MozillaZine

Mozilla's Quantum Project - Replacing Gecko with servo

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
Grantius

User avatar
 
Posts: 1506
Joined: June 28th, 2011, 4:14 pm

Post Posted November 6th, 2016, 4:42 pm

For me, its a 17MB RAM-using firefox.exe process
Micro gaming box: AMD A10-7800 APU, 8gb RAM M350 ITX case (size of a book), Windows 10/Ubuntu
Tablet/Laptop: Asus Transformer T100, Intel Atom 2GB RAM, Windows 10 x86
Mobile:Xiaomi Redmi Note 3 Pro

TheVisitor
 
Posts: 4179
Joined: May 13th, 2012, 10:43 am

Post Posted November 6th, 2016, 6:09 pm

I'm not seeing any extra processes here. I have a Intel CPU with the 530 chipset. Maybe 'chipsets' don't count as a 'true gpu' ?

What is the pref that enables the new feature ? layers.gpu-process.dev.enabled;true ?

Grantius

User avatar
 
Posts: 1506
Joined: June 28th, 2011, 4:14 pm

Post Posted November 6th, 2016, 6:17 pm

Yes, that's the pref I believe
Micro gaming box: AMD A10-7800 APU, 8gb RAM M350 ITX case (size of a book), Windows 10/Ubuntu
Tablet/Laptop: Asus Transformer T100, Intel Atom 2GB RAM, Windows 10 x86
Mobile:Xiaomi Redmi Note 3 Pro

Omega X

User avatar
 
Posts: 7796
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 2:38 pm
Location: A Parallel Dimension...

Post Posted November 6th, 2016, 8:57 pm

Timvde wrote:Does this have any Rust code, or is it just about moving the GPU stuff to a separate process?



Probably not. It might have Rust hooks. Quantum Compositor is just Gecko's own Compositor moved into its own process.

What you're looking for is Webrenderer and Stylo.


Josa wrote:About Quantum DOM: https://billmccloskey.wordpress.com/201 ... m-project/

Quantum Compositor landed on inbound today, but just for Windows 7/8/10 users. If it doesn't get backed out, will be on tomorrow's Nightly.


Windows XP and Vista was recently depreciated. No new stuff for them.
Latest: Firefox/54.0.1 *ESR/52.2.1 - Mobile/54.0.1 - Thunderbird/52.1.1 - SeaMonkey/2.46
Nightly: Nightly/56.0a1 - Mobile/56.0a1 - Daily/52.0a1 - SeaMonkey/2.49a1

Grantius

User avatar
 
Posts: 1506
Joined: June 28th, 2011, 4:14 pm

Post Posted November 16th, 2016, 1:40 pm

GPU process video decoding has been enabled now. Seems to work pretty well, at least for me.

Next up, stylo!
Micro gaming box: AMD A10-7800 APU, 8gb RAM M350 ITX case (size of a book), Windows 10/Ubuntu
Tablet/Laptop: Asus Transformer T100, Intel Atom 2GB RAM, Windows 10 x86
Mobile:Xiaomi Redmi Note 3 Pro

msia2k
 
Posts: 70
Joined: May 4th, 2014, 10:02 am

Post Posted November 16th, 2016, 3:59 pm

Grantius wrote:GPU process video decoding has been enabled now. Seems to work pretty well, at least for me.

Next up, stylo!


Do you have to activate anything in particular or is it automatic?

mayankleoboy1
 
Posts: 370
Joined: February 25th, 2013, 9:52 pm

Post Posted November 17th, 2016, 9:03 pm

msia2k wrote:
Grantius wrote:GPU process video decoding has been enabled now. Seems to work pretty well, at least for me.

Next up, stylo!


Do you have to activate anything in particular or is it automatic?


AFAIK, it is still in heavy development, and very incomplete.

Josa
 
Posts: 2403
Joined: July 28th, 2009, 4:52 pm

Post Posted November 18th, 2016, 4:57 am

mayankleoboy1 wrote:
msia2k wrote:
Grantius wrote:GPU process video decoding has been enabled now. Seems to work pretty well, at least for me.

Next up, stylo!


Do you have to activate anything in particular or is it automatic?


AFAIK, it is still in heavy development, and very incomplete.

I think he's asking about the GPU video decoding. It's enabled automatically in the Nightly builds.

msia2k
 
Posts: 70
Joined: May 4th, 2014, 10:02 am

Post Posted November 18th, 2016, 1:37 pm

Yes, that was what i was asking. Thx for the answer.

darkred
 
Posts: 223
Joined: March 13th, 2010, 6:10 am

Post Posted April 19th, 2017, 4:30 am

(Regarding the GPU process)

I updated to FF 53 x64 today (win10).

According to this https://www.ghacks.net/2017/04/19/firef ... at-is-new/
the feature requires that your system has:
- Windows 7 SP1 or up.
- Multi-process enabled.
- non-blacklisted graphics card.

So my system has:
win10x 64
e10s is enabled (screenshot)
I see that the "layers.gpu-process.enabled" pref in about:config is true.
If I only have an empty tab open then there are 2 firefox.exe processes in Task Manager. But, If I navigate to any site then they become 3.
My GPU is GTX 780 Ti.
In the Graphics section of about:support (screenshot) I don't see a related entry for GPU {Process. (not even in a clean profile).
My GPU doesn't seem to be blacklisted.


So, Is GPU process is enabled for me?
But, shouldn't two entries appear (parameters GPUProcessPid and GPIPRocess) as shown in in the ghacks article?
Last edited by darkred on April 23rd, 2017, 5:33 am, edited 3 times in total.
'(Firefox for desktop) list fixed bugs in Mercurial' userscript:
as a list: v4.2.2 and, as a sortable table: either v5.5.4 (for all channel users) or v5.5.4 (especially for inbound users).
My other userscripts: GreasyFork OpenUserJS

Omega X

User avatar
 
Posts: 7796
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 2:38 pm
Location: A Parallel Dimension...

Post Posted April 19th, 2017, 5:06 am

darkred wrote:(Regarding the GPU process)

I updated to FF 53 x64 today (win10).

According to this https://www.ghacks.net/2017/04/19/firef ... at-is-new/
the feature requires that your system has:
- Windows 7 SP1 or up.
- Multi-process enabled.
- non-blacklisted graphics card.

So my system has:
win10x 64
e10s is enabled (screenshot)
I see that the "layers.gpu-process.enabled" pref in about:config is true.
There are 2 firefox.exe processes at Firefox launch in Task Manager (260).
My GPU is GTX 780 Ti.
In the Graphics section of about:support (screenshot) I don't see a related entry for GPU {Process. (not even in a clean profile).
My GPU doesn't seem to be blacklisted.


So, Is GPU process is enabled for me?
But, shouldn't two entries appear (parameters GPUProcessPid and GPIPRocess) as shown in in the ghacks article?


Could be a bug or profile issue. Neither the device id or driver is on the blacklist.

GPUProcessPid and GPIPRocess Should show whether or not the GPU process is enabled or not.
Latest: Firefox/54.0.1 *ESR/52.2.1 - Mobile/54.0.1 - Thunderbird/52.1.1 - SeaMonkey/2.46
Nightly: Nightly/56.0a1 - Mobile/56.0a1 - Daily/52.0a1 - SeaMonkey/2.49a1

darkred
 
Posts: 223
Joined: March 13th, 2010, 6:10 am

Post Posted April 19th, 2017, 6:43 am

Omega X wrote:Could be a bug or profile issue.

Thanks for the reply. I've mentioned that the entries don't appear even in a fresh Firefox profile.

I filed bug 1357744 - No GPUProcessPid and GPIPRocess entries In the Graphics section of about:support in FIrefox 53 stable
'(Firefox for desktop) list fixed bugs in Mercurial' userscript:
as a list: v4.2.2 and, as a sortable table: either v5.5.4 (for all channel users) or v5.5.4 (especially for inbound users).
My other userscripts: GreasyFork OpenUserJS

trustjmh
 
Posts: 48
Joined: May 25th, 2008, 5:49 am

Post Posted April 19th, 2017, 6:48 am

The support entries aren't added until 54.

Try changing layers.gpu-process.enabled to false. see if you get an entry in about:support Decision Log for GPU_PROCESS

darkred
 
Posts: 223
Joined: March 13th, 2010, 6:10 am

Post Posted April 19th, 2017, 6:53 am

trustjmh wrote:The support entries aren't added until 54.

Thanks for the info.

trustjmh wrote:Try changing layers.gpu-process.enabled to false. see if you get an entry in about:support Decision Log for GPU_PROCESS

Same thing, no GPU_PROCESS entry. Screenshot from a fresh 53 profile after setting that pref to false:
Image
'(Firefox for desktop) list fixed bugs in Mercurial' userscript:
as a list: v4.2.2 and, as a sortable table: either v5.5.4 (for all channel users) or v5.5.4 (especially for inbound users).
My other userscripts: GreasyFork OpenUserJS

impar
 
Posts: 95
Joined: August 8th, 2007, 1:45 pm

Post Posted April 20th, 2017, 2:04 pm

Hardware acceleration enabled in Options?
Classic Theme Restorer, the solution to the Australis problem!
https://addons.mozilla.org/pt-pt/firefo ... erestorer/

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: johnp_ and 5 guests