WARNING Firefox 64 bit and Flash player

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
arnoldsfirefox

WARNING Firefox 64 bit and Flash player

Post by arnoldsfirefox »

I have been using the 64 bit version of Firefox for several months and it has been a great experience. Last week I move from the Developers Edition to the Beta channel. While I was on the Developer Edition I avoided adding any plug-ins(especially the Flash player). If there were problems or bugs with the version of Firefox I was using I wanted as little third party software on the system as possible in case debugging was required. After the switch to Beta 43.0b8 I decided to give Flash Player a chance and see how it worked with a 64 bit browser. After the install of Flash Player Version 19.0.+. The problems started up almost as soon as the install was completed. The same old problems that it had before, extreme slowing down of Firefox, several tabs open at one time bog Firefox down such that I had to cancel Firefox. Large amounts of storage were used(in excess of 1.5GB), where the running without Flash Player, the storage usage was 350-500MB. Even when I went into Firefox options and requested that Flash player must request permission to run the problems persisted. As soon as I remove Flash Player from my system all problems disappeared and things went back to normal.

At this point I would warn everyone to be very careful about installing Flash Player until they address their problems or complete re-write the software. And for the sake of your system avoid Flash Player at all cost. There is nothing on the web that requires Flash Player that I can’t live without.

If there is a good replacement and supported by Firefox please let me know.

Thank you, and sorry about venting here but what are blogs for.

Arnold
malliz
Folder@Home

Re: WARNING Firefox 64 bit and Flash player

Post by malliz »

arnoldsfirefox wrote:
Thank you, and sorry about venting here but what are blogs for.

Arnold