MozillaZine

New Customization/New Menu UI mockup

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
Mentycz
 
Posts: 42
Joined: June 21st, 2012, 8:10 am

Post Posted October 20th, 2012, 4:10 pm

Yes and I think, if there was a "preferences" button, it will open in content preferences.... Maybe it will look like this: http://people.mozilla.com/~zfang/Prefer ... rences.jpg But who knows...

I had a Nightly build, which has incontent preferences like on my picture, but I dont remember, where I found it...

JayhawksRock

User avatar
 
Posts: 8787
Joined: October 24th, 2010, 8:51 am

Post Posted October 20th, 2012, 4:50 pm

I had a Nightly build, which has incontent preferences like on my picture, but I dont remember, where I found it...


Maybe about:preferences ? or about:home
"Outside of a dog, a book is a man's best friend. Inside of a dog it's too dark to read." ~ Groucho Marx

Mentycz
 
Posts: 42
Joined: June 21st, 2012, 8:10 am

Post Posted October 20th, 2012, 5:10 pm

About:preferences looks now like this: http://www.geek.com/wp-content/uploads/ ... ontent.jpg

But I have found (2 months ago) a Nightly build, which has incontent preferences exactly like this: http://people.mozilla.com/~zfang/Prefer ... rences.jpg

patrickjdempsey

User avatar
 
Posts: 22720
Joined: October 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am
Location: Asheville NC

Post Posted October 20th, 2012, 5:14 pm

In Content Preferences landed a LONG time ago. It's actually in Firefox 16: browser.preferences.inContent

Once you use it you'll understand why it isn't enabled by default... using the Back button to navigate through it stinks.
Tip of the day: If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.
What my avatar is about: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/sea-fox/

BruceAWittmeier

User avatar
 
Posts: 2374
Joined: June 9th, 2008, 10:53 am
Location: Near 37.501685 -80.147967

Post Posted October 21st, 2012, 7:19 pm

browser.preferences.inContent I think the layout and look is appealing but to your point only 1 category at a time is no good.

They should take an approach like the Addon Manager with a vertical display - which isnt much different than what we have not (horizontal display). But it looks better. It would share some look and feel.
~ I'm only here to Pay it Forward. ~

"I often take a very long windy road to my destination. When I arrive I often wonder how I missed the shortcut".

KWierso
 
Posts: 8790
Joined: May 7th, 2006, 10:29 pm
Location: California

Post Posted October 21st, 2012, 7:50 pm

And that's why it isn't enabled by default.

Canyonero
 
Posts: 1407
Joined: April 25th, 2003, 11:02 pm

Post Posted October 22nd, 2012, 8:25 am

BruceAWittmeier wrote:browser.preferences.inContent I think the layout and look is appealing but to your point only 1 category at a time is no good.

They should take an approach like the Addon Manager with a vertical display - which isnt much different than what we have not (horizontal display). But it looks better. It would share some look and feel.

Thats bug 754344 if you're interested in helping with it.

Mentycz
 
Posts: 42
Joined: June 21st, 2012, 8:10 am

Post Posted October 23rd, 2012, 12:01 am

Canyonero wrote:
BruceAWittmeier wrote:browser.preferences.inContent I think the layout and look is appealing but to your point only 1 category at a time is no good.

They should take an approach like the Addon Manager with a vertical display - which isnt much different than what we have not (horizontal display). But it looks better. It would share some look and feel.

Thats bug 754344 if you're interested in helping with it.



Yes, thanks, there was also a try build of new incontent preferences (in Addon manager style), but the link is broken....https://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.org ... 33d5b2441/

BruceAWittmeier

User avatar
 
Posts: 2374
Joined: June 9th, 2008, 10:53 am
Location: Near 37.501685 -80.147967

Post Posted October 23rd, 2012, 8:23 am

I have this setting set true: browser.preferences.inContent - I really like the appearance.

However, in the General tab I cannot edit in the Save Files to downloads directory box. Also when I use the browse it duplicates the directory appending to the base directory which is where I want downloads stored.

I want this:
d:\downloads
I get this:
d:\downloads\downloads

After checking it changed it in the about:config to the incorrect location.

Here is what they all look like:

Tools/Options...
General
Image

Tabs
Image

Content
Image

Applications
Image

Privacy
Image

Security
Image

Sync
Image

Advanced
Image
~ I'm only here to Pay it Forward. ~

"I often take a very long windy road to my destination. When I arrive I often wonder how I missed the shortcut".

_matt_
 
Posts: 67
Joined: May 29th, 2011, 10:51 pm

Post Posted October 23rd, 2012, 12:02 pm

Is it known yet if the new menu will be accessible via keyboard?

Mentycz
 
Posts: 42
Joined: June 21st, 2012, 8:10 am

Post Posted October 23rd, 2012, 3:17 pm

Yes, we know how it looks like, you can also easily type about:preferences into your URL adress to display this in content sett.

_matt_
 
Posts: 67
Joined: May 29th, 2011, 10:51 pm

Post Posted October 23rd, 2012, 6:01 pm

Mentycz wrote:Yes, we know how it looks like, you can also easily type about:preferences into your URL adress to display this in content sett.

I'm not asking about in-content preferences, I'm asking about the actual thread topic.

BruceAWittmeier

User avatar
 
Posts: 2374
Joined: June 9th, 2008, 10:53 am
Location: Near 37.501685 -80.147967

Post Posted October 24th, 2012, 7:55 am

Mentycz - Thanks. I didnt know that.
~ I'm only here to Pay it Forward. ~

"I often take a very long windy road to my destination. When I arrive I often wonder how I missed the shortcut".

BruceAWittmeier

User avatar
 
Posts: 2374
Joined: June 9th, 2008, 10:53 am
Location: Near 37.501685 -80.147967

Post Posted October 27th, 2012, 7:31 am

Mentycz wrote:http://people.mozilla.com/~zfang/Preferences/InContentPreferences.jpg

http://people.mozilla.com/~zfang/Prefer ... rences.jpg

patrickjdempsey wrote:Once you use it you'll understand why it isn't enabled by default... using the Back button to navigate through it stinks.


I must have missed this image from Mentycz the first readings. That image shows all the sections on the first page which is what I think others want - self included. No need for the back button.

Note: on todays nightly 10/27 the 32 bit prompts for reboot after installation rather than just starting.
~ I'm only here to Pay it Forward. ~

"I often take a very long windy road to my destination. When I arrive I often wonder how I missed the shortcut".

patrickjdempsey

User avatar
 
Posts: 22720
Joined: October 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am
Location: Asheville NC

Post Posted October 28th, 2012, 1:33 am

Therefore, it's not finished.
Tip of the day: If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.
What my avatar is about: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/sea-fox/

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests