MozillaZine

Add-on Compatibility Reporter 2.0 causes FF to freeze

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
LL25255252
 
Posts: 46
Joined: July 6th, 2009, 6:01 am

Post Posted January 20th, 2013, 7:09 am

Opening the AOM (add-ons manager) freezes the browser for 2 minutes when Add-on Compatibility Reporter 2.0 is installed.

It happens whether or not AIOS addon is installed.
Firefox 19beta
Windows 7.

Even after I disabled all my 103 addons (except for the ACR addon) the problem continued.
Here's the Firefoxe's Troubleshooting Information:
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0Bw-lUCA ... VTdE0/edit

Is the number of addons relevant to the problem? It might be so, because I have another profile with 61 addons and there's no problem.
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0Bw-lUCA ... 0yNGM/edit

BTW - removing the "extensions.sqlite" file from the profile folder didn't help.

If you post Please mention how many addons you have and the version of Firefox.
Thanks in advance.

Briscoe
 
Posts: 219
Joined: June 14th, 2012, 11:53 am

Post Posted January 20th, 2013, 8:08 am

Well it has to check 103 add-ons. I am surprised your Firefox works at all.

WLS

User avatar
 
Posts: 2228
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted January 20th, 2013, 8:17 am

So why don't you use the "Report Issue" button for AoCR 2.0, in AOM?
Useless to you, is useful to someone else.
AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 4.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Kubuntu 14.10 | KDE 4.14.1

LL25255252
 
Posts: 46
Joined: July 6th, 2009, 6:01 am

Post Posted January 20th, 2013, 8:45 am

Briscoe wrote:Well it has to check 103 add-ons. I am surprised your Firefox works at all.

First I made a mistake. I actually have more than a 100 addons. 150 addons (100 enabled,50 disabled) but my Firefox launches very fast (a few seconds) and the CPU level is low. (I intend to remove the disabled addons in the near future).

But still, is it a "big deal" to compare 100-150 pairs of version numbers ?

And also does this add-on has to check the addons versions everytime I open the AOM ? Can't it skip checking addons which I haven't updated since the last time it made a check ?

LL25255252
 
Posts: 46
Joined: July 6th, 2009, 6:01 am

Post Posted January 20th, 2013, 8:49 am

WLS wrote:So why don't you use the "Report Issue" button for AoCR 2.0, in AOM?


Yes, I actually reported with the "Report Issue" button of ACR 2.0.

Drumbrake

User avatar
 
Posts: 914
Joined: February 14th, 2011, 2:34 am

Post Posted January 20th, 2013, 11:03 am

Briscoe wrote:Well it has to check 103 add-ons. I am surprised your Firefox works at all.


We take things seriously around here,testing means testing :lol:

When I bitch about Firefox being maybe a touch slow with some 100+ tabs open,some friends remind me that Explorer used to crash on the second tab :wink:

Grantius

User avatar
 
Posts: 1248
Joined: June 28th, 2011, 4:14 pm

Post Posted January 20th, 2013, 11:26 am

LL25255252 wrote:Opening the AOM (add-ons manager) freezes the browser for 2 minutes when Add-on Compatibility Reporter 2.0 is installed.

It happens whether or not AIOS addon is installed.
Firefox 19beta
Windows 7.

Even after I disabled all my 103 addons (except for the ACR addon) the problem continued.
Here's the Firefoxe's Troubleshooting Information:
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0Bw-lUCA ... VTdE0/edit

Is the number of addons relevant to the problem? It might be so, because I have another profile with 61 addons and there's no problem.
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0Bw-lUCA ... 0yNGM/edit

BTW - removing the "extensions.sqlite" file from the profile folder didn't help.

If you post Please mention how many addons you have and the version of Firefox.
Thanks in advance.


103 Addons - wow.

What kind of memory usage do you get?
Micro gaming box: AMD A10-7800 APU, 8gb RAM M350 ITX case (size of a book), Ubuntu 15.04/W10TP
Tablet/Laptop: Asus Transformer T100, Intel Atom 2GB RAM, Windows 10TP x86, Nightly 32bit
Mobile:Note 3 with CM12, Nightly FF

Elbart
 
Posts: 997
Joined: February 21st, 2010, 8:38 am

Post Posted January 21st, 2013, 7:37 am

Briscoe wrote:Well it has to check 103 add-ons. I am surprised your Firefox works at all.

Considering addons (and the scope of their features within Fx) is one of the last remaining USPs of Firefox, it better continues to work with this "many" addons. Personally I got 55 enabled addons, which I don't consider to be a lot.

And yes, I've seen ACR to slow down about:addons considerably, because it adds some links and buttons to the whole design on every screen-refresh.
gone

Drumbrake

User avatar
 
Posts: 914
Joined: February 14th, 2011, 2:34 am

Post Posted January 21st, 2013, 12:55 pm

I was just kidding,then after your post had to check out and found that I too have 50+ addons,the interesting thing being IMHO that many of them are needed just to restore features pruned during Firefox's latest development.

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests