book), Ubuntu 15.04/W10TP
Tablet/Laptop: Asus Transformer T100, Intel Atom 2GB RAM, Windows 10TP x86, Nightly 32bit
Mobile:Note 3 with CM12, Nightly FF

JayhawksRock

User avatar
 
Posts: 8782
Joined: October 24th, 2010, 8:51 am

Post Posted November 27th, 2012, 9:02 pm

Grantius wrote:
Srap wrote:Australis
Windows tabs nearing completion, in final review stages (bug 738491)

from today's Weekly meeting


The square design used currently rocks - if I wanted to use Chrome I'd just use Chrome.

I hope that this doesn't become default.

I agree, but the try build I'm using isnt that bad. Only the focused tab has the curves. The background tabs are rectangles with a very light border. They do show a curve when hovered tho. This is on XP so may not be everywhere, glass etc.
"Outside of a dog, a book is a man's best friend. Inside of a dog it's too dark to read." ~ Groucho Marx

SLK350
 
Posts: 44
Joined: July 21st, 2011, 3:19 am

Post Posted November 27th, 2012, 11:37 pm

Anyone else noticing this? Looks ok when not maximised. This is with latest UX build.

Image

patrickjdempsey

User avatar
 
Posts: 22713
Joined: October 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am
Location: Asheville NC

Post Posted November 28th, 2012, 3:27 am

Looks like they've got a negative margin somewhere. Notice that the app-tab separator lines also come down into that area.
Tip of the day: If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.
What my avatar is about: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/sea-fox/

Alice0775

User avatar
 
Posts: 2155
Joined: October 26th, 2007, 11:25 pm
Location: OSAKA

Post Posted November 28th, 2012, 5:16 am

Ugly Australis. Who like Australis?
If it ain't broke, don't fix it.
e10s destroys my Firefox.
Fx-team destroys my Firefox.
Firefox :: Collections :: Add-ons for Firefox, Git Hub uc.js & cb

Zlip792

User avatar
 
Posts: 1335
Joined: May 7th, 2011, 1:47 pm
Location: Pakistan

Post Posted November 28th, 2012, 5:59 am

Personally I don't like this Australis theme, it is kind of Chrome feeling in it, so I personally prefer current theme. Although it is inevitable change so I can't say much since developers are decided on it and not gonna change whatever we do unless we change browser. :-)

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: cstkingkey, Google [Bot] and 10 guests