Firefox build instructions

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
djst

Firefox build instructions

Post by djst »

I want to update the download page at Mozilla Firebird (Help) to link to a page with good, step by step instructions for how to build Firebird (and perhaps Thunderbird if the approach is similar). Unfortunately, I'm not very experienced when it comes to building Mozilla in the first place so I would like to hear if someone is up to the task or perhaps could point me to a good page to start with.

I want this page to be on the Mozilla Firebird site. Any help or suggestions on where to get help is greatly appreciated and will probably benefit the community as a whole. Either use email, pm or reply to this thread if you have any ideas. Thanks in advance.

(Title changed by alanjstr 20031211, and by vfwlkr 20040209)
DamianMoran

Post by DamianMoran »

Here is a good resource for Windows: http://gemal.dk/mozilla/build.html
Old Persist

Post by Old Persist »

I've only just built Firebird and Thunderbird on Linux successfully in the last few days. I did my first succesfull build following the instructions on this page http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?t=17745 . But really that was the last step in a long process. The main thing is, when your build fails at the ./configure stage, read the error messages carefully. Search your hard drive to see if the programs are there but are in an unusual place. Check your Linux CD's to see if the app is on there. Google on the error message. Read. All the information is out there. You can download all the tools for free. It's quicker (and more satisfying) to solve your problems yourself so Google.
daihard
Folder@Home

Post by daihard »

To build Firebird on Linux...

First, make sure you have the following environment variable set:

Code: Select all

CVSROOT=:pserver:anonymous@cvs-mirror.mozilla.org:/cvsroot