MozillaZine

Javascript error on 22 beta

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
Fuziwuzi

User avatar
 
Posts: 234
Joined: November 28th, 2007, 8:33 am
Location: Atlanta, Georgia USA

Post Posted May 17th, 2013, 4:35 am

I'm running the latest beta of 22. On previous beta this did not occur, only after updating to latest. When access Facebook and a few other pages that have a lot of JS code, I get a popup error message that says, "Error: Illegal operation on WrappedNative prototype object". I can click OK and go on, the page seems to display correctly, but the popup is very annoying.
Win7-64 Ultimate, Core2Duo E6700, 2GB PC3200 DDR ram, ATI HD4650 graphics.

Dingler

User avatar
 
Posts: 1245
Joined: November 14th, 2011, 4:41 am

Post Posted May 17th, 2013, 4:43 am

Add-on issue maybe, try in safe mode.
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/tr ... -safe-mode

Fuziwuzi

User avatar
 
Posts: 234
Joined: November 28th, 2007, 8:33 am
Location: Atlanta, Georgia USA

Post Posted May 17th, 2013, 9:24 am

Dingler wrote:Add-on issue maybe, try in safe mode.
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/tr ... -safe-mode
OK, in safe mode there is no popup. But, that doesn't help me diagnose why the popup occurs or which extension is causing it or whether it is due to graphics acceleration or other settings. While in safe mode I can't selectively enable extensions one by one to find out which might be the culprit.

Reverting to previous beta, with all extensions enabled as usual I get no popup errors.
Win7-64 Ultimate, Core2Duo E6700, 2GB PC3200 DDR ram, ATI HD4650 graphics.

Ver Greeneyes
 
Posts: 1030
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 4:57 am

Post Posted May 17th, 2013, 9:47 am

Unfortunately there's no real good way to do this. The best way is to disable half your addons, see if it still happens, then disable half the remaining ones and so on until you've narrowed it down to 1. However, you might want to try disabling all of them first to see if it's related to a change in the JIT compilers, since safe mode disables those too.

KWierso
 
Posts: 8831
Joined: May 7th, 2006, 10:29 pm
Location: California

Post Posted May 17th, 2013, 12:14 pm

If you open the error console immediately after the error pops up, it might give a filename to clue you in to what's throwing the error. Ctrl-Shift-J will bring up the error console.

al**bear
 
Posts: 15
Joined: July 5th, 2010, 2:25 am

Post Posted May 18th, 2013, 6:18 am

'Facebook purity' add-on is not working with FF22.0

Dingler

User avatar
 
Posts: 1245
Joined: November 14th, 2011, 4:41 am

Post Posted May 18th, 2013, 6:50 am

Fuziwuzi wrote:
Dingler wrote:Add-on issue maybe, try in safe mode.
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/tr ... -safe-mode
OK, in safe mode there is no popup. But, that doesn't help me diagnose why the popup occurs or which extension is causing it or whether it is due to graphics acceleration or other settings. While in safe mode I can't selectively enable extensions one by one to find out which might be the culprit.

Reverting to previous beta, with all extensions enabled as usual I get no popup errors.

Add-on dichotomy disabling.

CalsRock
 
Posts: 1
Joined: July 5th, 2013, 6:18 am

Post Posted July 5th, 2013, 6:21 am

I disabled the ' Youtube Downloader Videos 1.3 ' and the problem stopped.

Prior to this, the popups were happening every 5 seconds.

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests