MozillaZine

Disabling plugin container

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
lwman
 
Posts: 49
Joined: August 8th, 2006, 5:31 pm

Post Posted July 15th, 2012, 7:38 pm

I have an older computer and disabled the plugin container(dom.ipc.plugins.enabled-false) some time ago and firefox functioned well as long as I didn't use the plugin container. I am using 14 beta and I noticed that my computer hangs quite a bit if there is flash on a site. I also noticed that plugin container is using high cpu and I can't seem to disable the plugin container any more. Is there another trick to disable the plugin container so I can use firefox on this computer or do I need to just use chrome which works well on the same sites and doesn't use as much cpu?
Thanks

Grantius

User avatar
 
Posts: 1215
Joined: June 28th, 2011, 4:14 pm

Post Posted July 15th, 2012, 7:40 pm

Hi,

This was removed last week - I don't see how disabling it will help with CPU, instead it will be firefox.exe using the CPU and RAM not plugincontainer.exe....

And having it separate will give you much better performance?
Micro gaming box: AMD A10-7800 APU, 8gb RAM M350 ITX case (size of a book), Ubuntu 15.04/W10TP
Tablet/Laptop: Asus Transformer T100, Intel Atom 2GB RAM, Windows 10TP x86, Nightly 32bit
Mobile:Note 3 with CM12, Nightly FF

kancaras

User avatar
 
Posts: 112
Joined: September 21st, 2010, 11:39 am

Post Posted July 15th, 2012, 10:34 pm

are you using 11.3.300.265 flash? you beter downgrade it to 11.2!!! new version is known to cause crashes and high cpu loads. you might want to use another channel of firefox too.

natri23
 
Posts: 9
Joined: June 30th, 2008, 9:25 pm

Post Posted July 16th, 2012, 11:25 pm

I would want that option back too...
the plugin-container separate firefox from flash video and since windows priority only one of them, either the video or the browser will suffer...

pal-moz
 
Posts: 5935
Joined: September 23rd, 2005, 5:40 pm
Location: Tokyo , Japan

Post Posted July 16th, 2012, 11:56 pm

Grantius wrote:This was removed last week

not removed.

Bug 769721 - Force-enable OOPP for Flash users on Windows Vista+
[Desktop] Windows 7 Professional (32bit/SP1) / Geforce GTX 660Ti 2GB (350.12) / 4GB RAM

Omega X

User avatar
 
Posts: 7348
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 2:38 pm
Location: A Parallel Dimension...

Post Posted July 17th, 2012, 12:05 am

lwman wrote:I have an older computer and disabled the plugin container(dom.ipc.plugins.enabled-false) some time ago and firefox functioned well as long as I didn't use the plugin container. I am using 14 beta and I noticed that my computer hangs quite a bit if there is flash on a site.


That's Flash in general. Ever since they introduced the sandbox mode, its become a hassle.
Latest: Firefox/38.0.1 *ESR/38.0.1 - Mobile/38.0.1 - Thunderbird/31.7.0 - SeaMonkey/2.33.1
Nightly: Nightly/41.0 - Mobile/41.0 - Daily/41.0 - SeaMonkey/2.35a1

mikedl

User avatar
 
Posts: 1236
Joined: October 14th, 2010, 4:47 pm
Location: Florida, USA

Post Posted July 17th, 2012, 12:16 am

Can't say I've had an issue with it on my 4 year old laptop. (Running the latest Flash).

Again, no issues on my end and, in fact, I get fewer random freezes (with the latest Flash - 11.3.300.265) requiring a hard reset of my laptop.
"It may be that there are true demonstrations; but this is not certain. Thus, this proves nothing else but that it is not certain that all is uncertain, to the glory of skepticism." Pascal's Pensées

subfire
 
Posts: 55
Joined: December 25th, 2010, 11:08 am

Post Posted July 20th, 2012, 9:41 pm

So, they completely removed the option to turn it off? That's sad.

James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 25491
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted July 20th, 2012, 9:45 pm

(*.mozillaZine.org is not Mozilla!)
The Complaint Department at Mozilla (current complaints) (<It is not a real complaint site but for jokes/testing of bugzilla).
The Complaint department link is borked until unknown time.

lll3
 
Posts: 45
Joined: February 25th, 2012, 12:07 am

Post Posted July 21st, 2012, 1:52 am


I don't think this patch was committed. So Flash is forced to run out-of-process, regardless of setting. Hehe.

nugitx
 
Posts: 2
Joined: July 22nd, 2012, 1:19 am

Post Posted July 22nd, 2012, 1:21 am

Hello i have the same problem,

what exactly do i have to write in about:config in ff 14 to disable plugin-container.exe again ?

lll3
 
Posts: 45
Joined: February 25th, 2012, 12:07 am

Post Posted July 22nd, 2012, 6:35 am

I'm curious if plugin-container is a real, rather than perceived, problem. (Disclaimer: I uninstalled Flash from my computer.)

L.A.R. Grizzly

User avatar
 
Posts: 4681
Joined: March 15th, 2005, 5:32 pm
Location: Akron, Ohio, USA

Post Posted July 24th, 2012, 1:40 pm

nugitx wrote:Hello i have the same problem,

what exactly do i have to write in about:config in ff 14 to disable plugin-container.exe again ?


dom.ipc.plugins.enabled - false still works for me in FX 16. I haven't used the plugincontainer.exe for quite a while now (with no problems).
Win7 Pro SP1 64 Bit
Comodo Internet Security
Firefox 38.0.1, Thunderbird 31.7.0 and SeaMonkey 2.33.1

Gingerbread Man

User avatar
 
Posts: 7412
Joined: January 30th, 2007, 10:55 am

Post Posted July 24th, 2012, 3:49 pm

L.A.R. Grizzly wrote:dom.ipc.plugins.enabled - false still works for me in FX 16.

pal-moz wrote:Bug 769721 - Force-enable OOPP for Flash users on Windows Vista+

L.A.R. Grizzly

User avatar
 
Posts: 4681
Joined: March 15th, 2005, 5:32 pm
Location: Akron, Ohio, USA

Post Posted July 24th, 2012, 3:51 pm

Gingerbread Man wrote:
L.A.R. Grizzly wrote:dom.ipc.plugins.enabled - false still works for me in FX 16.

pal-moz wrote:Bug 769721 - Force-enable OOPP for Flash users on Windows Vista+


I love WinXP!
Win7 Pro SP1 64 Bit
Comodo Internet Security
Firefox 38.0.1, Thunderbird 31.7.0 and SeaMonkey 2.33.1

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests